ReplayTV 5000 ethernet port mode of failure? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-04-2011, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I have a monthly (not that it matters) ReplayTV 5500 laying around I picked up at goodwill a few years ago. I haven't ever used it - but I recently tried to set it up (to tinker with when we were working on the El Gamal stuff) and noticed the Ethernet port seems to be shot (no link light).
I know that this failure is somewhat common on ReplayTV 5xxx units - does anyone know which part(s) commonly fail? I haven't even popped the top yet to try and troubleshoot, but was curious if anyone knew which parts usually gave out? I have no interest in paying someone to fix it, as honestly I don't really need the unit at all, and even if I did, it would likely be cheaper to just replace the unit.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-04-2011, 04:28 PM
Member
 
wrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickotz View Post

I have a monthly (not that it matters) ReplayTV 5500 laying around I picked up at goodwill a few years ago. I haven't ever used it - but I recently tried to set it up (to tinker with when we were working on the El Gamal stuff) and noticed the Ethernet port seems to be shot (no link light).
I know that this failure is somewhat common on ReplayTV 5xxx units - does anyone know which part(s) commonly fail? I haven't even popped the top yet to try and troubleshoot, but was curious if anyone knew which parts usually gave out? I have no interest in paying someone to fix it, as honestly I don't really need the unit at all, and even if I did, it would likely be cheaper to just replace the unit.

Contact Mikeyboy here:

http://www.replaytvparts.com/

He'll be able to answer questions and provide service.

He's helped me immensely in the past.

O==wrench==C
--------------------

 

wrench is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-04-2011, 05:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
adam1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 27
You know, we should all just head to MA and throw a big blowout party for Mikeyboy. I've not had to use his services directly, but every one of us has used him at least indirectly.
adam1991 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 07-04-2011, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench View Post

Contact Mikeyboy here:

http://www.replaytvparts.com/

He'll be able to answer questions and provide service.

He's helped me immensely in the past.

To clarify, I'm not looking to swap the whole motherboard - I'm looking at changing out the failed component(s) on the PCB. SMT soldering doesn't scare me - I was just wondering here if anyone had troubleshoot this before I invest the time.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-04-2011, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
ChampaignWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: champaign,IL
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We had a 5k that lost it's network port. We bought a 5k with no subscription at ebay for $50, swapped out the eeprom and we were back in business. It was pretty good deal. Now I have a spare power supply (as well as other parts) and remote.

I started with a 3060. Later sold it and replaced it with a 4k and later added 2 5k units. Still love 'em and am resisting HD.
ChampaignWalt is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-10-2011, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
So I traced the signal back to the pins on the RTL8100B chip and it looks like I have continuity from the pins in the jack back to the chip itself. I need to get out my scope and look for link pulses (and verify the chip has power) but my current theory is the RTL8100B chip itself is damaged. I need to find a Ethernet controller to steal that chip off of and swap it.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-10-2011, 03:13 PM
Member
 
wrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's a real task in itself. Not for the faint of heart!

I wish you luck!

But I prefer ChampionWalts suggestion better. I bought several of those eeprom sockets for just that purpose.

O==wrench==C
--------------------

 

wrench is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-11-2011, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Yeah, I don't actually need the ReplayTV to work (parents already have one at each TV) - this is more of an academic exercise/me being stubborn. Swapping the EEPROM would totally defeat the point.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-11-2011, 07:45 AM
Newbie
 
leedef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Isn't this all rather moot... with the Programming Guide being discontinued?
leedef is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-11-2011, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by leedef View Post

Isn't this all rather moot... with the Programming Guide being discontinued?

No. At this point we believe we have the pieces needed to replicate the ReplayTV servers.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-05-2013, 08:02 PM
Member
 
DVRDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello erickotz,
Did you get your ethernet to work yet?
I have one that both it and the modem are dead to use.
I think it may be power related on the mother board?
DVRDVR is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off