Show Your HTPC Setup - Page 36 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 1060 Old 01-01-2015, 12:13 PM
Member
 
w1retap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Thank you. After moving into a new house, I figured it was time to do all the computers in one central location and just run HDMI/USB over ethernet extenders while the house was empty and before everything was painted. I'm pleased with the way everything works. People were skeptical with the HDMI over ethernet dropping out, but I have had zero problems.

If anyone wants to know the parts I used, here's the links from Monoprice. I used 24awg CAT6 for the runs. Tested with 1080p 3D SBS and that works as well.

HDMI over CAT5e/CAT6
Product Number: 6532 http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2

USB over CAT5e/CAT6
Product Number: 6042 http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2
w1retap is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 1060 Old 02-24-2015, 02:08 AM
Member
 
sbowers2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is my current HTPC build:

MB: GIGABYTE GA-F2A75M-HD2 (rev. 3.0) FM2+ AMD A75 uATX
APU: AMD A10-7700K
Cooler: Thermalright AXP-100 (silent, and able to shift for tight fit)
RAM: G.SKILL Ares 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 2133 C10
GPU: XFX R-250 (best 1/2 height for A10-7700K at the time)
Boot Drive: Crucial M500 120GB SSD
Storage Drive: Western Digital Caviar Green 3TB
Optical Drive: ASUS Blu-ray Drive BC-12B1ST (short depth)
Power Supply: CORSAIR CX430M 80 Plus Bronze
Case: Moncaso 312S – uATX (chosen for stereo component style appearance)
Keyboard: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro

I have XBMC, but I'm finding Windows does everything faster and easier. I have it set to boot directly into XBMC, but I'm thinking about changing it back.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HTPC smoke test.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	258.6 KB
ID:	564865   Click image for larger version

Name:	HTPC completed.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	114.0 KB
ID:	564873   Click image for larger version

Name:	HTPC in console.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	153.8 KB
ID:	564881  
jhughy2010 likes this.
sbowers2 is offline  
post #1053 of 1060 Old 02-24-2015, 01:22 PM
Member
 
rikardo1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbowers2 View Post
This is my current HTPC build:

MB: GIGABYTE GA-F2A75M-HD2 (rev. 3.0) FM2+ AMD A75 uATX
APU: AMD A10-7700K
Cooler: Thermalright AXP-100 (silent, and able to shift for tight fit)
RAM: G.SKILL Ares 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 2133 C10
GPU: XFX R-250 (best 1/2 height for A10-7700K at the time)
Boot Drive: Crucial M500 120GB SSD
Storage Drive: Western Digital Caviar Green 3TB
Optical Drive: ASUS Blu-ray Drive BC-12B1ST (short depth)
Power Supply: CORSAIR CX430M 80 Plus Bronze
Case: Moncaso 312S – uATX (chosen for stereo component style appearance)
Keyboard: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro

I have XBMC, but I'm finding Windows does everything faster and easier. I have it set to boot directly into XBMC, but I'm thinking about changing it back.
you should try OpenELEC if you like Kodi(XBMC), and believe me, you will throw windoze out of window
rikardo1979 is offline  
post #1054 of 1060 Old 02-24-2015, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,594
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Unless you record Copy Once live TV.

I like that case. I have almost that same PSU showing up tomorrow for my new server build, except I got the "Gold" certified 450M.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #1055 of 1060 Old 02-24-2015, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
badgerpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikardo1979 View Post
you should try OpenELEC if you like Kodi(XBMC), and believe me, you will throw windoze out of window
I have all of my videos on a windows PC and stream to my various windows PC's which run Media Browser. If I went to OpenELEC, will that see my central PC with the videos, or do I have to modify that too? My set up has worked well for the last several years but I would like to see more appliance like reliability.
badgerpilot is offline  
post #1056 of 1060 Old 02-24-2015, 02:16 PM
Member
 
w1retap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 37
w1retap is offline  
post #1057 of 1060 Old 02-24-2015, 03:17 PM
Member
 
rikardo1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by badgerpilot View Post
I have all of my videos on a windows PC and stream to my various windows PC's which run Media Browser. If I went to OpenELEC, will that see my central PC with the videos, or do I have to modify that too? My set up has worked well for the last several years but I would like to see more appliance like reliability.
sure, Kodi can import all your media libraries from what ever share on your network if is SMB, NFS, etc...
so where ever your media are you would be able to play it no changes needed.
rikardo1979 is offline  
post #1058 of 1060 Old 02-24-2015, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
badgerpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikardo1979 View Post
sure, Kodi can import all your media libraries from what ever share on your network if is SMB, NFS, etc...
so where ever your media are you would be able to play it no changes needed.
I am just sharing via windows home group via my network. So it looks like I could install OpenELEC and then media browser and skip windows all together? I have a NUC on the way, should be here tomorrow. I want a simple system to replace an older HTPC in the bedroom. Windows sleep function has always frustrated me along with constant updates, etc. I would love to get away from that.
badgerpilot is offline  
post #1059 of 1060 Old 02-24-2015, 04:13 PM
Member
 
rikardo1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by badgerpilot View Post
I am just sharing via windows home group via my network. So it looks like I could install OpenELEC and then media browser and skip windows all together? I have a NUC on the way, should be here tomorrow. I want a simple system to replace an older HTPC in the bedroom. Windows sleep function has always frustrated me along with constant updates, etc. I would love to get away from that.
yes, surely you would be able to do this
simple like never
you install OpenELEC, than browse and add your network shares, it will automatically add all media to libraries, download all media informations etc..
few minutes and you all done
rikardo1979 is offline  
post #1060 of 1060 Old 02-24-2015, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
badgerpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikardo1979 View Post
yes, surely you would be able to do this
simple like never
you install OpenELEC, than browse and add your network shares, it will automatically add all media to libraries, download all media informations etc..
few minutes and you all done
Excellent! Thank you, I'll give it a try over the next few days.
badgerpilot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off