Custom Resolution Tool for Intel Graphics: Easier Overscan Correction - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 1291 Old 08-19-2008, 12:56 PM
Member
 
tekmassa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wo0zy, not sure how I got 74.18, it was the standard for one of the other resolutions. Regardless, both 74.25 and 74.18 produce the lines on the left edge of the screen. I kept going down from 74.18 until they went away, which landed me at 74.05. This is my current DTD:

ED 1C 47 51 71 0C 26 20 76 2C A5 00 B8 18 32 00 00 9E

Since this looks ok, should I leave it or is there something else I should try changing?

-Tek
tekmassa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 1291 Old 08-20-2008, 01:19 PM
Member
 
Red GTI VR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Little Elm, Texas
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wo0zy View Post

If another cable doesn't provide you with an EDID report then I'll point you at the DTDCalc thread and we can discuss adding an 800x600 DTD to your config to overcome this.

I'm here now.
Red GTI VR6 is offline  
post #723 of 1291 Old 08-20-2008, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wo0zy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red GTI VR6 View Post

I'm here now.

Great

Do you have another cable to try first?

If not I'll see it there's a modeline kicking around.

Wo0zy

Edit: OK sorry just read tyour last post on the other forum. Sounds like that's the issue. Will get back to you.
Wo0zy is offline  
post #724 of 1291 Old 08-20-2008, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wo0zy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wo0zy View Post

Great

Do you have another cable to try first?

If not I'll see it there's a modeline kicking around.

Wo0zy

Edit: OK sorry just read tyour last post on the other forum. Sounds like that's the issue. Will get back to you.

What's the exact model of your display?
Wo0zy is offline  
post #725 of 1291 Old 08-20-2008, 03:53 PM
Member
 
Red GTI VR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Little Elm, Texas
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
800tsv
Red GTI VR6 is offline  
post #726 of 1291 Old 08-21-2008, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Red GTI VR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Little Elm, Texas
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting a new power supply tomorrow for this board.

I'm wondering if the turn on procedure might be causing these issues.

As it is now, when you turn it on the monitor turns on, then turns off, then a second later you hear the motherboard beep, then the monitor turns back on.

I'm wondering if that might have something to do with it.....
Red GTI VR6 is offline  
post #727 of 1291 Old 08-22-2008, 05:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnHWman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Is DTD Calculator compatible with G45 chipset for custom resolution ?

John

Home theater enthusiast for over 20 years !
My dedicated HT room !
JohnHWman is offline  
post #728 of 1291 Old 08-22-2008, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should be. I don't think anything's changed with how DTDs are specifiable on the G45.

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #729 of 1291 Old 08-22-2008, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
720p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
archibael, on g35 as we know 24p doesn't work with the new drivers.
I see dtd calculator creates the entry and the entry is never deleted from the registry.
If I create a 50p/60p entry I am able to select in Windows as you know.
So how does Intel do this? It is a registry entry? I've looked but didn't find any "Disable24pSupport" entry.
720p is offline  
post #730 of 1291 Old 08-22-2008, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suspect but cannot prove there is a bit of code in the drivers:

Code:
 if (HDMI_resolution_selected==pre_G45_unsupported_timings)
  { if (device==G45)
       then allow();
    else if (device==SDVO)
       disallow();
  }
I completely invented that, of course, but it would put the decision deep into the driver code and non-tweakable.

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #731 of 1291 Old 08-22-2008, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
720p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by archibael View Post

I suspect but cannot prove there is a bit of code in the drivers:

Code:
 if (HDMI_resolution_selected==pre_G45_unsupported_timings)
  { if (device==G45)
       then allow();
    else if (device==SDVO)
       disallow();
  }
I completely invented that, of course, but it would put the decision deep into the driver code and non-tweakable.

hmmm, where's that G45 bios link?
Only kidding, was afraid it would be something inside the code, would make more sense to implement as registry but I guess they're on to us now
720p is offline  
post #732 of 1291 Old 08-25-2008, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wo0zy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red GTI VR6 View Post

800tsv

Hi Red GTI VR6,

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you.

If you haven't had any luck getting 800x600 to stick, try installing DTDCalc then add the following DTD to the Registry (instructions in first post by Archibael)

A0 0F 20 00 31 58 1C 20 28 80 14 00 00 00 00 00 00 1E

Wo0zy
Wo0zy is offline  
post #733 of 1291 Old 08-25-2008, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
720p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The last time (must be nearing a million times) I installed drivers I only used the Intel custom tool for 50/60Hz and my pc was sometimes switching to 800x600.
It was driving my mad until I remembered my trusty dtdcalc, a restart later, no 800x600 since

moral of the story: use dtdcalc if you want your res to stick
720p is offline  
post #734 of 1291 Old 08-25-2008, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wo0zy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 720p View Post

The last time (must be nearing a million times) I installed drivers I only used the Intel custom tool for 50/60Hz and my pc was sometimes switching to 800x600.
It was driving my mad until I remembered my trusty dtdcalc, a restart later, no 800x600 since

moral of the story: use dtdcalc if you want your res to stick

Yep. It's handy having a fallback DTD for when EDID goes "missing" or for when the "persistence mode" driver craps out

Wo0zy
Wo0zy is offline  
post #735 of 1291 Old 08-25-2008, 10:35 AM
Member
 
Red GTI VR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Little Elm, Texas
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wo0zy View Post

Hi Red GTI VR6,

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you.

If you haven't had any luck getting 800x600 to stick, try installing DTDCalc then add the following DTD to the Registry (instructions in first post by Archibael)

A0 0F 20 00 31 58 1C 20 28 80 14 00 00 00 00 00 00 1E

Wo0zy

Actually, the issue has resolved its self. I posted in the other thread, but not in here...sorry.

replacing the processor some how fixed it....I have no idea how, but it did....

Thank you so much for all of your help. It's nice to be able to get help like this still in this world!
Red GTI VR6 is offline  
post #736 of 1291 Old 08-26-2008, 08:02 PM
Newbie
 
DavidT44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried using DTDCalculator to fix my overscan issue with my Intel G35 Video Card.

Here are the steps I followed:
1. Launched DTDCalculator as administrator.
2. Pasted the following block into Interpret EDID from Intel diagnostic report
00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00 59 3a 33 00 01 01 01 01
17 11 01 03 80 5d 34 78 0a f6 8b a3 57 49 9d 24
11 47 4a 20 00 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
01 01 01 01 01 c1 02 3a 80 18 71 38 2d 40 58 2c
55 00 a2 08 32 00 00 1e 00 00 00 fd 00 32 55 0f
55 0f 00 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 ff 00 53
50 41 50 41 48 32 33 33 35 33 37 30 00 00 00 fc
00 56 55 34 32 4c 46 48 44 54 56 31 30 41 01 4d
02 03 1b 71 48 04 01 03 90 05 12 15 14 23 09 07
03 83 01 00 00 65 03 0c 00 20 00 01 1d 00 72 51
d0 1e 20 6e 28 55 00 a2 08 32 00 00 1e 01 1d 80
d0 72 1c 16 20 10 2c 25 80 a2 08 32 00 00 9e 8c
0a d0 8a 20 e0 2d 10 10 3e 96 00 a2 08 32 00 00
18 01 1d 80 18 71 1c 16 20 58 2c 25 00 a2 08 32
00 00 9e 8c 0a d0 90 20 40 31 20 0c 40 55 00 a2
08 32 00 00 18 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 c3
3. It produced the following interpeted information:
Established Timings :
640 x 480 @ 60 Hz
Block 1 DTD Found (See List)
Display does not support underscan
Display supports basic audio
Display supports YCbCr 4:4:4
Display supports YCbCr 4:2:2
1 native formats in DTDs
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 1280x720p @ 59.94/60Hz 16:9 Non-Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 640x480p @ 59.94/60Hz 4:3 Non-Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 720x480p @ 59.94/60Hz 16:9 Non-Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 1920x1080p @ 59.94/60Hz 16:9 Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 1920x1080i @ 59.94/60Hz 16:9 Non-Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 720x576p @ 50Hz 16:9 Non-Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 720x576i @ 50Hz 4:3 Non-Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 1920x1080i @ 50Hz 16:9 Non-Native
Short Audio Descriptor:
Audio Format - LPCM
2 Channel Sound
Sampling Frequencies Supported :48kHz, 44kHz, 32kHz
Bit Depth :20 bit, 16 bit
Speaker Allocation Block :
Speakers Present :
Front Left / Front Right
Block 2 DTD Found (See List)
Block 2 DTD Found (See List)
Block 2 DTD Found (See List)
Block 2 DTD Found (See List)
Block 2 DTD Found (See List)
4. Tried all of the 1920 resolutions under the registry hack. None seem to work. I have a Vizio 42 inch 1080P Monitor hooked up via HMDI. Can someone please help and/or let me know what Raw EDID I should use?
DavidT44 is offline  
post #737 of 1291 Old 08-26-2008, 09:18 PM
Member
 
Ashex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to add resolutions (1280x720) to be able to display properly on my LN32A330. it's currently stuck at 720x480.

I added all the resolutions in with dtdcalc, and even though it's in the registry and I have the latest drivers, they don't show up :/

I'm using a G45 (dg45fc). Has anyone else had this issue?
Ashex is offline  
post #738 of 1291 Old 08-27-2008, 02:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wo0zy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidT44 View Post

I tried using DTDCalculator to fix my overscan issue with my Intel G35 Video Card.

Here are the steps I followed:
1. Launched DTDCalculator as administrator.
2. Pasted the following block into Interpret EDID from Intel diagnostic report
00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00 59 3a 33 00 01 01 01 01
17 11 01 03 80 5d 34 78 0a f6 8b a3 57 49 9d 24
11 47 4a 20 00 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
01 01 01 01 01 c1 02 3a 80 18 71 38 2d 40 58 2c
55 00 a2 08 32 00 00 1e 00 00 00 fd 00 32 55 0f
55 0f 00 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 ff 00 53
50 41 50 41 48 32 33 33 35 33 37 30 00 00 00 fc
00 56 55 34 32 4c 46 48 44 54 56 31 30 41 01 4d
02 03 1b 71 48 04 01 03 90 05 12 15 14 23 09 07
03 83 01 00 00 65 03 0c 00 20 00 01 1d 00 72 51
d0 1e 20 6e 28 55 00 a2 08 32 00 00 1e 01 1d 80
d0 72 1c 16 20 10 2c 25 80 a2 08 32 00 00 9e 8c
0a d0 8a 20 e0 2d 10 10 3e 96 00 a2 08 32 00 00
18 01 1d 80 18 71 1c 16 20 58 2c 25 00 a2 08 32
00 00 9e 8c 0a d0 90 20 40 31 20 0c 40 55 00 a2
08 32 00 00 18 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 c3
3. It produced the following interpeted information:
Established Timings :
640 x 480 @ 60 Hz
Block 1 DTD Found (See List)
Display does not support underscan
Display supports basic audio
Display supports YCbCr 4:4:4
Display supports YCbCr 4:2:2
1 native formats in DTDs
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 1280x720p @ 59.94/60Hz 16:9 Non-Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 640x480p @ 59.94/60Hz 4:3 Non-Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 720x480p @ 59.94/60Hz 16:9 Non-Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 1920x1080p @ 59.94/60Hz 16:9 Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 1920x1080i @ 59.94/60Hz 16:9 Non-Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 720x576p @ 50Hz 16:9 Non-Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 720x576i @ 50Hz 4:3 Non-Native
Short Video Descriptor:
Resolution Supported - 1920x1080i @ 50Hz 16:9 Non-Native
Short Audio Descriptor:
Audio Format - LPCM
2 Channel Sound
Sampling Frequencies Supported :48kHz, 44kHz, 32kHz
Bit Depth :20 bit, 16 bit
Speaker Allocation Block :
Speakers Present :
Front Left / Front Right
Block 2 DTD Found (See List)
Block 2 DTD Found (See List)
Block 2 DTD Found (See List)
Block 2 DTD Found (See List)
Block 2 DTD Found (See List)
4. Tried all of the 1920 resolutions under the registry hack. None seem to work. I have a Vizio 42 inch 1080P Monitor hooked up via HMDI. Can someone please help and/or let me know what Raw EDID I should use?

To correct overscan at 1920x1080 you must first sst this as your desktop resolution. Your report includes the following DTD for 1920x1080@60

02 3A 80 18 71 38 2D 40 58 2C 55 00 A2 08 32 00 00 1E

put this into the reverse calculation tab and click ths "reverse calculate" button to load the timing.

You can now use the tools on the "tuning" tab to create a new resolution with no overscan. Use the ruler tool first. The adjustments are reflected in the modeline values down the LHS and also in the corresponding DTD.

Once you've got your new DTD go to the "registry hack" tab, click the "more" button to open a DTD Slot then click the "get calculated" button and your new DTD will appear in the slot. Finally click "write DTD's to registry" and reboot when prompted. Your new custom resolution should now be available.

Wo0zy
Wo0zy is offline  
post #739 of 1291 Old 08-27-2008, 03:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wo0zy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashex View Post

I'm trying to add resolutions (1280x720) to be able to display properly on my LN32A330. it's currently stuck at 720x480.

I added all the resolutions in with dtdcalc, and even though it's in the registry and I have the latest drivers, they don't show up :/

I'm using a G45 (dg45fc). Has anyone else had this issue?

No. Works fine on our G45 test system.

What do you mean by "added all the resolutions"?

Can you post your Intel diagnostic report and also the DTD's you tried for 720p.

Wo0zy
Wo0zy is offline  
post #740 of 1291 Old 08-27-2008, 07:42 AM
Member
 
Ashex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wo0zy View Post

No. Works fine on our G45 test system.

What do you mean by "added all the resolutions"?

Can you post your Intel diagnostic report and also the DTD's you tried for 720p.

Wo0zy

I tried adding all the supported dtd's reported by moninfo, and none showed up.

I tried these DTD's:

01 1D 00 72 51 D0 1E 20 6E 28 55 00 A0 5A 00 00 00 1E
01 1D 80 18 71 1C 16 20 58 2C 25 00 A0 5A 00 00 00 9E
8C 0A D0 8A 20 E0 2D 10 10 3E 96 00 A0 5A 00 00 00 18
02 3A 80 18 71 38 2D 40 58 2C 45 00 A0 5A 00 00 00 1E

This is connected via hdmi

This is the diagnostic report:

Quote:


Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator Driver Report


Report Date: 08/26/2008
Report Time[hr:mm:ss]: 20:57:20
Driver Version: 6.14.10.4973
Operating System: Windows XP* Professional, Service Pack 3 (5.1.2600)
Default Language: English
DirectX* Version: 9.0
Physical Memory: 954 MB
Minimum Graphics Memory: 32 MB
Maximum Graphics Memory: 128 MB
Graphics Memory in Use: 5 MB
Processor: x86 family 6 Model 23 Stepping 6
Processor Speed: 2533 MHZ
Vendor ID: 8086
Device ID: 2E22
Device Revision: 03


* Accelerator Information *

Accelerator in Use: Intel(R) G45/G43 Express Chipset
Video BIOS: 1659.0
Current Graphics Mode: 720 by 480 True Color (60 Hz)



* Devices Connected to the Graphics Accelerator *


Active Digital Televisions: 1


* Digital Television *

Monitor Name: Plug and Play Monitor
Display Type: Digital
Gamma Value: 2.20
DDC2 Protocol: Supported
Maximum Image Size: Horizontal: 62.0 inches
Vertical: 35.0 inches
Monitor Supported Modes:
640 by 480 (60 Hz)
1280 by 720 (60 Hz)
1920 by 540 (60 Hz)
Display Power Management Support:
Standby Mode: Not Supported
Suspend Mode: Not Supported
Active Off Mode: Not Supported
Raw EDID:
00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00 4c 2d a7 03 00 00 00 00
2e 11 01 03 80 a0 5a 78 0a e2 bd a1 5b 4a 98 24
15 47 4a 20 00 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
01 01 01 01 01 01 01 1d 00 72 51 d0 1e 20 6e 28
55 00 a0 5a 00 00 00 1e 01 1d 80 18 71 1c 16 20
58 2c 25 00 a0 5a 00 00 00 9e 00 00 00 fd 00 17
3d 1a 44 0f 00 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 fc
00 53 41 4d 53 55 4e 47 0a 20 20 20 20 20 01 34
02 03 1a 71 46 84 05 03 10 20 22 23 09 07 07 83
01 00 00 66 03 0c 00 10 00 80 8c 0a d0 8a 20 e0
2d 10 10 3e 96 00 a0 5a 00 00 00 18 02 3a 80 18
71 38 2d 40 58 2c 45 00 a0 5a 00 00 00 1e 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 9b

* Other names and brands are the property of their respective owners.

Ashex is offline  
post #741 of 1291 Old 08-27-2008, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashex View Post

I tried adding all the supported dtd's reported by moninfo, and none showed up.

I tried these DTD's:

01 1D 00 72 51 D0 1E 20 6E 28 55 00 A0 5A 00 00 00 1E
01 1D 80 18 71 1C 16 20 58 2C 25 00 A0 5A 00 00 00 9E
8C 0A D0 8A 20 E0 2D 10 10 3E 96 00 A0 5A 00 00 00 18
02 3A 80 18 71 38 2D 40 58 2C 45 00 A0 5A 00 00 00 1E

This is connected via hdmi

This is the diagnostic report:

Hmmm...

If you open up the registry and do a Find for "DTD_1", do you see these in every instance (they should be programmed into DTD_1 through DTD_4)? Keep doing "Find Next" until you're sure you've seen them all. Wo0zy and I have been surprised before by new, special places that the Intel drivers put these registry entries where DTDCalc isn't looking.

Also verify by the same mechanism that all instances of "TotalDTDCount" have a value of at least 4.

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #742 of 1291 Old 08-27-2008, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wo0zy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by archibael View Post

Hmmm...

If you open up the registry and do a Find for "DTD_1", do you see these in every instance (they should be programmed into DTD_1 through DTD_4)? Keep doing "Find Next" until you're sure you've seen them all. Wo0zy and I have been surprised before by new, special places that the Intel drivers put these registry entries where DTDCalc isn't looking.

Also verify by the same mechanism that all instances of "TotalDTDCount" have a value of at least 4.

Archi,

Is it just me or do you think it seems odd that there's an SVD and a DTD for 720p in the EDID and the timing is listed as "Monitor Support" in the diagnostic report but the resolution still isn't offered as standard in the Graphics Tray?
Wo0zy is offline  
post #743 of 1291 Old 08-27-2008, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep. If this was a laptop I'd assume it was a BIOS thing, but it's not...

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #744 of 1291 Old 08-27-2008, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
OK, I'm doing something wrong. This is a G45 feeding a 1080p TV.

1. get edid from moninfo
2. paste into interpret, click interpret, dbl click the 1080p one
3. go to reg hack, click add (result=1)
4. go to tuning , drag to 1856x1056, click apply
5. go to reg hack, click write to reg.
6. prompted to reboot. reboot
7. open Intel graphic properties/display settings/screen resolution and I still just have the original choices.
grittree is offline  
post #745 of 1291 Old 08-27-2008, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wo0zy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post

OK, I'm doing something wrong. This is a G45 feeding a 1080p TV.

1. get edid from moninfo
2. paste into interpret, click interpret, dbl click the 1080p one
3. go to reg hack, click add (result=1)
4. go to tuning , drag to 1856x1056, click apply
5. go to reg hack, click write to reg.
6. prompted to reboot. reboot
7. open Intel graphic properties/display settings/screen resolution and I still just have the original choices.

A couple of things from the description mate.

1. Get the EDID from the Intel Diagnostic Report not moninfo. The monifno report may not be complete.

2. In step 5 you must click the "Get Calculated" button to load the new DTD into the open slot before clicking "Write DTD's to Registry".

If you post your full EDID and your starting and ending DTDs we can check these for you if you wish.

Wo0zy
Wo0zy is offline  
post #746 of 1291 Old 08-27-2008, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks Wo0zy. OK, can't get to that TV until tomorrow.

Is the "get calculated" button in reg hacks tab? I don't see it on this machine, but it's not using Intel graphics. And exactly how/where do I get my ending DTD?

My starting DTD is:
02 3A 80 18 71 38 2D 40 58 2C 45 00 40 84 63 00 00 1E

00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 4C 2D C7 03 00 00 00 00
31 11 01 03 80 A0 5A 78 0A AE A1 A6 54 4C 99 26
14 50 54 21 08 00 81 80 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
01 01 01 01 01 01 02 3A 80 18 71 38 2D 40 58 2C
45 00 40 84 63 00 00 1E 66 21 50 B0 51 00 1B 30
40 70 36 00 40 84 63 00 00 1E 00 00 00 FD 00 17
3D 1A 44 17 00 0A 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 FC
00 53 41 4D 53 55 4E 47 0A 20 20 20 20 20 01 A2
02 03 22 F1 46 90 04 05 03 20 22 23 09 07 07 83
01 00 00 E2 00 0F E3 05 03 01 67 03 0C 00 30 00
B8 2D 01 1D 00 72 51 D0 1E 20 6E 28 55 00 40 84
63 00 00 1E 01 1D 80 18 71 1C 16 20 58 2C 25 00
40 84 63 00 00 9E 8C 0A D0 8A 20 E0 2D 10 10 3E
96 00 40 84 63 00 00 18 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 48
grittree is offline  
post #747 of 1291 Old 08-27-2008, 05:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wo0zy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post

Thanks Wo0zy. OK, can't get to that TV until tomorrow.

Is the "get calculated" button in reg hacks tab? I don't see it on this machine, but it's not using Intel graphics. And exactly how/where do I get my ending DTD?

My starting DTD is:
02 3A 80 18 71 38 2D 40 58 2C 45 00 40 84 63 00 00 1E

00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 4C 2D C7 03 00 00 00 00
31 11 01 03 80 A0 5A 78 0A AE A1 A6 54 4C 99 26
14 50 54 21 08 00 81 80 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
01 01 01 01 01 01 02 3A 80 18 71 38 2D 40 58 2C
45 00 40 84 63 00 00 1E 66 21 50 B0 51 00 1B 30
40 70 36 00 40 84 63 00 00 1E 00 00 00 FD 00 17
3D 1A 44 17 00 0A 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 FC
00 53 41 4D 53 55 4E 47 0A 20 20 20 20 20 01 A2
02 03 22 F1 46 90 04 05 03 20 22 23 09 07 07 83
01 00 00 E2 00 0F E3 05 03 01 67 03 0C 00 30 00
B8 2D 01 1D 00 72 51 D0 1E 20 6E 28 55 00 40 84
63 00 00 1E 01 1D 80 18 71 1C 16 20 58 2C 25 00
40 84 63 00 00 9E 8C 0A D0 8A 20 E0 2D 10 10 3E
96 00 40 84 63 00 00 18 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 48

Yes mate. It's in the Reg Hack tab. When you click the "more" button to open up a DTD slot two new buttons appear next to the new slot.

"create modeline"- loads the values stored in the DTD slot ready for editing.
"get calculated" - populates the DTD slot with the values you've just created ready to written to the registry.

If you don't click "get calculated" the DTD slot is all 0's and that's what gets written to the registry.

Once you've used the tuning tools the resulting DTD is displayed across the bottom of the DTDCalc window. Also, if you go back to the "calculation" tab you'll see it in "calculated DTD" (bottom of the window). You can copy it from there.

Wo0zy
Wo0zy is offline  
post #748 of 1291 Old 08-27-2008, 05:56 PM
Member
 
Ashex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by archibael View Post

Hmmm...

If you open up the registry and do a Find for "DTD_1", do you see these in every instance (they should be programmed into DTD_1 through DTD_4)? Keep doing "Find Next" until you're sure you've seen them all. Wo0zy and I have been surprised before by new, special places that the Intel drivers put these registry entries where DTDCalc isn't looking.

Also verify by the same mechanism that all instances of "TotalDTDCount" have a value of at least 4.

Everywhere I saw DTD_1, it went up to 5, 1-4 all had values in them, and 5 just had 0's (blank). Every instance of TotalDTDCount was 4 also.
Ashex is offline  
post #749 of 1291 Old 08-28-2008, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
This is getting frustrating.

I got the new resolution (1848x1040) created.
DTD= 02 3A 38 60 71 10 55 40 7C 2C 85 04 40 84 63 00 00 1E

New resolution choice shows up, but TV says "mode not supported"!

Still must be doing something wrong.

Also, I can't find an "information" button in the Intel tray.
grittree is offline  
post #750 of 1291 Old 08-28-2008, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
720p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post

Also, I can't find an "information" button in the Intel tray.

top right next to minimize/close button (eagle eyesight required)
720p is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off