HP z555 Upgrade Project - Page 41 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2016, 06:14 AM
Senior Member
 
jongig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I miss using my Z565, still have it and it works perfectly but because of Bluray I no longer use it as a theatre PC. It sits in my rack and is never turned on but it sure is a neat computer. I tried to use it to play a HD DVD and a Blueray last year but it didn't work.
I recall Bigworm starting this thread and I followed and did most of what he told us to and it added so much to my theatre to have all the DVD's in my NAS drive. Originally it did play Blueray and HD-DVD but I don't know if any of this will work anymore. I tried on one of my laptops that has a built in Blueray player to play a Blueray disk but it wouldn't play a Bluray either.

Computer uses Vista.

Is anyone still able to play Blueray disks in a PC and if so with what software?
jongig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2016, 08:40 AM
Member
 
Hazardsneon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I haven't upgraded my optical drive yet because I don't even own blu-rays or HD DVD but I can see if I can help.

VLC media player might work to watch the discs. It seems like it can play any video type.

What OS are you running?
Hazardsneon is offline  
Old 08-25-2016, 07:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Update time. Here is a video that goes through the update repair process,
The step that worked for me is going with this download link https://support.microsoft.com/kb/3138612 (option 2 in the video) and you must select either the 32 or 64 bit version to match your needs. After running the downloaded patch, the update process has worked flawlessly. Once all of the necessary patches were installed I re-ran the Media Center channel setup and I got video again on all channels.

Next, I found a riser card that has 3 slots, without cables that allowed me to use all three slots. On Ebay one can be found by searching with "PCI 301-B, 3-slot PCI Riser Card, Right Angle (New in Static bag)". There are a set of jumpers that you need to set but it doesn't take long to figure out. So now I have both tuner cards and the wireless card functioning properly. I tried to install a third tuner card but Media Center stated I could have a maximum of 2 tuners. If I missed something in the configuration let me know because I don't need the wireless and would really like the 3rd tuner card. BTW, if anyone is looking for one of these cards, pay close attention to the direction because you need a Right Angle card. I did purchase a 3 slot with cables but with my motherboard I can only use two slots so it'll be a good spare. Almost forgot, I have to make a couple of small adjustments to the riser card chassis but that won't be hard either.

I have 6 bad power supplies that I will start repairing later. Several let their magic smoke out and a couple lost one of the voltages. I have 1 good one left in a Z565 that I'm praying will last another week. I have ordered 2 "Replacement Power Supply for DPS-160QB HP Pavilion Slimline SFF P/N 5188-7520" that are rated at 350 watts for $24 each. They are smaller than the originals, will fit into the original position, but will need the long 8 pin harness added (there goes another hour). I think it will be enough power. I'll be adding wires and testing once they arrive in a few days. I'll take pictures and post the results later.

One last thing. There are PSU's available on Ebay for the Z5XX DEC's. These are old stock units and don't last long. I purchased 4 and was able to get replacements for 2 of them but they were very bothered by my second claim. The two replacements have since failed. It's very possible the capacitors are failing simply due to age.
GT-Charlie is offline  
 
Old 08-26-2016, 09:09 AM
Member
 
Hazardsneon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Nice finds!

I've wondered is there was a different PSU that would fit in the original location. I will be placing one of those on my short list. Looking forward to seeing your work.

I like the riser card. I will be keeping my eye on that too. According to many people in a forum post, WMC in Windows 7 supports 4 analog tuners and 4 digital tuners. Since my current MOBO doesn't have 3 PCI slots, I've never actually had all three of my tuner cards hooked up. When I get a chance to switch to my new MOBO, I will let you know how it turns out.
Hazardsneon is offline  
Old 09-10-2016, 07:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

I just managed to fit my new MOBO into my HP Entertainment Center. However the only problem I have is that the power led is always on regardless the power state of the computer.

If I switch the polarity of the power led, the color of the led turns Orange.

I tested the MOBO with a LED, it works normally.

Have you guys managed to solve this problem?

Thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazardsneon View Post
Nice finds!

I've wondered is there was a different PSU that would fit in the original location. I will be placing one of those on my short list. Looking forward to seeing your work.

I like the riser card. I will be keeping my eye on that too. According to many people in a forum post, WMC in Windows 7 supports 4 analog tuners and 4 digital tuners. Since my current MOBO doesn't have 3 PCI slots, I've never actually had all three of my tuner cards hooked up. When I get a chance to switch to my new MOBO, I will let you know how it turns out.
Keith1234 is offline  
Old 09-10-2016, 07:20 PM
Member
 
Hazardsneon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My power LED works properly. It is blue when active and orange when asleep. I'm not sure why yours would act differently.
Hazardsneon is offline  
Old 10-13-2016, 03:31 PM
Member
 
-Alpha-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just checking back in to see if anyone ever got Win 10 to work on a Z565....

I really got serious about it the other day and DID get Win10 to install.

What I did to make that happen is I removed all but 2GB of RAM, removed the Riser (and the cards on it) then booted the machine to 8.1. From there, I ran an upgrade from the installation media (on usb). The process worked and about 40 minutes later, I had a Windows 10 32 bit *sorta* system.

I then added the RAM back and all was well. I added the riser back and we were still working. Unfortunately, I could not get the drivers to work for my AMD 6450 video card. There is a message that the system BIOS does not provide enough information to configure the card (error 35). I tried forcing it and ended up with an unbootable system.

I then removed the ram and riser and was able to get back into Windows. I added the other hardware back and all was fine. I ran the clean uninstall from AMD to try from scratch. That killed everything again. On reboot, it hung at the blue logo.

I had to replace the video card with an old 4550. It installed as the default Windows Basic Video. It would not take the AMD drivers either and had the same error about the BIOS (Seriously??).

I then began putting all the hardware back again (including the 6450). Currently everything is in, the system is booting and everything works - excluding the AMD video....but that's a pretty important thing.

I'm thinking about trying an Nvidia card to see if we can clear the last hurdle...but I'm not sure. There's still the option to go back to 8.1 where it worked fine in every way. I just prefer Windows 10 and wanted to have all my devices upgraded.

Any ideas what I'm missing? I think I got a long way towards success....but I don't have much hair left to pull out. LOL

Last edited by -Alpha-; 10-14-2016 at 12:39 AM.
-Alpha- is offline  
Old 10-14-2016, 03:01 AM
Member
 
-Alpha-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Windows 10 on Z565

Resolved! (VICTORY!!!)

I now have Windows 10 working GREAT on my z565. I replaced the AMD video card with a low profile Nvidia (EVGA) GT 730 card......and instantly all the weird issues I was having vanished. The system now has all the hardware and memory (4GB) installed, has the video working at 1080p and everything appears to be running perfectly. The performance is very strong - even the blu rays are working well. The sound is good. I don't have a single complaint at this point.

Considering how well the 6450 worked in Windows 8.1, I really didn't think that was the issue - but for me it clearly was.

I am really pleased I got this working and hope some of the time, effort and hair pulling I went through will help someone else. If you have any questions, let me know....
-Alpha- is offline  
Old 10-19-2016, 10:59 AM
Member
 
-Alpha-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not so fast. It worked perfectly for a couple of days and I was really enjoying the result. Last night, the system rebooted (updates?) and now - hung at the blue logo and won't start.

I'm not going to pull it apart constantly to get it to run. I don't understand why it will work for a while then fail....but I've put far more time into this than I should have. I think tonight I'll roll it back to Windows 8.1 and just live with it. I gave it the college try.

Good luck to the rest of you....will keep an eye on this thread in case someone finds the double secret handshake that resolves this.
-Alpha- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off