Sound problems on Asus M2A-VM -HDMI - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 08-23-2007, 12:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DannyBoy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I have recently built an HTPC with the following spec:

Antec Fusion V2
AMD Athlon x2 3800 Dual Core CPU
Samsung Spinpoint T166 HD501LJ 7200 16MB
2GB Crucial DDR2 5300
Asus M2A-VM -HDMI
20X DVD+/-RW/RAM
Hauppauge Nova-T-500
Vista Ultimate
LG 37" LCD TV (via HDMI and VGA/RGB)

The Asus motherboard seems to be a popular choice at the moment with HTPC builders, and I was wondering if anyone else was having problems getting sound via the HDMI port on this board? My main sound hook up is off the SPDIF socket on the bundled riser card, which feeds into my amp. However I was also expecting to be able to get sound from the HDMI connection into my LCD. I've tried everything but cant get any sound from it. Anyone else got this issue?
DannyBoy99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 08-23-2007, 09:20 PM
Newbie
 
Qoquaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I "think" there is a setting in the BIOS for this. Scroll through the settings there...
Qoquaq is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-24-2007, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DannyBoy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qoquaq View Post

I "think" there is a setting in the BIOS for this. Scroll through the settings there...

There is a setting for this - "Enable HDMI Audio". Unfortunately this is not the solution as I already have it selected...
DannyBoy99 is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 08-24-2007, 05:39 PM
Member
 
robertpcx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Eastern Washington, USA
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dannyboy;

What happens when you unplug the spdif cable from the riser, does this give you audio through hdmi?

robertpcx
robertpcx is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-27-2007, 01:23 PM
Newbie
 
Viparo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a similar problem.
You must go to sound settings, in vista, and set the high def sound driver as default.

This worked for me...but I'm getting a little distortion through HDMI...still working on it.

Hope this helps....
Viparo is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-27-2007, 01:59 PM
Member
 
bspect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here’s a link to realtek’s driver download for HDMI. I've used it and works fine.


http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...&GetDown=false

Download "ATI HDMI Audio Device R1.68 "

You must have HDMI video and audio engaged in Bios before this will load and then go to "sounds and audio" in the control panal to select HDMI audio as source and set volume, etc.
bspect is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 09-16-2007, 01:48 AM
Newbie
 
alvegasguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having the same problem building HTPC here in Thailand. I tryed the R.179 driver and no go. Went back to driver with mobo and went VGA out as a temp workaround!
I will try the driver you suggested.
I wish NVidia would come out with HDMI onboard. This is the second time I have tried ATI and problems both times!
alvegasguy is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 10-27-2009, 01:31 PM
Newbie
 
keith_leitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bspect View Post

Here's a link to realtek's driver download for HDMI. I've used it and works fine.


(URL Deleted)

Download "ATI HDMI Audio Device R1.68 "

You must have HDMI video and audio engaged in Bios before this will load and then go to "sounds and audio" in the control panal to select HDMI audio as source and set volume, etc.

I'm hoping you can help. I applied the patch according to your above instructions, but instead of activating my audio, it killed any video after the Windows splash screen. I had to restart in Safe Mode and do a system restore to revive my system. Any ideas?

P.S. I am running XP. Perhaps this is a Vista-Only driver.
keith_leitch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off