TheaterTek advantages - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 01-02-2008, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
L33Tz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are some of the advantages (if any) of using TheaterTek for playback in MyMovies over the VMC player with the Nvidia PureVideo Decoder?
L33Tz06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 01-02-2008, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
gshipley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by L33Tz06 View Post

What are some of the advantages (if any) of using TheaterTek for playback in MyMovies over the VMC player with the Nvidia PureVideo Decoder?

I am interested in this as well. I purchased a copy of TheaterTek and have been disappointed with it to the point of uninstalling it. It did play DVDs fantastic and lived up to all the hype it has received but I also watch a lot of mkv files. The mkv files would play great but theaterTek would lock up if I hit the skip buttons.

Follw.IT HTPC Social Integration
http://www.follw.it
gshipley is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 01-02-2008, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Richard_P_Harvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Deep in the woods of Charlton, MA
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone notice that theatertek.com is off the air today......?

Hopelessly addicted to HDTV and lost deep in the woods of Charlton, MA - Rich
rharvey@at-com.com
Richard_P_Harvey is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 01-02-2008, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
huskerpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gshipley View Post

I am interested in this as well. I purchased a copy of TheaterTek and have been disappointed with it to the point of uninstalling it. It did play DVDs fantastic and lived up to all the hype it has received but I also watch a lot of mkv files. The mkv files would play great but theaterTek would lock up if I hit the skip buttons.


I have no trouble with mkv files. change the extension to avi and they work fine. Rather than the skip buttons, I tend to press down and then left or right to go forward or back. That seems to work much better than fast forward or rewind.

Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid. - John Wayne
huskerpat is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 01-02-2008, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
L33Tz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard_P_Harvey View Post

Anyone notice that theatertek.com is off the air today......?

Its up now and was up earlier for me.
L33Tz06 is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 01-02-2008, 07:22 PM
Newbie
 
joebergquist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Theatertek.com is not working for me using IE 7, but it is working with Firefox.
joebergquist is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 01-02-2008, 07:58 PM
Member
 
mikeaymar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Theatertek is pretty awesome if you want a solid, and controllable, DVD player. However, they haven't yet committed, at least publicly, to playing HD DVD or Bluray, which pretty much leaves them wanting IMO.
The only options right now for playing HD stuff are PowerDVD, which is less than marginal, and Arcsoft, which is available right now only in a Japanese version.....
So, we are caught in the middle for the time being, without a Theatertek level solution that plays DVD, HD DVD, and Bluray material. Some folks are using Theatertek for DVD, and PowerDVD only for HD, but IMO, if you have to use PowerDVD at all, and train the family to use it with it's warts, you might as well just use PowerDVD for everything...
Anyway, my extremely frustrated 2 cents...
Mike
mikeaymar is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 01-02-2008, 08:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Phil Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Port Angeles, Washington
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's a great program for DVD's but the lack of HD support is a real downer. My guess is that they will fade away since they refuse go give even a hint about any HD upgrade.

That's sad since it has so many great features.
Phil Olson is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 01-02-2008, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Somewhatlost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: some small blue-green planet thingy...
Posts: 1,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
TheaterTek works wonderfully for me, well for regular old DVD's...
it is also TCP controllable so it works wonderfully with automation control... try that with win/powerDVD...

as far as HD support goes, Andrew has hinted here and there that when either of the formats actually catch on, that he will look into supporting it/them... but right now, despite the perception of your average AVS'er, there is a higher chance of BluRay/HDDVD going the way of SACD/DVDA then actually making any real dent in the marketplace... yes I know there are still plenty of die hard SACD/DVDA lovers on AVS, but ask some random person on the street and see if they even heard of either SACD/DVDA... HDDVD/BR have much better marketing, but still how many avarage people have actually bought into one format or another? after all, there are only 2 software players out, how long have the HD formats been available... plus, how long before they actually launched did people know about them?

oddly enough, if Andrew (Theatertek) supported one or both of the HD formats directly, I think that would go a long way into move them out of the niche market they are currently languishing in... well it would help at least...

NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Somewhatlost is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 01-03-2008, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
gshipley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskerpat View Post

I have no trouble with mkv files. change the extension to avi and they work fine. Rather than the skip buttons, I tend to press down and then left or right to go forward or back. That seems to work much better than fast forward or rewind.


What do you mean by pressing down? I am using a harmony 1000 remote. Will this method work for DVDs as well. The problem I have is not remember is the video I am watching is a dvd or mkv file. When I go to skip in a dvd it works fine but if I forget its actually a mkv, it locks up.

Follw.IT HTPC Social Integration
http://www.follw.it
gshipley is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 01-03-2008, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
L33Tz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Somewhatlost View Post

it is also TCP controllable so it works wonderfully with automation control... try that with win/powerDVD...

Thanks, thats what I was looking for.
L33Tz06 is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 01-04-2008, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
huskerpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gshipley View Post

What do you mean by pressing down? I am using a harmony 1000 remote. Will this method work for DVDs as well. The problem I have is not remember is the video I am watching is a dvd or mkv file. When I go to skip in a dvd it works fine but if I forget its actually a mkv, it locks up.

I've got a Harmony 880... On the directional keys, I press down. It shows the movie's timeline. with this on the screen, you should be able to press left or right on the directional pad to go forward and back. pressing down again should clear the timeline display from the screen. Works for both dvd's and mkv's that I change the extension to avi.

Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid. - John Wayne
huskerpat is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 02-04-2008, 07:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
lsdavinci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeaymar View Post

Some folks are using Theatertek for DVD, and PowerDVD only for HD, but IMO, if you have to use PowerDVD at all, and train the family to use it with it's warts, you might as well just use PowerDVD for everything...

I just tried that the other day and found PDVD plays DVDs not so well. I don't know if my vision is now spoiled due to HD but DVDs really look bad and out of focus. Do you think PowerDVD's PQ for DVDs is as good as Theatertek? I would be using Vista and an 8600GT card.
lsdavinci is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 02-04-2008, 03:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
audionewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i was wondeirng can TheaterTek play HD-DVD/Blu-Ray DVD? or not?
audionewer is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 02-04-2008, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
jspielmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, it can only handle standard DVD's. PowerDVD can handle HD material.
jspielmann is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 02-04-2008, 07:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
genro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what gives a better picture quality: Vista MCE + EVR, or TT + whatever encoder supporting hardware decoding (does it work with EVR?). So assume no ffdshow post-processing basically.

I recently upgraded to Vista so its just not clear to me if there is as much benefit with TT as there was in MCE2005 (which had a horribly soft picture which seems better in Vista).

Thanks
genro is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 02-04-2008, 08:41 PM
Senior Member
 
voranand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by genro View Post

So what gives a better picture quality: Vista MCE + EVR, or TT + whatever encoder supporting hardware decoding (does it work with EVR?). So assume no ffdshow post-processing basically.

I recently upgraded to Vista so its just not clear to me if there is as much benefit with TT as there was in MCE2005 (which had a horribly soft picture which seems better in Vista).

Thanks

TT 2.6 works nicely with Vista & EVR. I have never compare Vista MC & TT because I was spoiled by how good TT & FFDshow is. The best picture & the easiest control from DVD out there IMO.
voranand is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off