*WD Caviar SE16 500GB Hard Drive x4
*Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520W Power Supply
*ThermalTake Bach Media Lab Silver HTPC Case
*Windows Vista Ultimate (64-bit)
*Windows XP Professional (32-bit)

I would like to use this computer for a variety of things:
*Playing/Ripping/Burning/Cataloging CDs and DVDs
*Viewing/Organizing photographs
*HD video storage and editing (we are getting an HD camera)
*Work (MS Office)
*Some games: I primarily use Xbox360 for gaming, but will still play a few games (such as Sims II) on the PC
*Theoritically, I would love to use it as a PVR. But until it's possible to capture HD content from a satelite receiver, I'll just use the DirectTV DVR.

I plan on putting Windows XP Pro on one of the 250GB HDs, and Vista Ultimate (64-bit) on the other. I'm considering using RAID 0 for the 4 500GB HDs. This is my first time doing this. I've never even opened up a PC before. I've purchased two books on the subject. The first, which I'm reading now, is Upgrading and Repairing PCs (17th Edition). The other, which should arrive soon, is Building the Perfect PC. I don't want to get in over my head, but hopefully with the knowledge I get from these books and the help I get from the fine folks on these forums, I'll be able to pull this off. Here are my questions so far:

1) How does my parts list look? Am I leaving anything out? Are all the parts compatable? Is my power supply big enough? Would you recommend any changes (for value, performance, or ease of use)?

2) Would you recommend using RAID for the Hard Drives? I've been considering a lot of different arrangements. My first thought is to use RAID 0 to turn the four 500 GB drives into two 1 TB drives. One could back up the other, or I could get external drives for backup.

3) My motherboard has Optical (S/PDIF), so I assume I can output full 7.1 surround sound to my home theatre receiver. Is this right? Would the sound be significantly better if I got a dedicated sound card?