Guide to Building a HTPC, Workstation and Server - Page 325 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9721 of 19344 Old 08-26-2009, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tijs_Verwest View Post

I was thinking on getting the e8200 2.66 GHz, 6M L2 Cache, 1333MHz FSB, LGA775 130$ but im not so sure, since its a desktop processor, i was planning on getting a mobile processor the Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 2.4GHz Socket P 25W 220 $ , whats the main difference between these two? besides the 0.22 ghz frequency? im assuming the p8600 uses 25w , i dont know how much more the e8200 consumes, is it worth to pay the extra 100$ for the mobile cpu?

The sockets are different. You can't use a desktop processor in a mobile mb and vice versa.
renethx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9722 of 19344 Old 08-26-2009, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by grantwolf View Post

Rene,
Any drawbacks to the G33 chipset I listed in my earlier post?

No, nothing.
renethx is offline  
post #9723 of 19344 Old 08-26-2009, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkedda View Post

Did I miss anything... please tell me quick?

CPU INTEL|C2D E7400 2.8G 775 RT
PSU CORSAIR|CMPSU-450VX 450W RT
MEM 2Gx2|GSK F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK R
SAPPHIRE|100256HDMI HD4670 1G R
MB GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P P45 775 R
DVD BURNER LITE-ON | IHAS324-08 RT
CPUCOOLER|ARCTIC P4|ACFZ7-PRO R
Thermaltake-Soprano Mid-Tower Case-Black-VG7000BWS
Western Digital-Caviar GP 1TB Internal Serial ATA Hard Drive-WD10000CSRTL

Good. DDR2-1066 is somewhat a waste. DDR2-800 is enough.
renethx is offline  
post #9724 of 19344 Old 08-26-2009, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
price3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Clemson, SC
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbomber202020 View Post

I use PowerDVD as well that came with my LG drive, I'm happy with it.
Alot of people use mpc-hc, tmt3, pwdvd.

I'm like you, I don't want to spend more money for software.

I'm not sure what you mean about no audio is output over hdmi, because that's false.

You can look into mpc-hc(media player classic-home cinema) it is free

I personally like pdvd better.

You can say it's false for you, but for me it's true. I have sound working over HDMI from my 4870 for windows 7 and other stuff, but when I put in a blu disc all I get is picture. The drive has updated firmware, and powerdvd 7.3 also did an update when I installed it. Very frustrating.
price3 is offline  
post #9725 of 19344 Old 08-26-2009, 04:32 PM
Member
 
tlguapo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally picked up some hardware and just have a question regarding the GPU.

I'm using the amd 5050e cpu with a 780 chipset. I'd like to get a GPU for it and found there is only a $20 difference between the 4550 and the 4670. From what I can tell there would be little, if any, difference for BD and other video content. Obviously, the 4670 will outperform the 4550 in any gaming application, but my question is whether my CPU will bottleneck the GPU? If it does bottleneck, then I'm thinking why waste $20 if I won't get any of the extra performance?
tlguapo is offline  
post #9726 of 19344 Old 08-26-2009, 04:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlguapo View Post

I finally picked up some hardware and just have a question regarding the GPU.

I'm using the amd 5050e cpu with a 780 chipset. I'd like to get a GPU for it and found there is only a $20 difference between the 4550 and the 4670. From what I can tell there would be little, if any, difference for BD and other video content. Obviously, the 4670 will outperform the 4550 in any gaming application, but my question is whether my CPU will bottleneck the GPU? If it does bottleneck, then I'm thinking why waste $20 if I won't get any of the extra performance?

Go with the 4670. I have a 4850e CPU and there is no CPU bottleneck

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #9727 of 19344 Old 08-26-2009, 04:52 PM
Member
 
tlguapo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Go with the 4670. I have a 4850e CPU and there is no CPU bottleneck

Thanks for the really fast response dbone! Already ordered a 4670 from the egg.
tlguapo is offline  
post #9728 of 19344 Old 08-26-2009, 05:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlguapo View Post

Thanks for the really fast response dbone! Already ordered a 4670 from the egg.

Sweet, good luck with everything!!!

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #9729 of 19344 Old 08-26-2009, 06:22 PM
Member
 
indecision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rene,

I was looking at your recommendations for a mid range amd/amd system on the previous page and everything looks great to me except that my current SilverStone case uses a full ATX motherboard. Can you recommend a full size Gigabyte with similar specs?

Thanks!
indecision is offline  
post #9730 of 19344 Old 08-26-2009, 06:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by indecision View Post

Rene,

I was looking at your recommendations for a mid range amd/amd system on the previous page and everything looks great to me except that my current SilverStone case uses a full ATX motherboard. Can you recommend a full size Gigabyte with similar specs?

Thanks!

GA-MA790GP-UD4H should be good.
renethx is offline  
post #9731 of 19344 Old 08-27-2009, 04:04 AM
Newbie
 
Svante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

GA-MA790GP-UD4H should be good.

I have been looking into ATX MB size as well for my upcomming build.
Im actully leaning towards the Gigabyte GA-MA785GT-UD3H (i've choosen DDR3 version since DDR2 version isn't available in any shops here in DK)
This is mainly based on the price difference between 785G based and 790G based boards: 90 euro for GA-MA785GT-UD3H and 135 euro for GA-MA790GP-UD4H

Isn't the 785G just as good as 790G ?
Svante is offline  
post #9732 of 19344 Old 08-27-2009, 09:58 AM
Member
 
topperdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minne'snow'ta
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased a Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 motherboard for an HTPC/multimedia server build. The server will be in my basement utility room/workshop area with very light gaming but primarily for:

a) PVR duties including
- ripping Blu-rays/DVDs/HD DVDs I own,
- recording TV and serving up Live TV,
- serving recorded content to clients such as PCH connected to TVs, Wii (Hulu via Playon), other PCs in the house, etc)
b) Multimedia duties including
- transferring/editing movies off camcorder)

I got the rev 2 of this motherboard with ACC and with the 8-pin power connector (versus 4-pin in rev 1).

Would appreciate feedback/suggestions for:
a) Processors - Am considering matching it up with the Phenom II X3 720. Would this be sufficient, especially for the transcoding the Hulu content?
b) Would I be able to use this Sunbeam cooler with the above processor. I have this cooler from a recent deal but not sure if it works with AM3 boards. If not, would appreciate suggestions for alternatives.
c) Video card - Either this HIS 4650 or an older XFX 7600GS (since its server), both of which I already own.
d) Would this Coolermaster Case + the incl PSU work well to house the above system or would I need a more beefy PSU? How do coolermaster PSU's compare to say Antec or Corsair?
e) Would appreciate suggestions for RAM.
f) Hard drives - Planning to use existing IDE and SATA drives and expand as needed
g) Optical Drive - Already own GGC-H20L.

Other hardware connected to system:
a) 1 or 2 HD-PVRs feeding HD audio/video content from set top boxes via USB ports.
b) Internal hauppauge TV Tuners (Currently HVR 1600 from server being replaced by this build + possibly more PCI-e tuners in future).
c) Occasional camcorder hookups via Firewire or USB for transferring home movies.

Thanks,
-Topper
topperdude is offline  
post #9733 of 19344 Old 08-27-2009, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
MordredKLB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svante View Post

I have been looking into ATX MB size as well for my upcomming build.
Im actully leaning towards the Gigabyte GA-MA785GT-UD3H (i've choosen DDR3 version since DDR2 version isn't available in any shops here in DK)
This is mainly based on the price difference between 785G based and 790G based boards: 90 euro for GA-MA785GT-UD3H and 135 euro for GA-MA790GP-UD4H

Isn't the 785G just as good as 790G ?

I'm leaning towards the GA-MA785GT-UD3H as well and pairing it up with an X3 720 and hoping I get a chip that can have the 4th core unlocked. If I don't luck out, I'm no worse off than I was before.
MordredKLB is offline  
post #9734 of 19344 Old 08-27-2009, 04:54 PM
Newbie
 
Benight27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have a setup put to gether yet but these are my wants and needs for my HTPC:

Video:

1. Playback- 720p, 1080i (Ripped Movies on HDD).

2. Playback- 480p, 720p, 1080i (Recorded SD and HD content from digital cable provider).

3. Playback- Downloaded TV and Movies from Bit Torrent (can these be up-scaled or up-converted to HD somehow? Currently I watch them from USb drive plugged into a XB 360).

Audio: Play audio from stored/downloaded/recorded Movies and Tv shows through 5.1 surround sound via Optical Toslink cable (My receiver only has HDMI out).

Record: SD and HD content from cable box (Do I need a specific tuner or capture card to record from digital cable box???)

Connection: (Would like to connect computer to TV via HDMI) and (Connect computer to surround receiver via Optical Toslink cable).

Download:

1. Need the HTPC to run Torrent Episode Down loader (TED) for TV Episodes pretty much continously, execpt when HTPC is turned off.

2. Download content (I.e Movies) from Bit Torrent.

Graphics Card:

1. Is one integrated in an MB sufficient enough for my needs (I.e watching 720p, 1080i, and up-converting)?

2. If separate purchases is necessary, then any recommendations for type model for 720p, 1080i and up-converting?

HTPC type: Recommendations for using either:

1. Mini-Itx System
2. Micro ATX System
4. ATX System
5. Manufactured HTPC ( if so any recommendations for one $500 or less that would work well with my needs and activities?

OS: I am familar with Microsoft but don't mind giving Linux a try.

Case: One that will work for the above activities and products, but can I use the included PSU, or would I need to buy a separate PSU?

Budget: I would like to keep my budget around $500 or less but definately below $1000 (ie too broke for that).

Priorities:

1. My main priority would be for quality (I.e Least amount of pixilaton as possible, up-converting and picture quality ) from playing stored/ripped/downloaded/recorded movies and Tv shows.

2. Another priority would be storage so I don't have to keep deleting content from my 8gb flash drive on my XB 360!

3. Last priority would be for it to be pretty quiet and be able to run almost 27/7.

Not Important is web browsing and no gaming will be done.

I could use some product recommendations for the following:

CPU:
CPU Cooler: if not included with CPU
Motherboard:
Graphics Card: If needed other than integrated in MB
Sound Card: If needed other than integrated in MB
HDD: any ideas on brand, type, and storage amount?
PSU: if not included in case, or one in case is not sufficient
Recording Device: can do SD and HD from digital cable box.
Software: any additional needed for my activities
Case: PSU included or not?

Or: is there an already manufactured one that will work just fine for me?

Lastly: is this post completely unnecessary and one of renethx's recommendations would work for me, if so which one?

Thanks to anyone who has thoughts and any recommendations for me!!
Benight27 is offline  
post #9735 of 19344 Old 08-27-2009, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svante View Post

I have been looking into ATX MB size as well for my upcomming build.
Im actully leaning towards the Gigabyte GA-MA785GT-UD3H (i've choosen DDR3 version since DDR2 version isn't available in any shops here in DK)
This is mainly based on the price difference between 785G based and 790G based boards: 90 euro for GA-MA785GT-UD3H and 135 euro for GA-MA790GP-UD4H

Isn't the 785G just as good as 790G ?

785G is good unless you want dual PCI Exprees x8.
renethx is offline  
post #9736 of 19344 Old 08-27-2009, 06:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 71
@ Renethx

Having problems with the Chenbro SR109 case again. I got the HDD cages. I have the first cage installed and the system runs fine. The moment I install the second and third cage (or just the second) the case starts beeping like crazy. No error messages show on the LCD screen though. I even put a HDD into the 2nd HDD cage while beeping and WHS recognized the drive. The only way to get the noise to shut off is to remove the power from these HDD cages. Any ideas what could be going on?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #9737 of 19344 Old 08-28-2009, 06:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

@ Renethx

Having problems with the Chenbro SR109 case again. I got the HDD cages. I have the first cage installed and the system runs fine. The moment I install the second and third cage (or just the second) the case starts beeping like crazy. No error messages show on the LCD screen though. I even put a HDD into the 2nd HDD cage while beeping and WHS recognized the drive. The only way to get the noise to shut off is to remove the power from these HDD cages. Any ideas what could be going on?

@ Renethx - I removed the functioning HDD cage and conencted it to the molex connectors I was using on the two cages that were setting off the alarm. The cage had no problems (so I confirmed that there wer no issues with the molex connectors being used). I pretty much ruled out that it was a PSU issue, so looks like 2 out of the 3 HDD cages I received are bad, I will have to RMA

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #9738 of 19344 Old 08-28-2009, 07:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
preludejtstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Springboro, Oh 45066
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 21
not sure if this is the right place for this:

*I built a new Core i7 build about one/two months ago. Love it! However:
I am a minimalist. My Monitor has HDMI input, and an output headphone jack. I would love to use that for my headphones.

*My problem comes that my motherboard nor my video card have HDMI. I play a lot of games, but am not hardcore by any means.

*How can I fix this? I don't mind spending the money on a solution, as long as it isn't obtrusive.

Intel DX58SO - Motherboard
Intel Core i7 920 - Processor
EVGA GTS 250 512mb - Video Card
LG W2361V - Monitor

What's your choice today?
Follow the Rules

preludejtstyle is offline  
post #9739 of 19344 Old 08-28-2009, 09:20 AM
Newbie
 
Svante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by preludejtstyle View Post

not sure if this is the right place for this:

*I built a new Core i7 build about one/two months ago. Love it! However:
I am a minimalist. My Monitor has HDMI input, and an output headphone jack. I would love to use that for my headphones.

*My problem comes that my motherboard nor my video card have HDMI. I play a lot of games, but am not hardcore by any means.

*How can I fix this? I don't mind spending the money on a solution, as long as it isn't obtrusive.

Intel DX58SO - Motherboard
Intel Core i7 920 - Processor
EVGA GTS 250 512mb - Video Card
LG W2361V - Monitor

Your motherboard should have analog outputs suitable for headphones according to intels mb description: http://www.intel.com/products/deskto...O-overview.htm
Svante is offline  
post #9740 of 19344 Old 08-29-2009, 09:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Davecraze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I am having an very odd issue with a HTPC I just built last week.

Hardware:

Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H
CPU - E5200 wolfdale, R0 stepping
Memory - G-skill 4 gb ddr2-800
Hdrives - Three samsung spinpoint 1.5tb
Optical - Sony optiarc dvd/cd burner
Case - Cooler master sileo 500
PSU - Rosewill rp500-2
CPU cooler - Arctic cooling freezer 7 pro

Problem: l do not have the CPU overclocked. When I look at the processor in CPU-Z, it shows a multiplier of 12.5 and FSB of 200 for a total of 2.5 Ghz. All as expected. However, about every 10-15 seconds, that changes to multiplier of 6 and a FSB of 200 for a total of 1.2Ghz. It is almost like it is randomly alternating to a 6x multiplier then back to 12x.

Has anyone ever heard of this before?

I don't know if it is really clocking down to 1.2ghz or not but I have never seen anything like that.

I ran some 1080p content over the geforce 9400 using HDMI and on long pans
and occasionally when there is a lot of info on the screen, I get very minor slow downs or very slight hiccups. From everything i have read, an E5200 with the geforce 9400 should be able to handle 1080p with no such issues.

Maybe the CPU really is clocking down and then causing the video issues because it is only 1.2ghz for a short time.

Any idea? Thanks in advance.

-David
Davecraze is offline  
post #9741 of 19344 Old 08-29-2009, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tsanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Isn't that just Intel Speedstep kicking in? Your processor clocks down to save power.
tsanga is offline  
post #9742 of 19344 Old 08-29-2009, 01:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Davecraze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Doh! Thanks for that - I really had no idea that speedstep was a feature on desktop CPUs; thought it was only mobile CPUs. Is there a way to disable it, as it doesnt automatically seem to jump back to 12.5 multiplier under CPU load?
Davecraze is offline  
post #9743 of 19344 Old 08-29-2009, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tsanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can disable "EIST" in BIOS but why? The CPU is smart enough to regulate itself. I'd be surprised if it didn't automatically step up. You can test it with Prime95 - watch what it does in CPU-Z when you fire up the small fft test.
tsanga is offline  
post #9744 of 19344 Old 08-29-2009, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Tijs_Verwest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

The sockets are different. You can't use a desktop processor in a mobile mb and vice versa.

Damn , and i was thinking i could save those extra 100$ T.T
Tijs_Verwest is offline  
post #9745 of 19344 Old 08-29-2009, 10:49 PM
Member
 
TombKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From the ATX builds, for both High-end and Premium, are any setups 'better' than the others within each group? Or do they all have the same capabilites? (not meaning # of pcie slots or stuff like that)
TombKeeper is offline  
post #9746 of 19344 Old 08-30-2009, 06:49 AM
Member
 
gfortune1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any suggestions for a slim BD burner and HD reader?

Please see my build on page 313.

Thanks!
gfortune1981 is offline  
post #9747 of 19344 Old 08-31-2009, 07:33 AM
Newbie
 
rogue409's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm putting together a mini-ITX system using the Apex MI-008 and an LG GGW-H20L Blu-Ray/ HD-DVD drive. The drive is 146 x 41.3 x 185 mm, and it's a little bit too long to use with standard SATA connectors. I'm not sure if this is common knowledge or not - the miniITX cases are a little tight on space.

I ended up getting a SATA 2 connector and a Molex-SATA cables with 90 degree bend from monoprice. They should do the trick, and they're pretty cheap.

I'll update when they arrive.

Update: The connectors with a 90 degree bend work nicely.
rogue409 is offline  
post #9748 of 19344 Old 08-31-2009, 01:13 PM
Member
 
Threxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Renethx, might be worth waiting to do your new writeup for another couple weeks since there's some new processors on their way out.
http://www.engadget.com/2009/08/31/i...ssors-septemb/

Then again you very likely were planning on waiting another couple weeks anyway.

I wonder when corei7 boards will start offering integrated graphics? If they already are, I haven't seen any, even though I've seen articles nearly a year old talking about integrated graphics being developed for that processor line.
Threxx is offline  
post #9749 of 19344 Old 08-31-2009, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
kevm14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking for an HTPC board to use with an ATI 4670. I've settled on the 4670 for video processing and the component video support. Can anyone recommend a good micro ATX board with an on-board S/PDIF that properly passes DD 5.1 and DTS audio? I've read at least one review that stated the on-board S/PDIF did only stereo PCM, which makes no sense since DD/DTS is just compressed data on those 2 PCM channels.

For AMD stuff I was looking at stuff with the 785 or 790 chipset. For AMD CPU, I settled on the 705e x3. I've been looking mainly at Newegg. I guess I don't care about on-board video.

Is an equivalent Intel board + CPU cheaper?

Will the 4670 do the next gen HD audio via HDMI when I upgrade my TV and receiver in a few years?
kevm14 is offline  
post #9750 of 19344 Old 08-31-2009, 01:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevm14 View Post

I am looking for an HTPC board to use with an ATI 4670. I've settled on the 4670 for video processing and the component video support. Can anyone recommend a good micro ATX board with an on-board S/PDIF that properly passes DD 5.1 and DTS audio? I've read at least one review that stated the on-board S/PDIF did only stereo PCM, which makes no sense since DD/DTS is just compressed data on those 2 PCM channels.

For AMD stuff I was looking at stuff with the 785 or 790 chipset. For AMD CPU, I settled on the 705e x3. I've been looking mainly at Newegg. I guess I don't care about on-board video.

Is an equivalent Intel board + CPU cheaper?

Will the 4670 do the next gen HD audio via HDMI when I upgrade my TV and receiver in a few years?

This is a good board from Gigabyte (785g):

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128395

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off