Intel G35 motherboards - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2431 Old 11-13-2007, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brentb25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody have any info on when the G35 motherboards will become available. I know Asus has announced the p5e-vm hdmi but no release date or price. What about Gigabyte, Intel, etc.
brentb25 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2431 Old 11-13-2007, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wo0zy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A prominent UK distributor has just added the part code so it must be very soon.

I was reliably informed the launch would be between the 10th and 13th of November but as there is still no stock I guess this info was wrong.
Wo0zy is offline  
post #3 of 2431 Old 11-13-2007, 04:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
BobSalita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CHI, CLD, PAR, PHX, PDX, NKC, AUK, MEL, SYD, BUE, SCL
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Intel says G35 is delayed until [at least] December.

http://shyamkol.blogspot.com/2007/11...mber-2007.html

Former Top 1000 Amazon reviewer bemoaning the loss of objective user reviews. Amazon, stop your complacency!
BobSalita is online now  
post #4 of 2431 Old 11-13-2007, 09:17 PM
Member
 
orangecream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't read any specs or reviews on the G35 yet, and yeah last I heard it was delayed. It sounds like a very nicely packed feature set, aimed at HTPCs. Hopefully its not THAT superior to the 690G. :-p
orangecream is offline  
post #5 of 2431 Old 11-14-2007, 01:02 AM
Senior Member
 
FLingier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Duisburg, Belgium
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentb25 View Post

Does anybody have any info on when the G35 motherboards will become available. I know Asus has announced the p5e-vm hdmi but no release date or price. What about Gigabyte, Intel, etc.

retail price for the P5E-VM HDMI will be around 145-155 EUR

F

---
FLingier is offline  
post #6 of 2431 Old 11-16-2007, 02:41 AM
Senior Member
 
FLingier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Duisburg, Belgium
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobSalita View Post

Intel says G35 is delayed until [at least] December.

http://shyamkol.blogspot.com/2007/11...mber-2007.html

Strange, I'll pick one up on monday.

F

---
FLingier is offline  
post #7 of 2431 Old 11-16-2007, 02:38 PM
Member
 
ec6412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Flingier, can you provide some more info on where you will pick one up? Stop teasing us!

I saw a similar verbatim entry in Fudzilla that these were delayed:
http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?op...4168&Itemid=37

"If life were easy, everyone would be doing it"
My dvd collection
ec6412 is offline  
post #8 of 2431 Old 11-16-2007, 02:42 PM
Member
 
ec6412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLingier View Post

retail price for the P5E-VM HDMI will be around 145-155 EUR

F

That is about $220 USD! Is there a chance for a $100 US discount? For that price, I'd rather get an P35 motherboard with a 8500GT video card for about the same...

"If life were easy, everyone would be doing it"
My dvd collection
ec6412 is offline  
post #9 of 2431 Old 11-16-2007, 03:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Speqtre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NoVA
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Somehow, as if by magic, the price people pay for things in Euros in Europe is often the same price people pay for things in US dollars in the US - corpororate greed FTW? Must be all those taxes in the EU...
Speqtre is offline  
post #10 of 2431 Old 11-19-2007, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
FLingier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Duisburg, Belgium
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ec6412 View Post

Flingier, can you provide some more info on where you will pick one up? Stop teasing us!

I saw a similar verbatim entry in Fudzilla that these were delayed:
http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?op...4168&Itemid=37

The distributor for Belgium is cloetens.be. I have the mainboard but I only have a spare E6600 to test (Q6600 was out of stock) so it may not be enough for playback of all BD or HD titles.
So I guess it was really some FUD on fudzilla

F

---
FLingier is offline  
post #11 of 2431 Old 11-19-2007, 08:59 AM
Member
 
sjorma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I've been waiting this also for my next HTPC.

First test now in the web:
(this is just my 3rd so I get links permission in the next message)

Regards
Sjorma
sjorma is offline  
post #12 of 2431 Old 11-19-2007, 09:02 AM
Member
 
sjorma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I've been waiting this also for my next HTPC.

First test now in the web:
http://www.pcworld.idg.com.au/index....57743;pid;4601

They tested / write: "The board ran our movies without any problems; images were smooth and the audio didn't crackle."

Sounds good to me even the use of QX6850 isn't necessary, I'm going to settle for something much less powerful.

Best regards
Sjorma
sjorma is offline  
post #13 of 2431 Old 11-20-2007, 03:36 PM
Member
 
shaktoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
again can Anyone please guide as to where to buy these boards?
shaktoo is offline  
post #14 of 2431 Old 11-21-2007, 01:26 AM
Senior Member
 
FLingier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Duisburg, Belgium
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaktoo View Post

again can Anyone please guide as to where to buy these boards?

I was not planning on reselling just the mainboards but I assume that most ASUS retailers could sell it to you to.

F

---
FLingier is offline  
post #15 of 2431 Old 11-22-2007, 07:25 AM
Member
 
xole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump....They still appear to be non-existent in the US.
xole is offline  
post #16 of 2431 Old 11-22-2007, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Elemental1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Zion
Posts: 3,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speqtre View Post

Somehow, as if by magic, the price people pay for things in Euros in Europe is often the same price people pay for things in US dollars in the US - corpororate greed FTW? Must be all those taxes in the EU...

It could be worse....you could be in the UK.
Who is going to pay for those missing data disks in the UK?

My HT

In the words of English philosopher Edmund Burke, ÂAll that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.Â
Elemental1 is offline  
post #17 of 2431 Old 11-22-2007, 08:45 AM
Member
 
sjorma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some more tests results and comparision from
http://my.ocworkbench.com/bbs/showth...threadid=69014

Intel G35 mainboard with 2GB DDR2-800 on X6800:
3Dmark05 scored 1196 and 3Dmark06 scored 651.

On ECS G33 mainboard, 3Dmark05 scored 839 while 3Dmark06 scored 326.
With the ATi RS600 chipset, 3Dmark05 scored 1170 and 3Dmark06 scored 538.

So G35 is slightly faster than RS600 in speed.

More detailed testing coming from
http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...&enterthread=y
in the beginning of December. Still some driver issues and DX10 drivers not even expected before March.

Regards
Sjorma
sjorma is offline  
post #18 of 2431 Old 11-22-2007, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Craigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if the price point is gonna be $200+ then I'll just go with a G33 board and get an 8500GT .
Craigger is offline  
post #19 of 2431 Old 11-22-2007, 06:05 PM
Member
 
DavidC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Some more tests results and comparision from
http://my.ocworkbench.com/bbs/showth...threadid=69014

Intel G35 mainboard with 2GB DDR2-800 on X6800:
3Dmark05 scored 1196 and 3Dmark06 scored 651.

On ECS G33 mainboard, 3Dmark05 scored 839 while 3Dmark06 scored 326.
With the ATi RS600 chipset, 3Dmark05 scored 1170 and 3Dmark06 scored 538.

So G35 is slightly faster than RS600 in speed.

More detailed testing coming from
http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...&enterthread=y
in the beginning of December. Still some driver issues and DX10 drivers not even expected before March.

Regards
Sjorma

Oh great. I get 1080 in 3dmark05 with E6600 2GB DDR2-800 and G965. So G35 isn't really of an improvement.
DavidC2 is offline  
post #20 of 2431 Old 11-22-2007, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In games, not so much, though it will support Shader Model 4.0, DX10 and OpenGL2.0 with driver refreshes next year.

In video, you gain some VC-1 High Profile acceleration (motion compensation and in-loop filter-- G965 only accelerated lower profiles of VC-1/WMV9). That said, IMO the major advantage of G35 over G965 is that motherboard vendors are designing HDMI boards around it-- which they didn't do with G965.

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #21 of 2431 Old 11-22-2007, 08:30 PM
Member
 
DavidC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


In games, not so much, though it will support Shader Model 4.0, DX10 and OpenGL2.0 with driver refreshes next year.

In video, you gain some VC-1 High Profile acceleration (motion compensation and in-loop filter-- G965 only accelerated lower profiles of VC-1/WMV9). That said, IMO the major advantage of G35 over G965 is that motherboard vendors are designing HDMI boards around it-- which they didn't do with G965.

Yea well, what's the point of DX10 when games based on it won't get better than 10 fps on lowest, which definitely takes the point out of DX10 in the first place.

I guess its more worth it for Intel to pursue for high-end video entertainment IGP than making a higher performing 3D part. At least there are people who will forgo dedicated cards if the IGP can do it equal or better. That's cool they are actually making boards with HDMI connectors. What's the point of "free" acceleration on the IGP when you don't really have the connectors to take advantage of it? IMO they should have done it back when G965 first came out. Better yet, Intel should have done it on their desktop boards. It's stupid they advertise it but never feature it on their mobos.
DavidC2 is offline  
post #22 of 2431 Old 11-23-2007, 05:46 AM
Senior Member
 
FLingier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Duisburg, Belgium
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by archibael View Post

In games, not so much, though it will support Shader Model 4.0, DX10 and OpenGL2.0 with driver refreshes next year.

In video, you gain some VC-1 High Profile acceleration (motion compensation and in-loop filter-- G965 only accelerated lower profiles of VC-1/WMV9). That said, IMO the major advantage of G35 over G965 is that motherboard vendors are designing HDMI boards around it-- which they didn't do with G965.

Main attraction is the HDMI port that can be used for audio and video. So far, video part is working find and hopefully this weekend i can test the audio part.

F

---
FLingier is offline  
post #23 of 2431 Old 11-23-2007, 06:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wo0zy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine today

Will be testing over the weekend!!
Wo0zy is offline  
post #24 of 2431 Old 11-23-2007, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidC2 View Post

I guess its more worth it for Intel to pursue for high-end video entertainment IGP than making a higher performing 3D part.

We're (corporate "we", I'm not involved, alas) working on it. Eaglelake/Cantiga will be an improvement, and the one after that will be even more impressive. Giving you specifics would be something I could be fired over, but it's getting better.

Quote:


At least there are people who will forgo dedicated cards if the IGP can do it equal or better. That's cool they are actually making boards with HDMI connectors. What's the point of "free" acceleration on the IGP when you don't really have the connectors to take advantage of it? IMO they should have done it back when G965 first came out. Better yet, Intel should have done it on their desktop boards. It's stupid they advertise it but never feature it on their mobos.

Yeah, well... these boards get designed three years ahead of time, and in many ways we're not as agile as we could be in changing over. It's not a good excuse, but it is a reason.

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #25 of 2431 Old 11-24-2007, 01:32 AM
Member
 
DavidC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


We're (corporate "we", I'm not involved, alas) working on it. Eaglelake/Cantiga will be an improvement, and the one after that will be even more impressive. Giving you specifics would be something I could be fired over, but it's getting better.

Yea, I understand. At least the IGP will be on par with ATI/Nvidia IGPs. Which is really a far cry from what it used to be back in the Extreme Graphics/GMA9x0 days.

EDIT: I don't need specifics, I can find out that myself . It won't really be useful until you know how it will perform on the final revision that will be released to public anyway.
DavidC2 is offline  
post #26 of 2431 Old 11-27-2007, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
iolaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any word on whether or not these boards support 7.1 LPCM over HDMI?
iolaus is offline  
post #27 of 2431 Old 11-27-2007, 11:23 AM
Member
 
Copperfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I owned P5E-VM HDMI (G35 based) about 4 days ago, and what I can tell is that it`s very nice motherboard. Unfortunately my amplifier doesn`t have a hdmi input so I can`t check whether or not the multi-channel LPCM through hdmi works, I have it connected by analog outputs...
And don`t count on good overclocking, I got FSB wall on 380mhz
Copperfield is offline  
post #28 of 2431 Old 11-28-2007, 09:52 AM
Member
 
ec6412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone find this in the US yet? Anyone know what the actual US retail price will be for the ASUS board?
Found some sites in the UK that carries it:
http://www.morecomputers.com/extra.asp?pn=P5E-VM+HDMI
http://www.pc-look.com/boutik/Prod_A...ml?language=en
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...d=5&subcat=326

"If life were easy, everyone would be doing it"
My dvd collection
ec6412 is offline  
post #29 of 2431 Old 11-28-2007, 10:05 AM
Member
 
ec6412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some detailed pics and BIOS overclocking info here at post 97:
http://forum.ncix.com/forums/display...1233021&page=5
The guy was able to overclock FSB to 450Mhz no problem, and got to 500Mhz with some voltage tweaking.

Also an official response from NCIX.com about when they will get the ASUS board was "Around mid-December. Info straight from Asus..." Dated November 18th.

"If life were easy, everyone would be doing it"
My dvd collection
ec6412 is offline  
post #30 of 2431 Old 11-28-2007, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Thanks! My wife's away for 2 months in Afghanistan (reporter), and I was hoping to do all the HTPC/Server building/making a mess of the living room while she's away. Mid December seems cool from NCIX (my fave online store), but I can hardly wait!
fitbrit is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off