digital out on sound card (sq) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 05-15-2007, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
masterxela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using the coax digital output on my sound card to send music to my receiver, a denon avr-1906.

Would a new/better sound card increase the sound quality? It seems that since its not doing any digital to analog conversions itself but instead outputting the digital, that its not contributing to poor sound quality at all. I believe I have an integrated Realtek AC'97.

If a new card would be better, what should I look at?

I'm not opposed to outputting analog stereo from the card to my amp, but it just doesn't seem like the dac's could really compete with my receiver. Lemme know if I'm wrong.

Thanks in advance
masterxela is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 05-15-2007, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Digital is digital... A new card isnt going to improve on that. If all your going to use I dont see a reason for an upgrade unless you do some pc gaming. A sound card that has DD Live would be nice.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 05-15-2007, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
masterxela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's what I thought, now how much would I need to spend, if it's even possible, to get better dac's in the card than the receiver, and output analog? (I only want 2 channel)

It's a pretty long run, 50' ish, from my computer to receiver. Does an analog signal lose more than a digital over a run like that, given decent cables?

Thanks
masterxela is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 05-15-2007, 10:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Richard Berg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, analog won't lose signal over 50'.

What will lose signal is converting to analog and then back to digital. Even if you have the best DAC in the world on your soundcard, it's still going to be lossy. Same goes for the ADC in the receiver's analog inputs.
Richard Berg is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 05-15-2007, 10:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
masterxela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't know analog inputs went to digital and then back to analog inside the receiver. Is it for some sort of signal processing, like bass and treble gain? I have a "direct" mode, could that bypass the double conversion?

Thanks
masterxela is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 05-16-2007, 10:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Richard Berg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe. Check your receiver's manual.
Richard Berg is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 05-16-2007, 11:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
masterxela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
masterxela is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 05-16-2007, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Richard Berg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I very much doubt it would sound better than your Denon. What indication do you have that your receiver's DACs are the limiting factor in sound quality?
Richard Berg is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 05-16-2007, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
umdivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota (aka the frozen tundra)
Posts: 5,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
actually if you switched to a different sound card that provided bit perfect audio, bypassed the windows kmixer audio kernel, you could in theory get better audio, but if your just listening to mp3's (compressed and lossy) then it really won't make a difference.

However with lossless and bit perfect there would more likely be a difference.

- Josh
umdivx is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 05-16-2007, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
That's probably the problem, the sound card might be resampling to 44 KHz or 48KHz, which will certainly affect sound. Can you eloborate more on what exactly you are hearing leading you to believe there is sound loss?

I use a Chaintech AV-710 and it does bit-perfect from my Linux based HTPC.
bac522 is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 05-16-2007, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
masterxela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you hear obvious fault in your system before trying something new?

I agree that if I did hear a hum or hissing or something, I would be more adamant about upgrading, but I just feel the bug.

No, I don't know its the denon. I do think it is my "source" though, including my mp3's and soundcard as one unit. Because I can't do anything about the mp3's, soundcard seemed like the way to go.

Thanks for all the replies
masterxela is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 05-16-2007, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Richard Berg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For bang/buck tweaking, nothing beats room treatments.
Richard Berg is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 05-16-2007, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
umdivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota (aka the frozen tundra)
Posts: 5,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by masterxela View Post

.... Because I can't do anything about the mp3's.....

Sure you can.... Buy the CD's and rip to a lossless format like FLAC, AAC, or WMA.

- Josh
umdivx is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 05-16-2007, 11:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
masterxela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by umdivx View Post

Sure you can.... Buy the CD's and rip to a lossless format like FLAC, AAC, or WMA.

- Josh

when it comes to the bands I really like, I have no problem doing this. can you link me to the software I'd need? What are the differences between them? Will they run in wmp?

Is there a "big" diy room treatment site I can browse?

Thanks again
masterxela is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 05-16-2007, 11:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Richard Berg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


What are the differences between them? Will they run in wmp?

Nothing important. (CPU usage, space efficiency, native support). Yes.

Quote:


Is there a "big" diy room treatment site I can browse?

http://www.ethanwiner.com/acoustics.html
Richard Berg is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 05-17-2007, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
umdivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota (aka the frozen tundra)
Posts: 5,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by masterxela View Post

when it comes to the bands I really like, I have no problem doing this. can you link me to the software I'd need? What are the differences between them? Will they run in wmp?

Is there a "big" diy room treatment site I can browse?

Thanks again

you can use WMP itself to rip cd's to lossless WMA. AAC = Itunes, and FLAC http://flac.sourceforge.net/

- Josh
umdivx is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off