Please help me identify this cable and it's possible uses in a home - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 02-25-2007, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
[/quote]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found this cable in the ceiling above an operating room recovery area at a hospital during some demolition. I was wondering exactly what it is and what I could possibly do with it at my home. It is 50 foot long.






Sorry for the huge picture, I want you to be able to read the writing. It seems like a normal VGA type cable to connect a monitor to a computer, but it's missing 2 pins on both ends and I don't have any VGA cables here to compare it to. It also seems a little long, I thought VGA was limited in length.


Any info is appreciated!

P.S. If the image is too big or this thread is in the wrong forum, please let me know.
[/quote] is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 02-25-2007, 09:39 AM
Member
 
jaceace32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vga cable - for the win
"missing pins" are normal, some Monitors have all pins, some have some missing

In regards to limited vga length... we have the technology, we can build it faster, stronger, better.
jaceace32 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 02-26-2007, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
[/quote]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaceace32 View Post

Vga cable - for the win
"missing pins" are normal, some Monitors have all pins, some have some missing

In regards to limited vga length... we have the technology, we can build it faster, stronger, better.

I don't follow the last part. If I use the cable, will the 50 foot length hurt the pictures quality or anything?
[/quote] is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 02-26-2007, 02:16 PM
Member
 
mindctrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It shouldn't really "hurt" the video quality. I've dealt with 75 footer VGA -> component cables for projectors.

You won't need any kind of an active repeater.
mindctrl is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 02-26-2007, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ozy666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It may depend on the resolution. High resolutions (1920x1080) may require more bandwidth than a long VGA cable can manage without issues.

Ozy
Ozy666 is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 02-26-2007, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
[/quote]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds good.

So other than just locating a monitor far away from the computer, what other cool things could I do with this?

Or should I just take it to the scrap yard next time I go?
[/quote] is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 03-05-2007, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
[/quote]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by [/quote] View Post

Sounds good.

So other than just locating a monitor far away from the computer, what other cool things could I do with this?

Or should I just take it to the scrap yard next time I go?

Anything?
[/quote] is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 03-05-2007, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 31
A common use is to connect a PC to a front projector.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 03-05-2007, 06:38 PM
Member
 
neurot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it's neat, but dated. It is thicker than an average vga cable to protect against the inevitable loss of signal quality over long distance.

it really is just a vga cable. i'd put it on craigslist. *someone* out there could probably use it!
neurot is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 03-05-2007, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by [/quote] View Post

So other than just locating a monitor far away from the computer, what other cool things could I do with this?

Some TV's have VGA inputs. It can be used as an XBox 360 extension. etc...
vladd is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 03-25-2007, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
[/quote]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SO this would be a good way to output a computer to a Plasma or LCD display? Or would it be better picture thru S-Video?
[/quote] is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 03-25-2007, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
CJPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, in the absence of HDMI/DVI, but definately much better through VGA than svideo!
CJPC is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 03-25-2007, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scorch123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by [/quote] View Post

Sounds good.

So other than just locating a monitor far away from the computer, what other cool things could I do with this?

Or should I just take it to the scrap yard next time I go?

Well with a moniker as [/quote] I would have expected more clever ideas.

You should have it cryogenically treated and sell it as hospital grade (video) interconnect

- Steve O.
scorch123 is online now  
post #14 of 18 Old 03-25-2007, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
[/quote]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorch123 View Post

Well with a moniker as [/QUOT] I would have expected more clever ideas.

You should have it cryogenically treated and sell it as hospital grade (video) interconnect

- Steve O.

As I mentioned in my first post, that is exactly where I found it. They bought new ones for the remodel, tho.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CJPC View Post

Yes, in the absence of HDMI/DVI, but definately much better through VGA than svideo!

Thanks, I'll keep it for the future. I'll connect my computer to my living room TV so I could show groups of people things on the computer (such as showing the family digital pictures of the kids).
[/quote] is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 04-06-2007, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
[/quote]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just out of curiosity, what would give a better picture on a 1080P LCD with 1920 × 1080 resoluton, VGA or DVI-HDMI cable? This is assuming the TV has a spare HDMI and VGA input, but no DVI input.

Thanks!
[/quote] is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 04-06-2007, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pcCinema's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 4,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVI to HDMI beats VGA. BUT you cannot run the digital signal anywhere near as long as you can the vga signal so use VGA if you need that distance.

Troy

The Non-Profit Home Theater Company will make your HTPC experience much easier.
Link for info on our first project
pcCinema is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 04-06-2007, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CZ Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin TX, USA
Posts: 7,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a cable that looks exactly like the one pictured. I've used it and it's "okay". There is some very minor ghosting and I can tell the difference in picture quality when I move to a much shorter and good quality VGA cable. I have a large display though (90" wide) and any issues in picture quality are magnified over the typical 40-60" diagonal sets that people use for home theater.

For long VGA runs, you can always pick up an Extron box. Like the 202xi or similar. This "boosts" the signal for long cable runs and is variably adjustable in how "hot" you can make the signal. These go for $25 to $200 used on the bay.

"The boom is dead, long live the bass"
CZ Eddie is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 04-06-2007, 08:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
[/quote]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcCinema View Post

DVI to HDMI beats VGA. BUT you cannot run the digital signal anywhere near as long as you can the vga signal so use VGA if you need that distance.

Troy

Sounds good, thanks!

FWIW, I hooked up my computer to a JVC 42" Plasma TV with both my 50' VGA cable and a common (Dell) 6' cable. I could not tell the difference at all, whether it be text, images, video games, or WMV HD.

The only thing is that the JVC TV I used only worked with a resolution of 1024X768 (VERY odd for a wide screen TV to only work with a 4:3 resolution, I would think). Hopefully when I hook it up to a 1080P TV with a res of 1920X1080 it still looks as good.

Thanks for all the help guys, if we were in a bar I'd buy you all a couple rounds.
[/quote] is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off