PC DVI to HDMI cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-26-2007, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Scamps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a trick to this?

I hooked up my PC to my snazzy new LCD TV (46LX177) using a DVI-to-HDMI cable but I get no picture.

Is there a setting I need set, the Blu Ray and the Cable box are working fine via HDMI.

Can I even do this?
Scamps is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-26-2007, 06:26 PM
Newbie
 
adeelofsteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same problem. For whatever reason, DVI to HDMI doesn't work (the computer cannot detect the attached LCD TV). I gave up and used a VGA cable and that worked instantly.
adeelofsteel is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-26-2007, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Scamps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adeelofsteel View Post

I have the same problem. For whatever reason, DVI to HDMI doesn't work (the computer cannot detect the attached LCD TV). I gave up and used a VGA cable and that worked instantly.

Hummm, so what are DVI-to-HDMI cables good for I wonder?
Scamps is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-26-2007, 06:52 PM
Member
 
Thoraudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVI to HDMI works with my X1300 and Akai lcd tv.

I'm going to assume that you've put the TV on the right input, and have enabled the right port on your video card.

What video card?
Thoraudio is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-26-2007, 10:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
aboroth00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Garden Grove, CA
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I have the same question. I was planning to connect my computer with a Radeon 9600xt (i know pretty old) to my Panasonic 37px60u and i don't know which output and cable on my computer to use, the dvi-hdmi cable or vga to component.
aboroth00 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-27-2007, 07:35 AM
Member
 
Thoraudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aboroth00 View Post

I have the same question. I was planning to connect my computer with a Radeon 9600xt (i know pretty old) to my Panasonic 37px60u and i don't know which output and cable on my computer to use, the dvi-hdmi cable or vga to component.

I'd suggest the DVI to HDMI route.
Thoraudio is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-27-2007, 07:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Craig Woodhall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
remember you have to go into the display properties on your computer and set up the tv as a second monitor.

Craig
Craig Woodhall is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 07-27-2007, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Warren_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, a couple of things you want to check:
Are you set to a resolution that the TV supports via HDMI? If you are using a newer Nvidia card, hook it up to a monitor and go into the Nvidia control panel and use the HDTV setup to select 720p as it should work for all LCD TVs.
Are you using just one display device? If you have a monitor and the TV hooked up, both need to be enabled.

Once you have set it up using a monitor, and ensured that your drivers are current and your connections are good, make sure that the TV is on, and selected to the correct HDMI input, and then turn on the PC. HDMI is the same standard as DVI, so it should work.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Warren_G is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-27-2007, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Scamps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warren_G View Post

Actually, a couple of things you want to check:
Are you set to a resolution that the TV supports via HDMI? If you are using a newer Nvidia card, hook it up to a monitor and go into the Nvidia control panel and use the HDTV setup to select 720p as it should work for all LCD TVs.
Are you using just one display device? If you have a monitor and the TV hooked up, both need to be enabled.

Once you have set it up using a monitor, and ensured that your drivers are current and your connections are good, make sure that the TV is on, and selected to the correct HDMI input, and then turn on the PC. HDMI is the same standard as DVI, so it should work.

I will work my way through your list as soon as I make it home. Thanks.


Ps. I'm using an ATI X1900 Crossfire card.
Scamps is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 07-27-2007, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Sarvatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's a whoooole bunch of different types of dvi-hdmi adapters out there I have found. I have problems using my DVI-D single link to HDMI cable with all of my equipment with HDCP but no problems using an adapter with a DVI-D dual link plug on the end on any of my DVI equipment. Something to keep in mind incase you exaust all other options
Sarvatt is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off