Is it worth upgrading to Windows Vista yet? - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: What do you plan on doing for an OS?
I have upgrade to Vista 0 0%
I am planning on upgrading to Vista 0 0%
I upgraded to Vista then came back to XP 0 0%
I won't be giving up on XP unitl the pry it from my cold dead fingers 0 0%
I said to heck with Windows and went with an alternate OS 0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 01-30-2008, 05:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bjmarchini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Windows Vista has been out for some time now. I don't remember the reservation to upgrading to the new OS when XP was introduced being as great as it is towards vista.

The question that I am many other wonder is if it is worth it to upgrade to Vista if you already have a stable XP home/pro SP2 running (or MCE 2005). I think it is a little different when building a new system from scratch where you have no operating system. It is a choice of which one. When you already have a running OS, it is a much more difficult decision to upgrade.

At first there was a problems with getting hardware to run on XP. Ram prices have been dropping quite a bit over the last year and some newer hardware, such as the Nvidia 8xxx series, seem to not be fully functional under xp (video decoding). On the other hand, many legacy devices are still not compatible.

There is also the question of how much more in the way of features you are getting by spending 100+ on the upgrade.

HD DVD: 45 SD DVD: 350 BR: 120
PCs: 12, Mame Arcade:1, HD HTPC: 1, WHS Server: 1, HD A3: 2, HD-A30: 1

bjmarchini is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bjmarchini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you are staying with XP, what are your reasons?

HD DVD: 45 SD DVD: 350 BR: 120
PCs: 12, Mame Arcade:1, HD HTPC: 1, WHS Server: 1, HD A3: 2, HD-A30: 1

bjmarchini is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 07:30 AM
tsb
AVS Special Member
 
tsb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you'd have to pay me not to use vista x64 ultimate
tsb is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjmarchini View Post

If you are staying with XP, what are your reasons?

If it ain't broke then don't fix it! There is nothing I can't do in XP. I tried Vista for a few days and I couldn't find out where any of the settings are now and it was slower. I just don't see any benefit to Vista yet.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 07:54 AM
Member
 
philljp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are no real reason you need Vista. Although I have upgraded my HTPC to Vista to see how it would perform. Other than cosmetic differences, I have mainly noticed the power management to be improved.
philljp is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 08:54 AM
Member
 
schmidtdarren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't see a reason for myself to go to Vista either (but I tried). I think that my machine is more stable with XP. Plus, I was having audio issues with Vista that I could not seem to sort out. I was using the Vista x64 Ultimate and I would require payment at this time to go back. As well, it was slower on my system.

No Micro$oft OS is flawless, but XP is mature, and pretty stable, at this point... I'm not running blu-ray/HDDVD yet, but from my understanding this can be done in XP anyway. I play mostly H.264 HD movies at 1080p/720p using a 8500GT and AMD x2 3800+ at 2.4Ghz.

My OS needs for an HTPC:
1. Picture and sound quality (no stuttering, proper surround)
2. Stability
3. Ease of use/Maintainability/Manageability (MCE remote, Media software - MCE/Mediaportal, know what is where and how to do things)

Bottom line, if you have XP running properly on an HTPC, why change?

Darren
schmidtdarren is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,394
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 99
You couldn't pay me to go back to XP. All of my Media Centers are Vista at this point, and our product design is for Vista as well. We will not be selling any XP based Media Centers.
kapone is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eddy_winds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You'd have to pay me not to use XP Pro.

My mom works for Sony, and she brought home a copy of "Starhawk BETA"
I quickly slipped it into my trusty PS3, and started playing.


GOOZEX Game/Movie Exchange
eddy_winds is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 12:24 PM
Member
 
IMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Honestly I don't think it matters much. Both OS' have their issues. I run both.

If support for an app that you consider your killer app is better in one vs. the other than I'd make the choice based on that. If you want to upgrade to VMC and haven't already... why not wait for Fiji? Unless you're looking for something to fill your free time.
IMind is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 02:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
ams123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I did not upgrade but am now using it since I bought new hardware for my HPTC and put the old stuff in the home office computer. Figured I would buy Vista since I had to buy something. That is pretty much the advice I give. If you need to buy a OS get Vista, why buy something soon to be out of date, but if you have XP now there is now reason to upgrade.
ams123 is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have used MCE2005 and Vista, to me VMC is vastly superior to MCE2005.
I am not sold on using Vista for my main workstation, but it is vital for my media center. Especially when MyMovies 3.0 comes and won't work with MCE2005
davdev is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
hellokeith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would only suggest upgrading to Vista if you have a Core 2 Duo, 2GB ram, and SATA hard drive.

I really like Vista but it runs a tad too slow on my old P4 machine.
hellokeith is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellokeith View Post

I would only suggest upgrading to Vista if you have a Core 2 Duo, 2GB ram, and SATA hard drive.

I really like Vista but it runs a tad too slow on my old P4 machine.

Maybe for full OS use, but not needed for media center, unless you need HD as well. I have a 2.6 GHz P4 with 1 GB of PC2700 and a Raedeon 9250 PCI card and it works fine. I play DVD's, XVID, MP3's all fine with this. I plan on upgrading as I want Blu-Ray, but for just basic playback you don't need a high end system
davdev is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 04:02 PM
Member
 
dazzo17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Posted By kapone
You couldn't pay me to go back to XP. All of my Media Centers are Vista at this point, and our product design is for Vista as well. We will not be selling any XP based Media Centers.

I built a new HTPC Q6600, MSI 2600xt, Silverstone LC17, Gigabyte p35 dsr board and corsair520 power supply and 2gb kingston ram kit and vista home premium just would not complet installation under any curcumstance I tried eerything I could find on forums etc but no luck yet xp runs rock stable on the system. Vista installed on an old pentium d820 no problem so I have given up on vista for the moment.
dazzo17 is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 07:29 PM
Member
 
Zmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The main advantage (and really only reason) for me on upgrading to Vista from XP was in WMP11. I have a fairly large (80,000) mp3 collection that would choke in XP with WMP11 or itunes. In Vista, it runs fairly smooth, much faster browsing through my library. The anticipated database for WMP is much faster in Vista.

Other than that, have had the usual headaches w/ video playback and audio drivers. One of my Vista systems runs great, the other (running Media Center for my TV and streaming DVD's) got lots of stuttering streaming DVD's recently and I'm now back to clean install, etc, after trying various troubleshooting methods.

Thus, if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Zmaniac is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jesse S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 3,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vista is worthless in it's current state.
Jesse S is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 01-31-2008, 11:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
ZenerDiode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Milpitas, CA, US
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse S View Post

Vista is worthless in it's current state.

ZenerDiode is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 02-01-2008, 12:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
lstepnio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampa, Florida USA
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vista is nice; on omeone elses PC.
lstepnio is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 02-01-2008, 06:47 PM
dj9
Advanced Member
 
dj9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ran Vista (starting around RC1 or RC2) on my Pentium M 2.0 (later 2.13, later overclocked to 2.4 GHz) HTPC. For HTPC use, it performed better than Linux.
dj9 is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 02-01-2008, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 2,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
All new computers I build in the future will be Vista. But all current PC's in the house that run XP will stay on XP. Vista runs great on my X2 4400 and Q6700, but would be slow as molasses on the P4 and 3400.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off