Dead CM 7000 - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 66 Old 09-13-2013, 07:14 PM
Member
 
Whitebar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I not sure where you measured on the logic board for the 3.04 and 1.17. All the thru hole caps on the logic board are difficult to change. The internal ground plane takes a lot of heat before getting the temp high enough to melt the solder.
Part numbers for the two 33uf E5/E6 were listed here.

After repairing 60 plus units, trust me the caps are the problem.

The issue in post #8 with the domed ET1 cap on the logic board is very rare. The reason that cap failed is because it was installed backwards. In all the units I have fixed, none have had any of the caps installed backwards.
Whitebar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 66 Old 09-22-2013, 04:49 PM
Newbie
 
sciconf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitebar View Post

I not sure where you measured on the logic board for the 3.04 and 1.17. All the thru hole caps on the logic board are difficult to change. The internal ground plane takes a lot of heat before getting the temp high enough to melt the solder.
Part numbers for the two 33uf E5/E6 were listed here.

After repairing 60 plus units, trust me the caps are the problem.

The issue in post #8 with the domed ET1 cap on the logic board is very rare. The reason that cap failed is because it was installed backwards. In all the units I have fixed, none have had any of the caps installed backwards.

Thanks @Whitebar
The 3.04 and 1.17 were from E5/E6.

A friend of mine measured my power supply voltages and ripples and says that the problem is in the logic board - he feels that the ripples are not a lot (power supply). Then again, he is not an expert on CM-7000.

Which part of MI are you? I might be coming to Troy - maybe I can bring it with me then.
sciconf is offline  
post #63 of 66 Old 09-23-2013, 02:58 AM
Member
 
Whitebar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
While it maybe just the logic board at this time, the caps on the power supply will also fail in the future, I would replace them at the same time.
I sent you a PM.
Whitebar is offline  
post #64 of 66 Old 09-27-2013, 06:30 PM
Newbie
 
sciconf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitebar View Post

The two 33uf part are the ones that need to be replaced. They are in the 1.2v switching power supply circuit. The other 470/1000 are bulk capacitors and do not get stressed.

These 470/1000 are on logic board?

Which are the caps for the 5V circuit on power supply board?

I got a insignia DTV now - it works but unsure if the CM7000 received better signal.
sciconf is offline  
post #65 of 66 Old 06-10-2014, 02:27 PM
Newbie
 
Sonshine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

How do I get Whitebar's info to possibly send my CM7000 for possible repair?

Sonshine is offline  
post #66 of 66 Old 06-10-2014, 03:44 PM
Member
 
jweinel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Greensboro, NC, USA
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sonshine, I suggest that you send him a Private Message.Looks like he was on AVS earlier today. Click near his name below his avatar in post #63 above and then click "Send PM".
jweinel is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off