Show Your HTPC Setup - Page 35 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1021 of 1045 Old 11-25-2013, 02:02 PM
Member
 
laverdure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
@krisz8ball:

Nice build indeed! Would also be curious to know your components and what temps you are getting while gaming...

Also, are you using the bottom 3 fans slots at all? For intake maybe? I have the same case and since Silverstone designed this case for positive pressure, I have 3 bottom and 2 side 120mm as intake, and the two 80mm at the back for exhaust. But my CPU idle temps are more like 40-45oC...Your setup seems to be better temperature-wise. Thanks in advance for more details you can share!smile.gif
laverdure is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1022 of 1045 Old 11-25-2013, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by laverdure View Post

@krisz8ball:

Nice build indeed! Would also be curious to know your components and what temps you are getting while gaming...

Also, are you using the bottom 3 fans slots at all? For intake maybe? I have the same case and since Silverstone designed this case for positive pressure, I have 3 bottom and 2 side 120mm as intake, and the two 80mm at the back for exhaust. But my CPU idle temps are more like 40-45oC...Your setup seems to be better temperature-wise. Thanks in advance for more details you can share!smile.gif


Are you using yours for gaming, or just server, movies, and such? I've been reading some Amazon reviews and there's this one guy who happen to use all the bays, 8. 3.5 Hdd and the 2 optical as well, how about yourself did you get use all the bays?
That sounds like it might get hotter than in most situation.

Thanks

Djoel
Djoel is offline  
post #1023 of 1045 Old 11-26-2013, 12:29 AM
Member
 
nexxest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Meet Monster, my 132 lb HTPC:


This is an ATX motherboard (not a joke):


More pics here: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1495291/silent-htpc-gaming-rig-build-many-pics

nexxest is offline  
post #1024 of 1045 Old 11-26-2013, 06:29 AM
Member
 
laverdure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djoel View Post

Are you using yours for gaming, or just server, movies, and such? I've been reading some Amazon reviews and there's this one guy who happen to use all the bays, 8. 3.5 Hdd and the 2 optical as well, how about yourself did you get use all the bays?
That sounds like it might get hotter than in most situation.

Thanks

Djoel

No no, not using 8 HDD, not that much media. Yet. Though i use it as TV/Movies/Game/Server, I only have 3 x 3.5"HDD, 1 x 2.5" HDD, 1 SSD and one OD. So it's not that cramped and I feel there should be enough airflow for the CPU to idle in the 30s instead of the 40s...Have a noctua NH-C14 as CPU cooler, does not get bigger than that for this case! wink.gif Might try to re-seat the cooler or change the side fan to exhaust during the holidays... It's okay though, it's not like it's out of control, I remain in the mid-70s under full load.
Djoel likes this.
laverdure is offline  
post #1025 of 1045 Old 11-26-2013, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by laverdure View Post

No no, not using 8 HDD, not that much media. Yet. Though i use it as TV/Movies/Game/Server, I only have 3 x 3.5"HDD, 1 x 2.5" HDD, 1 SSD and one OD. So it's not that cramped and I feel there should be enough airflow for the CPU to idle in the 30s instead of the 40s...Have a noctua NH-C14 as CPU cooler, does not get bigger than that for this case! wink.gif Might try to re-seat the cooler or change the side fan to exhaust during the holidays... It's okay though, it's not like it's out of control, I remain in the mid-70s under full load.


Sounds an awesome machine, have some pics on this thread?

Thanks


Dan
Djoel is offline  
post #1026 of 1045 Old 11-26-2013, 05:44 PM
Newbie
 
colo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Love youre build and love the chocolate wall and and everything goes well together enjoy
colo1 is offline  
post #1027 of 1045 Old 11-27-2013, 03:45 AM
Newbie
 
krisz8ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hungary, Budapest
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20

Thank you for all the recognitions

 

My components:

Case: Silverstone DG08

Power Supply: Enermax Liberty Eco 500w

Motherboard: MSI ZH77A-G43

CPU: Intel i5-2310 @3200mhz (Cooler: Scythe Mini Ninja)

RAM: Kingston 2x4gb ddr3 1600mhz hyperx T1

VGA: ASUS GTX650TI-DC2O

Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX

Fans: Coolink Swif2-1200, Swif2-800, Swif2-80p (Y fan cables)

 

The CPU is dynamic so for example when I'm on the Internet the CPU clock is runing 1.57ghz (average), and same with any compontet when you see a specification of a VGA thats says 150W means it's eating 150W when 100% load. So my electricity bills is not high at all :)

 

@laverdure

I'm not using the bottom fans, If I do I'l get a 2-3°C better overall temps. The reason I don't use it is because of the Dust, it has filter of course but it's a pain in the @ss to take them off every month.

I'l put up the Gaming temps shortly.

 

@Djoel

I only have one Hard Drive but I'm plaing to replace it next month, the temp will be different. 8 HDD generating massive heat, probably because they are too close together, but the bottom fans would help greatly and the number of exhaust fans. If you would use for example: 4 HDD and instaling them every 2 slots you will have spece between them and that would make differenc as well. The most heat generating in my system is the CPU and the VGA.

My build is mainly for Gaming and Movies, it's silent so its good for anything.

Djoel likes this.
krisz8ball is offline  
post #1028 of 1045 Old 11-27-2013, 04:08 AM
Newbie
 
krisz8ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hungary, Budapest
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20

@laverdure

 

My temperatures when I play Far Cry 3, room temp. 22°C.

Ignore the RPM it's showing unreal values beccause my AIDA64 is to old for my motherboard.

krisz8ball is offline  
post #1029 of 1045 Old 11-27-2013, 04:33 AM
Newbie
 
krisz8ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hungary, Budapest
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20

The next time I put up images of my setup will hopefully be when I finished the floating wall project.

Recently taken photo:

krisz8ball is offline  
post #1030 of 1045 Old 11-27-2013, 05:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by krisz8ball View Post

Thank you for all the recognitions

My components:
Case: Silverstone DG08
Power Supply: Enermax Liberty Eco 500w
Motherboard: MSI ZH77A-G43
CPU: Intel i5-2310 @3200mhz (Cooler: Scythe Mini Ninja)
RAM: Kingston 2x4gb ddr3 1600mhz hyperx T1
VGA: ASUS GTX650TI-DC2O
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
Fans: Coolink Swif2-1200, Swif2-800, Swif2-80p (Y fan cables)

The CPU is dynamik so for example when I'm on the Internet the CPU clock is runing 1.57ghz (average), and same with any compontet when you see a specification of a VGA thats says 150W means it's eating 150W when 100% load. So my electricity bills is not high at all smile.gif

@laverdure
I'm not using the bottom fans, If I do I'l get a 2-3°C better overall temps. The reason I don't use it is because of the Dust, it has filter of course but it's a pain in the @ss to take them off every month.
I'l put up the Gaming temps shortly.

@Djoel
I only have one Hard Drive but I'm plaing to replace it next month, the temp will be different. 8 HDD generating massive heat, probably because they are too close together, but the bottom fans would help greatly and the number of exhaust fans. If you would use for example: 4 HDD and instaling them every 2 slots you will have spece between them and that would make differenc as well. The most heat generating in my system is the CPU and the VGA.
My build is mainly for Gaming and Movies, it's silent so its good for anything.


Thanks for info, I love it...I also plan on adding more HHD one day, so I plan on changing both bottom fans. How do you like your sound card, any reason why you did use the Intel i5?

Thanks very cool build.

Djoel
Djoel is offline  
post #1031 of 1045 Old 11-27-2013, 05:55 AM
Newbie
 
krisz8ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hungary, Budapest
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20

@Djoel

 

 "any reason why you did use the Intel i5?" - for Counter-Strike: Global Offensive :D and I play a lot of Strategy games and to my knowledge a good CPU is impoartant to games like those.

For my Soundcard, I love it, love the sound quality it brings to my 5.1, no problem with drivers (unlike like with Creative) and the PCI 1x plug -> I can plug it to a VGA slot (PCI 16x) if I want to, for some motherboards it a good thing because it's further away from the VGA.

 

Thanks again

 

8ball

krisz8ball is offline  
post #1032 of 1045 Old 11-27-2013, 06:06 PM
Member
 
ikkuranus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 22
@Krisz8ball which logitech speaker set is that? Please tell me it's not the Z-5300e.

ikkuranus is offline  
post #1033 of 1045 Old 11-27-2013, 11:15 PM
Newbie
 
krisz8ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hungary, Budapest
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20

@ikkuranus

 

Logitech Z-5300, the simple, á la natur version, without the "e"

krisz8ball is offline  
post #1034 of 1045 Old 11-28-2013, 12:32 AM
Member
 
ikkuranus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by krisz8ball View Post

@ikkuranus

Logitech Z-5300, the simple, á la natur version, without the "e"

Does the non e version sound as terrible as the e? ie all bass and not much for mids and highs?
I only ask because I used to have them and ended up selling because of that.

ikkuranus is offline  
post #1035 of 1045 Old 11-28-2013, 04:28 AM
Newbie
 
krisz8ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hungary, Budapest
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikkuranus View Post


Does the non e version sound as terrible as the e? ie all bass and not much for mids and highs?
I only ask because I used to have them and ended up selling because of that.

Not at all, as far as I know the difference between them is the Color. Could it be that your soundcard had problems ?

I had a Creative X-Fi back in the days and now I have the Asus Xonar DX and it a blesing compared to the Creative and what your saying thats "all bass" I had that problem with Creative !!

krisz8ball is offline  
post #1036 of 1045 Old 11-28-2013, 04:37 AM
Newbie
 
krisz8ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hungary, Budapest
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20

@ikkuranus

 

I looked into it and The difference is only the Color, nothing more !!!

krisz8ball is offline  
post #1037 of 1045 Old 11-30-2013, 05:27 PM
Member
 
wraslor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here's a few shots of my setup that's finally coming to completion.

*
*
*
*
*
*
rikardo1979 likes this.
wraslor is offline  
post #1038 of 1045 Old 12-02-2013, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
 
sdolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Very nice! I couldn't sleep at night knowing that Freddy was in there though! eek.gif
sdolen is offline  
post #1039 of 1045 Old 12-03-2013, 05:13 PM
Member
 
wraslor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdolen View Post

Very nice! I couldn't sleep at night knowing that Freddy was in there though! eek.gif

At my old place it was outside my bedroom door, one night about 4 am i went to get a drink, opened the door and about gave myself a heart attack lol.

There's also 2 predators, an alien, and an iron man over on the side that aren't all set up yet so not pictured.
wraslor is offline  
post #1040 of 1045 Old 12-03-2013, 11:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
lovekeiiy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by wraslor View Post

At my old place it was outside my bedroom door, one night about 4 am i went to get a drink, opened the door and about gave myself a heart attack lol. ..

Be glad you were awake. I've heard and seen you don't won't be dreaming about him.
lovekeiiy is offline  
post #1041 of 1045 Old 04-22-2014, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Afroteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
4 months and no new pics. This thread was my inspiration.
Afroteddy is offline  
post #1042 of 1045 Old 04-27-2014, 07:36 AM
Member
 
JamesVG81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Winston Salem NC
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Here is my new setup and new rack. Server is just 7tb right now. Has 12 hot swaps for drives, it's a i5 750. The HTPC is a x79, 3930k @ 4.5ghz with a amd 290 at the moment, looking to add a second one. HTPC is on top and server is on bottom. I'll be adding water cooling to the rack here soon for the HTPC.




JamesVG81 is offline  
post #1043 of 1045 Old 04-28-2014, 11:30 AM
Newbie
 
krisz8ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hungary, Budapest
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20

I finally built my own "Floating Wall" and I replaced my Z-5300 to a Z906, here are some pictures of the construction:

 

 

 

 

 

Final construction

 

krisz8ball is offline  
post #1044 of 1045 Old 04-29-2014, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
sdolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Wow! Very cool! I might have to do something like that for my bedroom and now I have the inspiration, thanks!
sdolen is offline  
post #1045 of 1045 Old 04-29-2014, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 167

Here's a shot of my dedicated room's NUC. I was using OpenELEC via a USB flash drive (very nicely) but recently switched to Windows 7 (since I had a license sitting around). I appreciate the internal support for a 2.5" HD or SSD but the DisplayPort and mini HDMI outputs I could do without. Requires converter cables... one goes directly to the projector and the other to a AV receiver. The internal IR sensor works although I'm using a USB one as the NUC is tucked away in the closet. Only the receiver and 1080p monitor located in front of the NUC is exposed to the room. I use the monitor (and remote access) in lieu of the projector when possible.

 

 

 

Charles R is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off