Off the Shelf HTPC? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-29-2007, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jellyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Would it be reasonable to assume that I could walk into any Best Buy or Lets say Circuit City and purchase a perfectly functional HTPC that would be used to record OTA HD programs using Windows Media Center with an Xbox 360 as my extender.
Thanks,
Ben
Jellyman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-29-2007, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
valkyrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Seattle WA USA
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As long as it has an ATSC tuner, yes.

http://http://www.bestbuy.com/site/o...=1179877267931

For example.
valkyrie is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-29-2007, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
umdivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota (aka the frozen tundra)
Posts: 5,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jellyman View Post

Would it be reasonable to assume that I could walk into any Best Buy or Lets say Circuit City and purchase a perfectly functional HTPC that would be used to record OTA HD programs using Windows Media Center with an Xbox 360 as my extender.
Thanks,
Ben

As long as its running windows MCE 2005, or Vista home premium or vista ultimate, and as already said has an ATSC tuner.

But even then if you bought a bran new pc with say vista home premium but it didn't have a tuner card you can easily add on after the fact.

- Josh
umdivx is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-29-2007, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jellyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the reply.
I'm ready to bite the bullet and cut the Satellite cord. Just wanted to be assured I would have a pleasant experience and not be dealing with choppy video and the such.
Jellyman is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-29-2007, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
umdivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota (aka the frozen tundra)
Posts: 5,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jellyman View Post

Thanks for the reply.
I'm ready to bite the bullet and cut the Satellite cord. Just wanted to be assured I would have a pleasant experience and not be dealing with choppy video and the such.

well choppy video can be caused by several things, weak signal, multipath signal, under powered video card, ect...

so its not going to be 100% out of the box, but with the help on the fourm here you can be assured you can find the help you need to get it working.

- Josh
umdivx is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off