Looking for a Working Remote for a Replay 5000 series - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 10-20-2011, 07:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
raze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

The old remote for my 5000 series is going down for the count.
Several buttons no longer respond to being pushed.
If anyone has a remote they no longer need, please let me know.

Thanks,
ray
raze is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 10-20-2011, 07:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
adam1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 27
https://www.replacementremotes.com/store/repairform.cfm

It's not hard to repair a remote. What's underneath gets worn down, and all it takes is some refurbishing that's fairly easy.

I bought and used this kit many years back, and it worked great:

http://www.replacementremotes.com/Ke...CR-Remote.html
adam1991 is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 10-21-2011, 07:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
raze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam1991 View Post

https://www.replacementremotes.com/store/repairform.cfm

It's not hard to repair a remote. What's underneath gets worn down, and all it takes is some refurbishing that's fairly easy.

I bought and used this kit many years back, and it worked great:

http://www.replacementremotes.com/Ke...CR-Remote.html

I may look into this, thanks for the links.

r.
raze is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 10-24-2011, 05:42 PM
Member
 
g501's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by raze View Post

Hi All,

The old remote for my 5000 series is going down for the count.
Several buttons no longer respond to being pushed.
If anyone has a remote they no longer need, please let me know.

Thanks,
ray

You can also try the iPhone/iPad remote.

Some free codes are here and they can be redeemed at the iTunes App stire.

MAK9FLJAYP3H
WLXRR9NPMWJ6
YHTF7PPH674N
KWX44P7XNTMR
g501 is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 10-26-2011, 06:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Arlington, MA, USA
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does Mikeyboy still sell RTV remotes?

My 1 button has been acting up lately. I have two inputs, and all the broadcast networks are on the input that's up in the 1,000's, so I type 10xx a lot, and also 1 or 1.
barmar is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 10-29-2011, 03:19 PM
Member
 
gatomon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Lot-5-Sonic-...item1c2059324f

2974247646523704746118934872007814844268287238137130823, don't tell anyone!

"Be happy while you're living,
for you're a long time dead."
-Scottish Proverb
gatomon is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 10-29-2011, 06:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
adam1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Brand new, and eight bucks each shipped.

Back in the day...
adam1991 is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 10-30-2011, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
DavidMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by g501 View Post

You can also try the iPhone/iPad remote.

Some free codes are here and they can be redeemed at the iTunes App stire.

MAK9FLJAYP3H
WLXRR9NPMWJ6
YHTF7PPH674N
KWX44P7XNTMR

I used that 1st code and ended up getting charged $3.19 for a $0.99 app???

Did I just fall for a scam or am I missing something?
DavidMP is online now  
post #9 of 21 Old 10-31-2011, 11:41 AM
Member
 
g501's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidMP View Post

I used that 1st code and ended up getting charged $3.19 for a $0.99 app???

Did I just fall for a scam or am I missing something?

Yikes, I am very sorry and also have no idea how that could have happened. I presume you used the Apple iTunes store directly, so there is no way I could have "scammed" you. Is there any way you might have purchased a different app as well, and gotten mixed up? I suggest you contact Apple customer support since what you are reporting seems very bizarre.

If you use the code redemption box on the iTunes page you should not be charged and the worst that might happen is that the code is used up. Each code can only be used once and, based on my last try, if it is expired you will get a corresponding error message (and can then try a different code). I am tempted to just make the app free, but among other things, if it is totally free then random people download it (who don't even have a ReplayTV unit) and then just slag it as being useless.
g501 is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 10-31-2011, 05:59 PM
Member
 
notyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can program a jp1 remote to control a replaytv. You should be able to get one from radioshack. I've done this and I mapped most of the functions to a radioshack remote. The only problem is that the button layout is not as nice as the replaytv remote. I also added some functions, such as a 3 minute skip button and 1 minute reverse button.


There's a steep learning curve if you are going to go this route, but you won't be stuck trying to find an old remote on the internet.

Here's some info on jp1

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/JP1_remote

Also you can rescue most remotes by carefully prying them open and then cleaning off that ooze from the board
notyoung is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 11-03-2011, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
raze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

Should these remotes cost this much?
raze is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 11-03-2011, 09:11 AM
Member
 
bonsai63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's a lot of five, which works out to just over $10 each with shipping. Assuming they are really *new*, as it says in the copy, this seems like a decent deal. But, do you need five remotes?
bonsai63 is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 11-24-2011, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
gring40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by raze View Post

The old remote for my 5000 series is going down for the count. Several buttons no longer respond to being pushed.

Don't know if it applies to the 5k series, but the SS remotes were notorious for that. Over time an oily non-conductive film would form between the polymer keypad buttons and the circuit board, making the buttons hard to use and then go bad.

The fix is to take the remote apart and clean the film from the keypad and circuit board with rubbing alcohol. I've done it many times.
gring40 is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 11-27-2011, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adone36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Any universal remote I've seen from $7 up has Replay codes.

Tony
adone36 is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 11-27-2011, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
adam1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 27
yeah, but most of them are junky layouts.

The Replay remote is a great layout...
adam1991 is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 11-27-2011, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
gring40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by adone36 View Post

Any universal remote I've seen from $7 up has Replay codes.

Agreed, as does mine. But there are no keys for skipping forward 30 sec (or back) so I have to use FF & FR, and also go thru the RTV's menu for Replay Guide or Zones.
gring40 is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 11-27-2011, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adone36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I programmed other buttons for all of those and more.

Tony
adone36 is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 11-28-2011, 06:54 AM
Senior Member
 
gring40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by adone36 View Post

I programmed other buttons for all of those and more.

Ordinary universal remote? With mine (came with TV) you find a code for the RTV that works, & then get whatever functionality there is. How do you 'program other buttons' ?
gring40 is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 11-28-2011, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adone36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Almost all remotes nowdays have prog. buttons

Tony
adone36 is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 12-20-2011, 01:15 PM
Member
 
jwc553911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You still need an original remote? You looking for the silver one or the black one?
Jeff

00004-54831-47079 jwc553911
00004-54831-35256 jwc5539112
00004-54831-77286 jwc5539113
00004-02044-20375 jwc5539115 (DVA)
00004-54832-09854 jwcAtlanta (DAD)
jwc553911 is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 12-21-2011, 06:33 AM
Member
 
pshovest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No need to wrestle with programming or universal remotes that don't offer QuickSkip, Guide, Zones or Replay keys, brand new factory ReplayTV remotes are once again on ebay. I just bought (5) for $35 delivered. These are 50xx remotes w/ CA button.

Paul S
pshovest is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off