VIZIO Remote Code is 0019 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-12-2011, 10:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brobin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a 32" Vizio HDTV ($250 @ CompUSA) but before I bought it I took my RTV remote and the User Manual with me to the store to see if I could find a code that works. 0019 is a winner. No, I didn't try every code in the book, I just got lucky. I decided to try the Daewoo codes as I thought there was some tie-in between to Vizio. As far as I can tell now there isn't but the code worked.
Now if I can find a code for a Viewsonic TV I'll be all set!
brobin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-12-2011, 11:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdonzis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just tried 0019, and worked fine for me as well. However, so does 0178, as documented here. I suspect that there are subtle difference if the RTV remote ran more than power, volume, and mute. Hard to say which one is more correct, but I believe that 0178 might be the preferred one...

Henry
hdonzis is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-13-2011, 03:53 PM
Member
 
ocraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those are for 5K machines, I bet? Bought a cheap "backup" TV (Insignia) and can't get it to respond to any 4K codes. Then tried Dynex which listed ReplayTV compatibility, but again I think only for 5K. 4K has just 2-digit codes, so I think I tried them exhaustively. Maybe 4Ks are just incompatible with "modern" TVs? I've been meaning to try what brobin did and bring my remote in with me to test before buying.
ocraven is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-13-2011, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
cwpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What kind of picture are you getting on the Vizio compared to good tube TV?
cwpl is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-13-2011, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brobin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocraven View Post

Those are for 5K machines, I bet? Bought a cheap "backup" TV (Insignia) and can't get it to respond to any 4K codes. Then tried Dynex which listed ReplayTV compatibility, but again I think only for 5K. 4K has just 2-digit codes, so I think I tried them exhaustively. Maybe 4Ks are just incompatible with "modern" TVs? I've been meaning to try what brobin did and bring my remote in with me to test before buying.

Buy either a Universal Remote that lists ReplayTV or buy a 5000 series ReplayTV remote on ebay. The 5000 remote is perfectly compatible with the 4000 series and gives you more flexibility with new TV's.
brobin is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-13-2011, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brobin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwpl View Post

What kind of picture are you getting on the Vizio compared to good tube TV?

The picture is excellent when watching the digital channels and OK on the analog. For watching RTV recordings it works best using the video outputs rather than the RF output. The old tube TVs can't hold a candle to a plasma or led screen. And at $250 for a 32" Vizio it's hard to beat. I just gave away my last 2 tube sets as I couldn't even stand watching them after so many years of having plasma/led sets.
brobin is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-13-2011, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
 
cwpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobin View Post

The picture is excellent when watching the digital channels and OK on the analog. For watching RTV recordings it works best using the video outputs rather than the RF output. The old tube TVs can't hold a candle to a plasma or led screen. And at $250 for a 32" Vizio it's hard to beat. I just gave away my last 2 tube sets as I couldn't even stand watching them after so many years of having plasma/led sets.

Does seem to be their Achilles heel (analog) I bought a Sharp I think it was 19'' a couple of years ago gave up on it gave it away. I am tempted to get one of these like you said 32'' for 250 and can mount on wall gaining some space in small bedroom.
cwpl is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-13-2011, 09:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brobin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think you'll be happy with that choice. The ones that CompUSA has for $250 are "recertified" but appear to be brand new in every respect from the outer box and manuals to the protection tape on all the shiny surfaces. Interestingly, Vizio recommends their wall mount bracket that's shown as being for "up to 30" units" but does accommodate the VESA 200mm mounting and weight of the 32" one. I ordered two of the "Level Mount AISOA Full Motion Small Single Arm Cantilever Mount for 10" to 30" Displays" from Amazon for $25 delivered. It attaches to a single stud and provides swivel and tilt functions.
BTW, the 0019 remote code does control power, volume and mute as I now understand a number of other codes will do.
brobin is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off