Best ATSC tuner? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 50 Old 10-15-2007, 11:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like to get a tuner for my pc and I'm only concerned with the digital reception and not the analog. I like the idea of using the graphics card to accelerate things from reading the Autumwave threads. I would like the card to pass DD 5.1 signals to my sound card too since I've got my receiver connected to that. Otherwise, I've got no experience with the matter, any advice on which one to get?

My specs:

p4 3.0ghz
geforce 6800
2G Ram
Winxp home
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 50 Old 10-15-2007, 11:55 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Tuners have no effect on whether or not your graphics card accelerates the video. The software you choose and the decoders you have on your system are what is responsible for this. Same with the passing of DD 5.1

The main tuners of choice these days are:

DVico Fusion 5
Hauppauge HVR-1600 and HVR-1800
SiliconDust HDHomeRun

I myself am partial to the HDHomeRun. Dual ATSC/QAM tuners. Does not require a slot in your PC. Can be placed anywhere you have a Cable/Antenna connection and a Ethernet connection. Can be accessed by all PCs/Macs in the home. Windows Media Center QAM capable (although I use a different PVR application).
post #3 of 50 Old 10-16-2007, 04:44 AM

post #4 of 50 Old 10-16-2007, 06:32 AM - Thread Starter

Maybe this is a bit of a silly question, but can you get a remote with any of those tuners? I don't have MCE so not sure how that'd work.. And what video format are the broadcasts in usually?
post #5 of 50 Old 10-16-2007, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 11
I have a hdhomerun on its way for QAM and I have 2 VBOX Cat's Eye 3560's grabing the OTA locals via ATSC... The Vbox tuners are great and I cannot review the hdhomerun, as I have not gotten it (been shipped as I type this)

KD0MOF