VC1 not supported in Nvidia 8500/8600. Any news when supported ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-09-2007, 11:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
8:13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think HD-DVD uses VC1, right ?
And this article says that the Nvidia 8500/8600 that's got everybody excited doesn't support it, or accelerate it.

I was looking at buying a 8600 but I think nw I'll wait till 2008 when the HD dominance is obviously either BD or HDdvd.
Tomshardware said to wait till 2008 before buying HD stuff.

Rather irritated right now, but I can wait.


There is new, and then you are new.
This is a moral of the bears and their cereal.
8:13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-09-2007, 11:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
8:13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
ha ha. VC-1 made me think of "Vito Cornelius". I dunno.


There is new, and then you are new.
This is a moral of the bears and their cereal.
8:13 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-09-2007, 11:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric.exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Only really weak CPUs really need VC-1 acceleration. The codec very efficient and doesn't require that much horsepower. You probably only "need" acceleration for AVC MPEG-4. This could be why nVidia is taking their time with developing it, or might not at all.
eric.exe is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 05-10-2007, 12:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
8:13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Would a E6600 that's not overclocked work ?
Any news if there will be a low-profile Nvidia 8600 ? Links ?


There is new, and then you are new.
This is a moral of the bears and their cereal.
8:13 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-10-2007, 12:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skibum5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric.exe View Post

Only really weak CPUs really need VC-1 acceleration. The codec very efficient and doesn't require that much horsepower. You probably only "need" acceleration for AVC MPEG-4. This could be why nVidia is taking their time with developing it, or might not at all.

if by not that much horsepower you mean dual core or extreme single core.
once you have that is does run easily enough. but my old single core AMD totally choked on many VC1 titles.
skibum5000 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-10-2007, 01:47 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,176
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 368
The ATI Radeon HD 2000 series card provides complete hardware decoding in both H.264 and VC-1. Just wait till June. The price is very competitive:

HD 2600 XT: $199
HD 2600 Pro: $179
HD 2400 XT $99
HD 2400 Pro: ? (720p only)

The Clash of the Titans - AMD's R600 preview

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-10-2007, 04:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8:13 View Post

I think HD-DVD uses VC1, right ?
And this article says that the Nvidia 8500/8600 that's got everybody excited doesn't support it, or accelerate it.

It uses mainly VC1 (which is easy to decode), but also and increasingly h264 (which isn't).

The 8500/8600 can only accelerate VC1 with Vista at present, you'll have to wait a month for XP drivers. With an e6600 and acceleration, you'll be at 20% CPU with VC1, and <3% for h264.

Having said that, with en e6600 (or even an e6400) you can just decode everything in software anyway. As above, you could wait for ATI's reply, but frankly complete VC1 offload is a total non-feature, because it's easy work for your CPU.
arfster is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-10-2007, 05:17 AM
Senior Member
 
ballenjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8:13 View Post

Would a E6600 that's not overclocked work ?
Any news if there will be a low-profile Nvidia 8600 ? Links ?

An E6600 would work fine.
ballenjr is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off