ReplayTV 5500 - Restarts on Connection - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2009, 10:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bdemilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Wondering if anyone has seen this before.

In early Jan 09, my ReplayTV 5500 started to restart upon connecting.

I used 243 Zones to get the Net Connect option, and also the standard Connect option in the Setup menu.

When using the Connect option in Setup it gets to:
Transferring additional information...
Then restarts the ReplayTV.

Any help appreciated.
bdemilli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2009, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bdemilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called the ReplayTV tech support line and told them the problem. The tech support person did not seem particularly "techy" to tell you the truth, but she assured me that if the machine was restarting, it had to be a bad hard drive.

I kept asking her if refreshing the partition or setting back to factory defaults might do something. She reluctantly said I might try that but kept repeating that a new HD would solve the problem.

Apparently, that is a little over $125 and about 5-week wait for that to be returned. Geez!

I thought I'd poke around in the 2-4-3 zones menus to see if I could do anything with that before I sent it in.

The refresh partition told me that it didn't need to be refreshed, but the Clear Channel Guide did just that.

I went to Net Connect after that and IT WORKED!!!!

Ha! I got the feeling that tech support person was just giving the easiest answer she could without thinking. (Probably about to take a coffee break)

Anyway, don't send in your HD before you try to reset to factory defaults or go through all the menus and try different things. Your HD might just be fine.

Back to my beloved ReplayTV!!!!
bdemilli is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Horsham, PA, USA
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You don't need to send it in at all. It is trivial to replace a hard drive yourself.
Murphy is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
zabolots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Windy City
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdemilli View Post

Hi,

Wondering if anyone has seen this before.

In early Jan 09, my ReplayTV 5500 started to restart upon connecting.

I used 243 Zones to get the Net Connect option, and also the standard Connect option in the Setup menu.

When using the Connect option in Setup it gets to:
Transferring additional information...
Then restarts the ReplayTV.

Any help appreciated.


I've seen that if I manually connect (either 243-Zones or from the Setup menu). If I leave it alone to connect automatically it doesn't appear to happen. Also, in my case, if I manually connect and it reboots, doing a manual connect immediately after it comes back up will work for me. If it also works for you, I think it's a software issue and not a drive issue.

Scott
zabolots is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 07:08 PM
Newbie
 
SteveL54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The channel guide was empty and had been that way for some time. Shows were no longer being recorded. The family was apprehensive. We could play back older recorded shows.

When I attempted to connect, the box would reboot a short time into the connect attempt. I think it was at the start of retrieving channel information.

Anyway, clearing the channel guide worked and it's able to reconnect and repopulate the channel guide.

So my whole family thanks you bdemilli!

I wonder what the root cause of this could be. If it is a symptom of a hard drive starting to fail we'll probably see it again.

Thanks again,
Steve
SteveL54 is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 03:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adone36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 28
It is a corrupted channel guide and is quite common. A simple search here would have given the fix. It is useless to call DNNA with anything but billing questions.

Tony
adone36 is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 02:58 PM
Member
 
rickbrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thats odd. I just had the same reboot problem on a 5060. I did not try clearing the channel guide. I just took out the drive and reformated and put the image back on and everything is fine. I think a network hiccup scrambled the channel guide, maybe during the update connection. Who knows?

rickbrice
rickbrice is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdonzis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickbrice View Post

thats odd. I just had the same reboot problem on a 5060. I did not try clearing the channel guide. I just took out the drive and reformated and put the image back on and everything is fine. I think a network hiccup scrambled the channel guide, maybe during the update connection. Who knows?

Re-imaging the drive is a more radical approach than just clearing the channel guide, but it basically accomplishes the same thing. So would peforming a factory reset. If the problem is in the channel guide data, clearing the channel guide would be the least radical approach to fixing it. Re-imaging the drive would be the most radical approach to fixing it by accomplishing the same thing...

Henry
hdonzis is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 06:31 AM
Member
 
rickbrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Different hard drive. Same problem on the 5060.
Days go buy with no updates (26th to the 31st), but no message about failed updates.
No messages on the 3000's either. Could THEY have changed the updates program?

rickbrice
rickbrice is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adone36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 28
No

Tony
adone36 is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 10:10 AM
Member
 
rickbrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could there be something new in the Guide download causing this reboot phenomenon?

I have four replays and they are NOT broken. Something is going on!

rickbrice
rickbrice is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off