Connecting ReplayTV With Wireless Internet and No Cable/DSL Modem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 06-04-2008, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
apocalypse_yao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone, I couldn't find my question in the ReplayTV FAQ. My apartment building has wireless internet installed, so I don't get my internet via phone modem, cable or DSL. Is there a way for my ReplayTV to connect to the Replay network by using an ethernet cable to connect with my computer? I'm not sure how else the ReplayTV can access the wireless internet connection. Thanks!
apocalypse_yao is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 06-04-2008, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dstoffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by apocalypse_yao View Post

Hey everyone, I couldn't find my question in the ReplayTV FAQ. My apartment building has wireless internet installed, so I don't get my internet via phone modem, cable or DSL. Is there a way for my ReplayTV to connect to the Replay network by using an ethernet cable to connect with my computer? I'm not sure how else the ReplayTV can access the wireless internet connection. Thanks!

1. You'll have to leave the laptop / computer on.
2. You'll need a Cross-over Ethernet Cable.
3. You'll need to assign an IP Address to your PC (for the Ethernet LAN Card Only).
4. You'll have to configure your wireless adapter on your laptop / computer to share its Internet Connection.

I leave it to others how to configure the RTV. At a minimum, you'd have to put it on the same subnet as your PC's Ethernet Card. I also guess that you'd have to manually configure the RTV to use your PC as its gateway. Not really sure how hard or difficult it is.

I leave that to others.

In a nutshell, it's possible.

Cheers!
-Doug
dstoffa is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 06-04-2008, 04:00 PM
Member
 
elorimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wouldn't it be simpler to use a gaming adapter or wireless bridge?
elorimer is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off