Original ReplayTV hard drive not recognized - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2008, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jawgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NH
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, if someone is able to help me recover my mother-in-law's Replay shows, she'll be very happy. She may even seek you out and give you a kiss or two!

My MIL's 5516 experienced the dreaded "Please Wait..." coma and I've been asked to help since I know a thing or two about them thar PeeCees. I referenced the handful of helpful Replay TV sites (Planet Replay, ReplayTV Upgrades, Replay FAQs, etc.) and attempted to grab the TV shows off of the Replay drive, if at all possible. Here's what I did to reach this point of desperation:

- I attached the drive to my test XP machine to the Master channel of the Secondary IDE; drive sounds like it booted, no grinds or clicks to wince at

- Ran the latest extract_rtv5.exe (v75), but it did not find a ReplayTV drive

- Peeked into Windows Disk Management utility to see if the drive was hooked up...yep, it's listed as "Disk 2, Basic, 152.66GB, Online, Unallocated"

- Googled around and said, "Son of ..." after I discovered that the above step was highly unrecommended.

- Ran RTVPatch_2.5.3 and saw that the drive was listed, but with a yellow exclamation point and the discouraging words, "NOT a ReplayTV Disk".

- Found a post on the AVS archive that describes a painful, gut-wrenching, LINUX-lingo-laden process to repair the Replay partition if the above takes place.

Is there any way to fix the Replay drive WITHOUT having to resort to using LINUX?? I have zero experience with LINUX and don't really feel like experimenting with at this point, but, if it's the only choice...

So, is there any hope with a Windows based solution here or is LINUX the only way to go?

Thanks,
jawgee
jawgee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-30-2008, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Crunchy Doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While you're waiting for a real answer, please keep in mind two things. First, it's only television and secondly, there is always poopli.

Bye.
Crunchy Doodle is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jawgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NH
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crunchy Doodle View Post

While you're waiting for a real answer, please keep in mind two things. First, it's only television and secondly, there is always poopli.

Bye.

Try telling that to my mother-in-law! I can see the tears streaming already as there was lots of stuff that she just kind of recorded on the fly...Clay Aiken singing on Good Morning America, local news coverage on Extreme Home Makeover, etc.

She never used Poopli, so maybe that along with a larger hard drive will appease her while I learn LINUX.

Thanks,
jawgee
jawgee is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jawgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NH
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an update...I was able to get my MIL's RTV up and running with a used 250GB Maxtor 7200rpm drive. I'm still looking for a Windows solution to recover her old shows from the original RTV drive, although she didn't seem as sad about losing the shows as I was expecting her to be.

Thanks,
jawgee
jawgee is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adone36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 28
And Replay is not Linux.

Tony
adone36 is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Tirebiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Rocky Point, NY, USA
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorta on topic. Staples is selling the Maxtor L01R300 drive for $40. I've searched the forum about this drive, but didn't see any specific compatibility confirmations. I'd stock up on a few of these for future maintenance if they'll work in RTV 50xx units. Does anybody know for sure? Thanks...

http://www.staples.com/office/suppli...tNumber=583700
Tirebiter is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Horsham, PA, USA
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tirebiter View Post

Sorta on topic. Staples is selling the Maxtor L01R300 drive for $40. I've searched the forum about this drive, but didn't see any specific compatibility confirmations. I'd stock up on a few of these for future maintenance if they'll work in RTV 50xx units. Does anybody know for sure? Thanks...

http://www.staples.com/office/suppli...tNumber=583700

There have been many reports of problems with drives that have a 16mb cache. I don't know if that is the case with this one but I wouldn't purchase more than one until I was sure that it would work.
Murphy is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off