Anything Wrong with my HTPC build? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-26-2007, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hughesne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is probably the 50th PC Ive built over the years, but the first geared towards a specific task. What i plan on using it for is to rip/encode HD-DVDs (via 360 add on), DVDs, CDs, etc. Possibly add a tuner or 2 to record and catelog HD content. Honestly this feels more like a media server than HTPC since my initial plan is to use the 360 as a media extender to this HTPC, but if i find the performance to be flawless, I may use it directly. I plan on running vista ultimate 32bit.

This is what ive got in my newegg cart so far, let me know if you'd change anything.

Mobo: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
CPU: Intel e6750
PSU: Fortron 400 watts - Per suggestion
Mem: Corsair ValueSelect (1GB x 2)
Vid: Gigabyte GeForce 8500GT 256MB PCIe16
HD1: WD Caviar WD1600AAJS 160GB (For OS and Apps)
HD2: Barracude 7200.10 320GB (Picked this for best GB/$), i plan on adding HDs as i need them.
DVD: Sony NEC Optiarc 18x SATA (want the fastest ripper possible)

Give me your honest opinions.

Thanks guys.
hughesne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 07-26-2007, 06:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hughesne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forgot to mention, i wont be gaming with this PC. Hence the 8500GT choice.
hughesne is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-26-2007, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I think you should be fine for your goals.

I would add a good quiet HSF (non-OEM), such as Zalman, and Arctic Silver 5.

160 GB is a bit much for the OS and apps, should take no more than 30GB, so you might want to partition the first HDD and allocate some space for the media files.

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-26-2007, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hughesne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought about getting a 34GB 10k Raptor for the OS. Any reason to do that instead?
hughesne is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-26-2007, 08:05 AM
Member
 
Jdamore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hughesne View Post

I thought about getting a 34GB 10k Raptor for the OS. Any reason to do that instead?

I would like to add to this question.. Do 10k drives generally produce more/less noise than a 7200 or does it just depend on the drive? I have no experience with 10k drives if you cant tell.

Thanks
Jdamore is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-26-2007, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hughesne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have no idea on the drive speed.

Do you think that a non-oem HSF is needed even if i dont plan on overclocking? Are people having stability issues with the stock fan?
hughesne is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-26-2007, 08:35 AM
Member
 
cFoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: YVR
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you want both speed and low db then pick up a 2.5" 7,200rpm drive.

A non-oem HSF will be good for keeping cool and quiet. I wouldn't bother with overclocking.

I'll also add that Antec power supplies are crap. See if you can pick up an OCZ or Fortron, those are quiet and reliable. I've had 3 Antec failed on me the last 2yrs. They make kick ass cases but the same can't be said about their PS.
cFoo is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-26-2007, 08:43 AM
Member
 
Jdamore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cFoo View Post

If you want both speed and low db then pick up a 2.5" 7,200rpm drive.

I'm sure it will make much less heat as well.
Jdamore is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 07-26-2007, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Somewhatlost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: some small blue-green planet thingy...
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdamore View Post

I would like to add to this question.. Do 10k drives generally produce more/less noise than a 7200 or does it just depend on the drive? I have no experience with 10k drives if you cant tell.

Thanks

Raptors are loud and hot, and expensive (per GB) but they are fast... seems to be close to about 2x faster then a 7200... but there could also be other factors involved...

NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Somewhatlost is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 07-26-2007, 12:21 PM
<><
Advanced Member
 
<><'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i have a raptor 150 and to tell u the truth, for everyday use, it's not worth the extra $$$...i would not buy it again. It is noisy as well when it spins up at full speed. Your current setup in your first post looks good, i would setup a 30GB partition (this is what i do) for the OS and Applications, and use the rest of the space for media. It's always good to have 2 HDD's when encoding for the fastest speed, since you can encode to your 2nd drive so the same drive doesn't have to read/write (this is true for anything actually unraring etc).
I also wouldn't skimp out on the PSU, get a good rated PSU, i use seasonic m12 500, its modular and costs less than $100. You can get the non modular one for less.

what case are you putting all this into?
<>< is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 07-26-2007, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hughesne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I havent decided on a case yet since i dont know my ultimate plans. So for now Im going to use an existing full tower ATX case i have. If I decide to use this as a dedicated HTPC, i will most likely get one of the Silverstone cases.
hughesne is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 07-26-2007, 01:53 PM
Member
 
cFoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: YVR
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm very happy with my nMedia case.
http://www.nmediapc.com/product%201n.htm
cFoo is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off