HDMI Input? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-10-2007, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pat_smith1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this device really do what I think it does? If so this could be what we have been praying for.

http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/intensity/
pat_smith1969 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-10-2007, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Depends what you think it does, really.

It doesn't accept HDCP-protected data, but it does capture the raw video from an unprotected HDMI source.

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-10-2007, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Palm Harbor,FL USA
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And what exactly are we going to do with raw uncomressed HD video beside fill our hard drives quickly . Realtime mpeg2/4 compression chips for HD res are what we need to go along with this, and they arent cheap as the SD one are now.

Although the better choice for most home theater use is getting the original mpeg2 data from the cable, antenna, or satellite rather than having a STB uncompress only to try and recompress it again in the pc losing quality in the process. This is why cable card tuners are still the best solution.

Justin
Justin is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 05-10-2007, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or would be were they not crippled by not offering a DIY solution.

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-10-2007, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pat_smith1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to watch both SD and HD television from my PC (using Sagetv now). I want to watch all the channels I pay for. I want to TimeShift as much as I want. I want to bypass comercials.

I don't mind using a stack of STBs from my cable box to decode the channels, I don't mind paying Comcast for the priveledge of watching TV.

This seems to be the perfect solution to me.... It can capture HD and SD data from my STB. What am I missing that you guys are hesitant about?

WHen you say uncompressed, just how big would a 1 hour tv show be? 8 gigs? hard drive space is cheap ($120 for a 500gig sata drive).

I seem to be missing something here, what is it?
pat_smith1969 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-10-2007, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
umdivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota (aka the frozen tundra)
Posts: 5,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Pat,
If you want all that then this is the ONLY solution for you: http://www.nextcomwireless.com/r5000/products.htm

The blackmagic card is for video editors taking HD video from HDMI sources like the new HD cameras to edit that video, there is absolutely NO way of getting a device like the blackmagic card from working in a PVR environment without lots of programming and hacks to bypass HDCP.

The R5000 mod is the ONLY way you'll get what you want and use it in a PVR fashion.

- Josh



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

umdivx is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-10-2007, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pat_smith1969 View Post

I want to watch both SD and HD television from my PC (using Sagetv now). I want to watch all the channels I pay for. I want to TimeShift as much as I want. I want to bypass comercials.

I don't mind using a stack of STBs from my cable box to decode the channels, I don't mind paying Comcast for the priveledge of watching TV.

Hey, more power to you. We're all about that, but...

Quote:


This seems to be the perfect solution to me.... It can capture HD and SD data from my STB. What am I missing that you guys are hesitant about?

WHen you say uncompressed, just how big would a 1 hour tv show be? 8 gigs? hard drive space is cheap ($120 for a 500gig sata drive).

That'll hold about an hour of 1080p, uncompressed. Maybe two hours. It's 119MB per second.

From the Blackmagic website:

Quote:


Blackmagic's compressed files are so compact, that 1080 HD video can be captured to a single internal hard disk or easily transported on a portable Firewire drive!

Wow! They've got it down to a single hard drive, now!

Quote:


I seem to be missing something here, what is it?

The unreasonableness of the uncompressed size. There are solutions: you can recompress offline, but you still have to store those files while you do so. Apparently you can also get some on-the-fly solutions to compress it down to sane sizes (a "mere" 12MB per second) though you have to buy Premiere Pro to do it realtime).

We're not laughing at you. We are crying with you

I poke fun, but it's all in good spirit. It's a great concept and workaround for the dumb CableCard mess we've been given, but IMO hard drive space has to go up by an order of magnitude or realtime compression must improve significantly for this to be reasonable, and you still take a re-encoding hit to quality (though it may be minor).

The good news is that desktop processors will be able to do realtime 1080p compression in the next couple years or so. Probably. With the right software.

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-10-2007, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Palm Harbor,FL USA
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also want to do this, but there are some realities to deal with.

Content providers do not want us to skip commercials as that is thier revenue stream, would you prefer all channels be like HBO, no commercials but cost more? I personally would but I suppose the market isn't there.

Content providers also do not want us to have nice unencrypted copies on our pc that allow the content to now be rebroadcast to many other potential customers for free via the internet (although if you had to watch the commericals in them maybe they wouldn't care so much) .

These issues are understandable to a point, after all the shows you and I like so much are not cheap to create, someone must pay for them.

This leave us in our current situation, that is encryption, and even HDMI has it in the form of HDCP.

Why do we have SD solutions now? Simple the advent of cheap D1 resolution mpeg2 encoders, these things pretty much made the TIVO and pc dvrs exist. Unfortuanately a similar chip but at HD resolution has not surfaced yet with a reasonable price. If it did then you would see component capture cards that do pretty much exactly what the svideo ones do now(no encryption on component).

Sure you can capture HDMI with the card you found, but it will not decrypt HDCP, and even if it could the 119MB/sec is difficult for most drives to handle and that would be a single tuner mind you. They say they can do MJPEG in realtime for 12MB/sec(vs 2.3 MB/sec for the original mpeg2 on the cable line), but I am sure this would tax even a modern cpu to its limits, so forget about re-decoding and watching this video while its being recorded.

From a technical perspective the best solution is to access the original mpeg2/4 stream from the provider but not decompressing it until it is to be displayed, and the only way to do this with a pc currently is with a cablecard or some sort of grey market STB hack like the r5000hd.

Justin


Quote:
Originally Posted by pat_smith1969 View Post

I want to watch both SD and HD television from my PC (using Sagetv now). I want to watch all the channels I pay for. I want to TimeShift as much as I want. I want to bypass comercials.

I don't mind using a stack of STBs from my cable box to decode the channels, I don't mind paying Comcast for the priveledge of watching TV.

This seems to be the perfect solution to me.... It can capture HD and SD data from my STB. What am I missing that you guys are hesitant about?

WHen you say uncompressed, just how big would a 1 hour tv show be? 8 gigs? hard drive space is cheap ($120 for a 500gig sata drive).

I seem to be missing something here, what is it?

Justin is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off