Can I hook up my old rabbit ears to my Digital tv tuner for a signal? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-30-2008, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bjmarchini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get analog channels ok on my tv which uses rabbit ears. I have a kworld tuner that I am installing with a digital in for OTA broadcast. Can I just use my old analog rabbit ears or do I need a special antenna. I live in an apartment so I can't go nuts with an big antenna

HD DVD: 45 SD DVD: 350 BR: 120
PCs: 12, Mame Arcade:1, HD HTPC: 1, WHS Server: 1, HD A3: 2, HD-A30: 1

bjmarchini is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-30-2008, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Zagor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes. You can use your old rabbit ears as long as you are within range of the transmitter towers. The carrier waves are still analog. Their payload is what has changed.
Zagor is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-30-2008, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Yes and no.

Most digital channels are in the UHF range (or is it the VHF, I always get those two mixed up.) Anyway, most digital channels are broadcast in the range that is received with the "Bow Tie" antenna that clips onto your "Rabbit Ears". But overall, you are correct, there is nothing fundimentally different from the traditional antenna that has been bringing broadcast signals into households for many years.

Go to Antennaweb.org to see what digital channels are broadcast in which band for your area, then you will know what you can get in each area.

The silly badging on new antennas that say "digital antenna" or "designed for digital TVs" etc. etc. is just marketing busywork to help reinforce the lies that the Best Buy goones tell you when they say you need a new antenna.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-30-2008, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
AMEN -- RF doesn't know what promotional language was on the packaging. Old fashioned antennas are making a comeback with ATSC -- especially since cable & sat carriers don't want to give up ALL the bandwidth available in ATSC. Of course, they've learded to down-sample the quality of the digital pic before they send it to you... OTA is free, provides the best possible image, and potentially an array of sub-channels that alternate systems will often strip out.

The only caviot is if you really ARE using an OLD antenna, be sure it's in good shape, the connections and cable are not deteriorated.
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-30-2008, 05:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bjmarchini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was reading one post where the guy claimed the antenna he bought was two powerful and he had to aim it at the ground create less signal strength to get a pitcure.

HD DVD: 45 SD DVD: 350 BR: 120
PCs: 12, Mame Arcade:1, HD HTPC: 1, WHS Server: 1, HD A3: 2, HD-A30: 1

bjmarchini is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-30-2008, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rupert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 2,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjmarchini View Post

I was reading one post where the guy claimed the antenna he bought was two powerful and he had to aim it at the ground create less signal strength to get a pitcure.

Thats interesting. Most have to put a UHF antenna in the attic or on the roof.
Rupert is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-30-2008, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
 
thecodeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most antennas are UHF/VHF. Most HDTV channels are in UHF, and some in VHF. As long as you have the digital tuner in your TV, you can hook it up and it will tune in the new HD channels.

I spent $50 at Radio Shack and got one of the big metal outdoor jobbers and mounted it in my attic
thecodeman is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off