Help Me Get Rid of My HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 09-18-2007, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have owned a HTPC for years, and in the past have had the time to tweak, fumble with settings, etc. Also, I work in the computer industry and stare at a computer desktop all day long.

I'm sick of it and just want a plug & play device.

However, most of my movie watching is on the HTPC feeding my 106" screen (FP), and is 1080i, 1080p, and 720p movies in .ts, .wmv, .mkv formats (MPEG2 and h264) played using either TT (+FFDShow for DVDs), or MPC + CoreAVC.

Turfing my HTPC would mean not being able to view these types of files, and that's not an option.

My question:

Is there a device out there that supports attaching drives (USB or firewire) to it, as well as being disc based (i.e. like a DVD player), that can play all of these types of files but is also very simple to use? (i.e. not based on a PC platform, but functioning more like a DVD player type device?)

I'm thinking not at this time, other than some of those media extender players, which are not matured enough I think now, but I'm just fishing for some ideas.

I could turf my HTPC completely and just go back to using my HDDVD player for both HDVD and DVD playing, but I would be missing out on a lot media I could be watching.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 09-18-2007, 07:03 PM

I believe Kapone can fix you up
post #3 of 20 Old 09-18-2007, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by videolover View Post

I believe Kapone can fix you up

Who is Kapone? (Or what is Kapone?)
post #4 of 20 Old 09-18-2007, 07:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeFigueiredo View Post

However, most of my movie watching is... .mkv formats...

You're screwed. Unless you re-rip your content into a container more hardware player friendly.