How to get 1 replaytv out of 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 08-16-2010, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
elorimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have three replaytvs in various stages of inoperability:

5040, monthly, which I cancelled, soldered EEPROM, otherwise ok
5040, lifetime, ethernet port zapped by lightning, socketed EEPROM
4500, IR blaster port doesn't work, and cable requires a set top box

I'd like to get one working again without restarting the monthly subscription. I'm not up to unsoldering the EEPROM chip in the monthly and resoldering the lifetime.

I was thinking of getting a monthly 5040 on ebay, but I haven't been able to figure out how to know if any given one would have a socketed EEPROM. A montly 4500 would be easy, but they seem rare.

Advice?
elorimer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 08-16-2010, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdonzis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would definitely contact Mikeyboy! You would have several possibilities with him. He could repair your broken 5040 lifetime, he could sell you a replacement 50xx motherboard transferred from the lifetime, and he could either fix or sell you a 45xx motherboard. If you contact him, maybe you can work something out to trade him your 5040 monthly for some of this, or maybe he could move your lifetime EEPROM to the monthly unit...

Henry
hdonzis is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-16-2010, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dstoffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by elorimer View Post

I was thinking of getting a monthly 5040 on ebay, but I haven't been able to figure out how to know if any given one would have a socketed EEPROM. A montly 4500 would be easy, but they seem rare.

Advice?

You don't need to open the case to determine if the eeprom is soldered or socketed. If you know what you are looking at, you can look at the chip through the vents on the RTV's left hand side (when facing the front panel).

You'd have to ask the seller to check.... And that is where the problem lay.
dstoffa is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-16-2010, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dstoffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by elorimer View Post

I have three replaytvs in various stages of inoperability:

5040, monthly, which I cancelled, soldered EEPROM, otherwise ok
5040, lifetime, ethernet port zapped by lightning, socketed EEPROM
4500, IR blaster port doesn't work, and cable requires a set top box

I'd like to get one working again without restarting the monthly subscription. I'm not up to unsoldering the EEPROM chip in the monthly and resoldering the lifetime.

Advice?

Use the modem on the lifetime unit?
dstoffa is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-17-2010, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
elorimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstoffa View Post


You'd have to ask the seller to check.... And that is where the problem lay.

Yes, exactly. I sent a question about whether one unit was monthly or lifetime, and the response I got back was "Well, it still has the warranty sticker on the back, so the lifetime subscription must be in there". Still trying to figure that one out.
elorimer is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-18-2010, 08:27 AM
Member
 
Ed_Gein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh man! I might have to make that my new signature!
Ed_Gein is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-19-2010, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
gbuskirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Maple Grove, MN, USA
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see from this link, that the 4500 box had it's ethernet interface on a PCI card. If your 5040's also do, how about swapping the ethernet cards on the two 5040's?

The Other Glenn
gbuskirk is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-19-2010, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dstoffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbuskirk View Post

I see from this link, that the 4500 box had it's ethernet interface on a PCI card. If your 5040's also do, how about swapping the ethernet cards on the two 5040's?

5000 series and 5500 series RTV's have ethernet ports integrated with the motherboard. Hot work is required for repair.

Cheers!
-Doug
dstoffa is online now  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off