Reverse HDMI Switcher? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Home Theater Computers > Reverse HDMI Switcher?

Home Theater Computers

Pimpyo's Avatar Pimpyo
03:38 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 11
07-01-2007 | Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 2007
I have an Xbox360 Elite and use HDMI to display onto my HDTV as well as to capture video via HDMI with a Blackmagic Intensity.

Instead of having to turn off and restart the 360, unplug and move cables, and all that every single time, I would like to get a reverse HDMI switch.

1 input that can switch to 2 outputs.... but i can not seem to find any. I don't know if it would be called something else besides a reverse switch.

I have tried running a few of the regular switches in reverse from a local Best Buy, but I have had no success.

Does anyone know where to find a reverse HDMI switch, or of a regular switch that can be used in reverse?

Thanks,
Scott

(ps, first post to AVS)
Kal Rubinson's Avatar Kal Rubinson
09:15 AM Liked: 166
post #2 of 11
07-01-2007 | Posts: 28,528
Joined: Mar 2004
Check the Gefen line. They have 4x2 switchers and other devices with 2+ outputs.
Rupert's Avatar Rupert
10:03 AM Liked: 10
post #3 of 11
07-01-2007 | Posts: 2,281
Joined: Jan 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pimpyo View Post

I have an Xbox360 Elite and use HDMI to display onto my HDTV as well as to capture video via HDMI with a Blackmagic Intensity.

Instead of having to turn off and restart the 360, unplug and move cables, and all that every single time, I would like to get a reverse HDMI switch.

1 input that can switch to 2 outputs.... but i can not seem to find any. I don't know if it would be called something else besides a reverse switch.

I have tried running a few of the regular switches in reverse from a local Best Buy, but I have had no success.

Does anyone know where to find a reverse HDMI switch, or of a regular switch that can be used in reverse?

Thanks,
Scott


(ps, first post to AVS)


Welcome to the forum...

Do you really need to switch between the two devices? It sounds more like you want to distribute one signal simultaneously to two devices. If so, an HDMI splitter should work:

http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=2514
Ozy666's Avatar Ozy666
10:23 AM Liked: 10
post #4 of 11
07-01-2007 | Posts: 2,158
Joined: Jul 2003
Blech, expensive!

You could try monoprice for much less.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...d=10113&style=

Also, they have passive splitters for cheap, but I have no idea how well they would work. Cheap enough that it might be worth the gamble.

Ozy
ralphuses's Avatar ralphuses
12:35 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 11
07-01-2007 | Posts: 36
Joined: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozy666 View Post

Blech, expensive!

You could try monoprice for much less.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...d=10113&style=

Also, they have passive splitters for cheap, but I have no idea how well they would work. Cheap enough that it might be worth the gamble.

Ozy


Or get the monoprice 5 in 4 out.
pcCinema's Avatar pcCinema
01:13 PM Liked: 10
post #6 of 11
07-01-2007 | Posts: 4,982
Joined: May 2002
If I were you I'd be looking for a splitter/HDCP stripper. It would allow you to not only do what you're asking for, but also to do forbidden things like record premium HD from cable.

Something like the Spatz Dvimagic.

Troy
Pimpyo's Avatar Pimpyo
07:10 PM Liked: 10
post #7 of 11
07-01-2007 | Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozy666 View Post

Blech, expensive!

You could try monoprice for much less.


Also, they have passive splitters for cheap, but I have no idea how well they would work. Cheap enough that it might be worth the gamble.

Ozy


Ah, thank you! That isn't much more than a retail HDMI switch costs.

Looks like it has what I need and has good review from the website.

Thanks again,
Scott
Ozy666's Avatar Ozy666
08:09 PM Liked: 10
post #8 of 11
07-01-2007 | Posts: 2,158
Joined: Jul 2003
And again, you could try the passive ones for much cheaper...just don't know if they would work properly.

Ozy
Taldir's Avatar Taldir
06:29 AM Liked: 10
post #9 of 11
07-02-2007 | Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2006
I use the one from FireFold. It was cheaper then monoprice and works well.
Pimpyo's Avatar Pimpyo
07:30 PM Liked: 10
post #10 of 11
08-25-2007 | Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 2007
Ah, firefold FINALLY got their 1x2 HDMI splitters in stock (yes, almost two months from OP). Should be arriving within the week.

Man, that $53 pricetag is nice.

http://www.firefold.com/Products/1X2...2SPLITTER.aspx
wscribbler's Avatar wscribbler
01:43 PM Liked: 10
post #11 of 11
11-20-2009 | Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 2009
Did this work for you? I know it's been a long time. Perhaps you've come up with another solution? Please post if you have.
Reply Home Theater Computers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3