Dead CM 7000 - Page 3 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #61 of 82 Old 09-13-2013, 08:14 PM
Member
 
Whitebar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I not sure where you measured on the logic board for the 3.04 and 1.17. All the thru hole caps on the logic board are difficult to change. The internal ground plane takes a lot of heat before getting the temp high enough to melt the solder.
Part numbers for the two 33uf E5/E6 were listed here.

After repairing 60 plus units, trust me the caps are the problem.

The issue in post #8 with the domed ET1 cap on the logic board is very rare. The reason that cap failed is because it was installed backwards. In all the units I have fixed, none have had any of the caps installed backwards.
Whitebar is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 82 Old 09-22-2013, 05:49 PM
Newbie
 
sciconf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitebar View Post

I not sure where you measured on the logic board for the 3.04 and 1.17. All the thru hole caps on the logic board are difficult to change. The internal ground plane takes a lot of heat before getting the temp high enough to melt the solder.
Part numbers for the two 33uf E5/E6 were listed here.

After repairing 60 plus units, trust me the caps are the problem.

The issue in post #8 with the domed ET1 cap on the logic board is very rare. The reason that cap failed is because it was installed backwards. In all the units I have fixed, none have had any of the caps installed backwards.

Thanks @Whitebar
The 3.04 and 1.17 were from E5/E6.

A friend of mine measured my power supply voltages and ripples and says that the problem is in the logic board - he feels that the ripples are not a lot (power supply). Then again, he is not an expert on CM-7000.

Which part of MI are you? I might be coming to Troy - maybe I can bring it with me then.
sciconf is offline  
post #63 of 82 Old 09-23-2013, 03:58 AM
Member
 
Whitebar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
While it maybe just the logic board at this time, the caps on the power supply will also fail in the future, I would replace them at the same time.
I sent you a PM.
Whitebar is online now  
post #64 of 82 Old 09-27-2013, 07:30 PM
Newbie
 
sciconf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitebar View Post

The two 33uf part are the ones that need to be replaced. They are in the 1.2v switching power supply circuit. The other 470/1000 are bulk capacitors and do not get stressed.

These 470/1000 are on logic board?

Which are the caps for the 5V circuit on power supply board?

I got a insignia DTV now - it works but unsure if the CM7000 received better signal.
sciconf is offline  
post #65 of 82 Old 06-10-2014, 03:27 PM
Newbie
 
Sonshine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

How do I get Whitebar's info to possibly send my CM7000 for possible repair?

Sonshine is offline  
post #66 of 82 Old 06-10-2014, 04:44 PM
Member
 
jweinel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Greensboro, NC, USA
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sonshine, I suggest that you send him a Private Message.Looks like he was on AVS earlier today. Click near his name below his avatar in post #63 above and then click "Send PM".

----------
Jim
jweinel is online now  
post #67 of 82 Old 11-14-2014, 01:01 PM
Newbie
 
cat.lady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My CM-7000 went out after several years of faithful use. I got another and that one went out within hours! If Whitebar is still doing repairs can he PM me? I tired to send him one but there is a posting quota I didn't reach yet to qualify to send PM's to members. Thanks!
cat.lady is offline  
post #68 of 82 Old 11-15-2014, 12:24 AM
Newbie
 
Ecaroh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat.lady View Post
My CM-7000 went out after several years of faithful use. I got another and that one went out within hours! If Whitebar is still doing repairs can he PM me? I tired to send him one but there is a posting quota I didn't reach yet to qualify to send PM's to members. Thanks!
cat.lady, post here if interested. I have two of these that have had the caps upgraded (by me) and are working nicely. At this point I only need one, at the most. In other words, I can sell you one with reliable caps if that will fit the bill. Although if Whitebar is still doing these and liking it, I certainly don't want to take anything away from him.
Ecaroh is offline  
post #69 of 82 Old 11-15-2014, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
cat.lady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the offer Ecaroh. I might take you up on that, but since I have 2 units now to repair thought if Whitebar was still doing them, I can do both. Lets see if he will see these posts within the next few weeks. If you sell it in the meantime, I understand.
cat.lady is offline  
post #70 of 82 Old 11-15-2014, 10:09 AM
Member
 
Whitebar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Still here and repairing them.
I sent PMs to cat.lady and wesam101 with contact info.
cat.lady likes this.
Whitebar is online now  
post #71 of 82 Old 11-16-2014, 04:56 PM
Newbie
 
cat.lady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Replied to your message Whitebar...not sure if you got it as a notice stated I have not met my quota of posts to send out PM's. Will ship end of this week but not sure how to get you the tracking number as I don't want to post it here for privacy reasons.
cat.lady is offline  
post #72 of 82 Old 11-18-2014, 09:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitebar View Post
None of the caps on the power supply board are of good quality. Replacing a few will make it operational. It may fail at a later date due to the ones not replaced, but then again may not.<br><br>
From testing the caps in my unit, these are the one I would replace at a minimum:<br><br>
C12 - 1000ufd 10v<br>
C10 - 470ufd 16v<br>
C8 - 100ufd 25v<br>
C14 - 4.7ufd 50v<br>
C4 - 1ufd 50v<br><br>
There are 4 others in the supply that were not grossly bad.
Is anyone on this thread currently repairing the cm 7000-pal? I can't find anyone in my local area to repair mine. It is stuck on the loading page (red/white page with dots) and won't move past it. I believe it happened the night that daylight savings started (Nov 2/3 when clock were set back an hour). I have tried troubleshooting with no success. If someone on here repairs this unit for this problem, please respond as I'd like to fix it vs trashing it.
marci1111 is offline  
post #73 of 82 Old 11-18-2014, 10:21 AM
Newbie
 
cat.lady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by marci1111 View Post
Is anyone on this thread currently repairing the cm 7000-pal? I can't find anyone in my local area to repair mine. It is stuck on the loading page (red/white page with dots) and won't move past it. I believe it happened the night that daylight savings started (Nov 2/3 when clock were set back an hour). I have tried troubleshooting with no success. If someone on here repairs this unit for this problem, please respond as I'd like to fix it vs trashing it.
Marci111 in your effort of troubleshooting did you disconnect the antenna coax so you can reset your factory defaults? There are other threads in this place that might lead you to some firmware updates if there is one.
cat.lady is offline  
post #74 of 82 Old 12-26-2014, 12:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitebar View Post
Still here and repairing them.
I sent PMs to cat.lady and wesam101 with contact info.
Whitebar

Could you PM me as well - I just tried to send you a PM and had the same problem as Cat.lady - not enough posts to send you a PM. We changed 6 capacitors a couple months ago and ours worked for a couple weeks then died again. Thinking sending it to you to fix would be easier :-)

Thanks
Gail
galenaz is offline  
post #75 of 82 Old 12-26-2014, 12:57 PM
Member
 
Whitebar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by galenaz View Post
Whitebar

Could you PM me as well - I just tried to send you a PM and had the same problem as Cat.lady - not enough posts to send you a PM. We changed 6 capacitors a couple months ago and ours worked for a couple weeks then died again. Thinking sending it to you to fix would be easier :-)

Thanks
Gail
PM sent
Whitebar is online now  
post #76 of 82 Old 12-28-2014, 12:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitebar View Post
PM sent
Thanks packing up to ship out. I'll email the tracking number
galenaz is offline  
post #77 of 82 Old 01-05-2015, 06:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by galenaz View Post
Thanks packing up to ship out. I'll email the tracking number
If you need your box fixed whitebar is your man. Total time with me sending to him, him fixing and shipping back it was a total of seven days and LESS expensive than buying a new one. Also his communication was awesome. When he fixed it he emailed and let us know exactly what he had done.

So glad I found this forum and post.


Thanks everyone
SD_Shadow likes this.
galenaz is offline  
post #78 of 82 Old Yesterday, 12:39 PM
Newbie
 
2ejennings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
CM 7001 dead

@Whitebar : You fixed a couple of dead CM7000s for me some time ago, and now I have a dead CM 7001. Would you be able to fix this one for me? I have lost your contact info and the forum won't let me PM you.
2ejennings is online now  
post #79 of 82 Old Yesterday, 12:50 PM
Newbie
 
2ejennings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Forum seems to have lost my posts

My PC hard drive crashed last year and I haven't tried to post on AVS since. Now that I need to contact a member, the forum won't let me post because I don't have 6 posts under my new registration (apparently). I really don't see the need for this rule, but it is not my forum. Hopefully, Whitebar will see my request and PM me so that I can contact him.
2ejennings is online now  
post #80 of 82 Old Yesterday, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
2ejennings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Whitebar, if you see this, please PM me

Please note my previous posts
2ejennings is online now  
post #81 of 82 Unread Today, 08:35 AM
Member
 
Whitebar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2ejennings View Post
Please note my previous posts
PM sent
Whitebar is online now  
post #82 of 82 Unread Today, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
2ejennings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Newbie trying to PM

Argh! Now the forum reports that I need 15 posts to PM!! How frustrating. I have over 15 but the forum doesn't remember them because I had to re-register.
2ejennings is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off