Looking for a 23 or 26" LCD TV that can handle 1:1 pixel mapping over DVI or HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-12-2007, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
yankees17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have suggestions for a 26" (or 23") LCD TV that I can hook up to a HTPC via DVI or HDMI. The majority of tv's with HDMI or DVI will not accept a 1:1 pixel perfect PC resolution over these inputs, so I am stuggling to find one that will, preferably a budget LCD.

I would just use VGA because that is easier, but this TV may be hooked up to a cable card PC at some point down the road, so I need to have the HDCP handshake that is not available via VGA.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!
yankees17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-12-2007, 02:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Since you are going to use a PC to drive the display you may be better off getting a Widescreen PC monitor then a HDTV since then you are far more likely to be able to have true 1:1 mapping between your desktop and the native resolution of the monitor over HDMI/DVI.
I believe that some Sharp HDTVs have a one to one mode display mode over HDMI you would have to check the user's manuals on their Website for the models that you are interested in.
walford is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-12-2007, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dj4monie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Gateway FPD2485W works great, its what I have. Its gotten good reviews overall and I haven't had one problem with it.

It has 1:1 over DVI (1900x1200)

A. Thomas -
GSN: djfourmoney
'03 SRT-4 12.74@106 in the 1/4
PSN - DJFourMoney
dj4monie is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 12-12-2007, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
yankees17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only problem with using a PC monitor (like the gateway) is that until there is a PC to hook up to it, its no use right? This monitor is actually a gift for my brother and he would like to use it hooked up to his digital cable stb until he has gets the htpc. I dont know how nice a cable box would play with a PC monitor.....
yankees17 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-12-2007, 04:44 PM
Member
 
Myk3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
will he be using the tv / monitor on HD cable? if so most of them use a HDMI output and he can just get a HDMI > DVI cable.. This will not allow the audio to the monitor but the cable boxes useually have more than one audio output
Myk3 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-12-2007, 05:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
yankees17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think trying to use a PC monitor hooked directly to stb is a can of worms I dont want to open. I would imaginbe the scalers that are put into PC monitors are not very sophisticated seeing as a PC would be doing all the scaling. I could be wrong though.....
yankees17 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 12-13-2007, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
yankees17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there anyone else using a small LCD TV hooked up to their HTPC via HDMI or DVI?
yankees17 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off