VGA input on HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 06-25-2007, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
imbiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wanted to hook up my Pc to my HDTV so I can watch some HD content. My Tv has a VGA input. So my question is, will the VGA input give a me a hd signal when running an hd show on my computer. Or do I have to get a graphics card with dvi output?
imbiss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 06-25-2007, 09:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The VGA interface standards provide for resolutions that will handle 1080p so your graphics card should have no problem if it is powerfull enough.
What make/model graphics card do you have and does it have at least 128MB of onboard memory
Check your TV's user manual to see what resolutions it will accept over VGA.
VGA is preferrable in most cases since most HDTVs will not overscan over their VGA interface and they will over their DVI, component or HDMI interface
walford is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off