PowerDVD gives an error when I try to play my first Blu-ray title... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 06-05-2007, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The error code is 80040265, it's an unspecified error and it's kinda pissing me off, I expected this would work right out of the box.

Anybody know why this is happening? I have AnyDVD disabled and it still pops up with this error.
AnthonyB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 06-05-2007, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Fixed it by re-installing PowerDVD.
AnthonyB is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 06-05-2007, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MidnightWatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 6,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Make sure you have the latest patch installed as well. Build 2911 is the best thus far.

Please feel free to visit MidnightWatcher's Blogspot or follow my NEWS feed on Twitter.
MidnightWatcher is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 06-05-2007, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
danieloneil01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dickinson, Tx
Posts: 3,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sorry for the noob question (I tried to google it with no luck).. Is there a BD for the PC already and if so where?

D.I.N.K

Double
Income
No
Kids
danieloneil01 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 06-05-2007, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Quote:
Originally Posted by danieloneil01 View Post

Sorry for the noob question (I tried to google it with no luck).. Is there a BD for the PC already and if so where?

Sony and LiteOn sell BD burner drives, may be a few others as well. They are both pretty pricey, $500 or more. There is supposed to be a Pioneer BD-ROM drive out soon for around $300.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 06-05-2007, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
danieloneil01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dickinson, Tx
Posts: 3,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks, I thought if there was one, that being just the drive it would be cheap like 200.. Why so expensive when you can get a PS3 for about the price?

D.I.N.K

Double
Income
No
Kids
danieloneil01 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 06-05-2007, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cos the PS3 is heavily subsidised by Sony, both to sell games and to promote Bluray.
arfster is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 06-05-2007, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What is the model name/number and brand for the HD-DVD internal drive? Kinda getting sick of my external 360.

And yes, I am hijacking my own thread
AnthonyB is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 06-05-2007, 01:59 PM
Member
 
ulasamosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chardon, Ohio
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB View Post

What is the model name/number and brand for the HD-DVD internal drive? Kinda getting sick of my external 360.

And yes, I am hijacking my own thread

SD-H802A is the only one that is really able to be had. These are the drives that shipped out with all the HP media center PCs. I got mine new on ebay for $200. ALl the other ones like the NEC were protos, albeit working, hard to come by. I searched ebay for about 3 months before I got this guy. It was worth the wait though.
ulasamosa is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 06-05-2007, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Where did you get it?
AnthonyB is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 06-05-2007, 03:08 PM
Senior Member
 
retret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danieloneil01 View Post

Thanks, I thought if there was one, that being just the drive it would be cheap like 200.. Why so expensive when you can get a PS3 for about the price?

Can PS3 burn blu-ray?
retret is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 06-05-2007, 03:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
No. They can't burn anything as far as I know, just a plain reader.
AnthonyB is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off