1080 desktop resolution - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-09-2008, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
homepc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to set my resolution on my desktop to 1080. I use this computer to watch DVD and pictures. But I would also like to use it for some internet. With this resolution, evything is WAY SMALL of course!! Is there any way I can keep my 1080 resolution and just "Enlarge" all the windows elements such as text, icons, title bars, etc.

I have played with the appearance settings and have it at least readable, but that doesn't help with the internet text. I do have internet explorer set to the largest text, but it still isn't big enough. I thought maybe there might be some utility that would enlarge everything? No?

Thanks
Ray
homepc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-09-2008, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I believe Safari does that. Also, Firefox (maybe IE too) hold down ctrl and try your mouse scroll down- this will enlarge text in your browser.
fitbrit is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-09-2008, 01:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Justmtnb44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you use Mozilla Firefox as your web browser, you can hold Ctrl + mouse wheel to change the size of the text on web pages.
Justmtnb44 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-09-2008, 02:13 PM
Member
 
craysv1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
set your dpi higher
craysv1 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-09-2008, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bjmarchini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
get a bigger screen. I can read 1080 no problem at 92"

HD DVD: 45 SD DVD: 350 BR: 120
PCs: 12, Mame Arcade:1, HD HTPC: 1, WHS Server: 1, HD A3: 2, HD-A30: 1

bjmarchini is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-09-2008, 02:19 PM
Senior Member
 
sgriffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Opera works fine with multiple levels of zoom!
sgriffin is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-09-2008, 07:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
homepc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firefox and DPI works great!! THanks!!
homepc is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off