new 5532 user - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-15-2012, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bukzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern California
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am another newbie with some odd questions.

I have a 5532 Replay unit which I have never activated. Looking for thoughts.
(have never used Replay service)


Should I feed the inputs with my rooftop antenna as well as my
DirecTV HD DVR?
Is there a better configuration?


Also, will I have options of types of service when I sign up with Replay?


What else should I consider?


Thanks!

Bukzin
North California
bukzin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-15-2012, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ClearToLand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Central NJ, USA
Posts: 1,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Welcome bukzin,

This appears to be your *FIRST* post in the ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs forum.

Before mid-June 2011, I would have had a DIFFERENT answer for you. TODAY, things are 'Different'.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukzin View Post

...I have a 5532 Replay unit which I have never activated. Looking for thoughts. (have never used Replay service)...

Obviously, the *FIRST* thing that you don't appear to know is that DNNA / ReplayTV announced in mid-June 2011 that they were DISCONTINUING their ReplayTV Guide service. Then, IIRC, around July 31, 2011, they RECONSIDERED - deciding to give the LOYAL ReplayTV Community time to ADAPT to WiRNS 3.X with either Schedules Direct (Paid) or a Scraper (FREE).
  • WHEN did you purchase your ReplayTV 5532?
    .
  • Is it 'Lifetime' or 'Monthly'?
I suggest that you *FIRST* SEARCH this forum (for threads created mid-June 2011) and then read specific posts in my ReplayTV STICKY:
ClearToLand's Picks For Best Answers to Common ReplayTV Questions:
Quote:
Originally Posted by bukzin View Post

...Should I feed the inputs with my rooftop antenna as well as my DirecTV HD DVR? Is there a better configuration?

The *SECOND* thing that you don't appear to know is that back in ~FEB 2009, IIRC, the FCC *CHANGED* OTA (i.e. Rooftop Antenna) from NTSC/ANALOG to ATSC/DIGITAL - your ReplayTV 5532 is NTSC/ANALOG, so, your built-in tuner is useless, except for some 'low power' local NON-NETWORK stations that MIGHT be available.
  • To utilize ATSC/DIGITAL OTA signals with a ReplayTV, you'll need a CECB (look in my STICKY, find the AVS CECB Forum, or GOOGLE 'CECB').
    .
  • To use DirecTV HD DVR signals, you'll have TWO problems:
    1. Find the proper code to allow the ReplayTV IR Blaster to control / change channels on the DirecTV HD DVR (probably simple).
      .
    2. *MANUALLY* avoid conflicts between the DirecTV HD DVR and what the ReplayTV wants!
      Personally, I regard this task as *IMPOSSIBLE* to accomplish, and would advise getting an additional SD or HD STB to INDEPENDENTLY feed your ReplayTV.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bukzin View Post

...Also, will I have options of types of service when I sign up with Replay?

AFAIK, and I haven't checked since Jun/Jul 2011, *ALL* Lifetime *AND* Monthly units were granted *FOREVER* status. You haven't stated whether your 5532 is Lifetime or Monthly, so, as of Jan 2012, I can't tell you what will happen if/when you attempt to 'Register / Activate' via DNNA / ReplayTV. IMO, you *SHOULD* get *FOREVER* on either a Lifetime or Monthly.

Then, back in Jun/Jul 2011, the *INITIAL* RECCOMENDATION was to *IMMEDIATELY* make an 'Image Copy' of that *FOREVER* activation, just in case your current HDD ever died. Afterwards, with WiRNS 3.X, AFAICT, WiRNS 3.X could 'Activate' *ANY* ReplayTV (at least 4000/5000 Series).

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukzin View Post

...What else should I consider?

I dunno:
  1. Create an 'Image Copy' of your current 5532 HDD.
    .
  2. Attempt to 'Activate' via DNNA/ReplayTV.
    .
  3. Install WiRNS 3.X, subscribe to Schedules Direct (or a Scraper) and attempt to 'Activate' via WiRNS 3.X.
    .
  4. etc... (You get the '*BIG* Picture', right?)
Good Luck!

Low Post Count <> Low Knowledge ergo High Post Count <> High Knowledge

ClearToLand's Picks For Best Answers to Common ReplayTV Questions

Remember, it's only TV...
ClearToLand is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-15-2012, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bukzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern California
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ClearToLand,

Thanks for the detailed response.



I think I got my 5532 from Woot.com several years ago.
No idea if its monthly or lifetime.

I connected it via ethernet and can see IP (192.168.5.103), Netmask,
gateway, etc. Do not have a phone line connected; do I need one?


I do not own a digital convertor but I do have a couple of old Tivo boxes
(both stand alone and with DirecTV included) Can one of these help
avoid the program conflicts?
If I set it up this way do I still need to connect a IR blaster?

If I get my 5532 activated via DNNA/ReplayTV can I avoid the additional
software?


Thanks again

Bukzin
North California
bukzin is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-15-2012, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bukzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern California
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, just went through the activation process and the system said I
was activated.

Do I need to do the 'MyReplayTV Registration' process next?

It is connected to my OTA signal (without a digital convertor box)
Cycled thru with the input button on the remote but still got nothing.
I also have basic channels on cable with Comcast, are these analog?

The system also went thru the 'getting channel guide information'
process. I can see my local broadcast channels (both analog and digital) but it says
'no video signal detected' Is this because I have no digital convertor box?

The local time is correct. I set up a manual recording and the red light came on but my program did not record.

Bukzin
North California
bukzin is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-15-2012, 10:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ClearToLand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Central NJ, USA
Posts: 1,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
  1. Quote:
    Originally Posted by bukzin View Post

    ...Thanks for the detailed response.

    I think I got my 5532 from Woot.com several years ago. No idea if its monthly or lifetime.

    I connected it via ethernet and can see IP (192.168.5.103), Netmask, gateway, etc. Do not have a phone line connected; do I need one?

    I do not own a digital convertor but I do have a couple of old Tivo boxes (both stand alone and with DirecTV included) Can one of these help avoid the program conflicts?

    If I set it up this way do I still need to connect a IR blaster?

    If I get my 5532 activated via DNNA/ReplayTV can I avoid the additional software?

  2. Quote:
    Originally Posted by bukzin View Post

    OK, just went through the activation process and the system said I was activated.

    Do I need to do the 'MyReplayTV Registration' process next?

    It is connected to my OTA signal (without a digital convertor box) Cycled thru with the input button on the remote but still got nothing. I also have basic channels on cable with Comcast, are these analog?

    The system also went thru the 'getting channel guide information' process. I can see my local broadcast channels (both analog and digital) but it says 'no video signal detected' Is this because I have no digital convertor box?

    The local time is correct. I set up a manual recording and the red light came on but my program did not record.

    Wow! That was a QUICK response! What state are you in? (You can add it to your Profile). AH! I just noticed "Northern California" in your SIG Line - add it to your Profile and "Old Farts" like me will notice it sooner.

    You're a NEWBIE and I'm an "Old Fart" that prefers that you read the FAQs *FIRST* before asking "Previously-Asked-and-Answered" questions.

    Briefly:
    .
    1. I don't believe that you're going to receive *ANY* useable (i.e. Major Network) signals over your OTA RF Connection.
      .
    2. I *DO* believe that you'll be able to receive, and tune, ATSC/DIGITAL OTA via a CECB.
      .
    3. I don't believe that you're going to be able to use your DirecTV DVR as a Tuner. You *MIGHT* be able to use your TiVo, but from the knowledge level of your questions, I believe it may be 'Too Complicated'. A DirecTV STB *MAY* work out well for you.
      .
    4. *ANY* Tuner you choose *WILL* require an IR Blaster, and possibly a Custom .RID file.
      .
    5. If you have an Internet Connection, you don't need a Telephone Connection.
      .
    6. If you get 'Forever' Activated by DNNA/ReplayTV, you don't need to install WiRNS 3.X, for now!
      .
    7. "MyReplayTV" is DEAD & GONE - forget about it.
      .
    8. Comcast went ALL DIGITAL in NJ as of ~12/01/11. I don't know if/when CA is/went ALL DIGITAL, but, *IF* it hasn't, expect it to happen SOON. I.E. Comcast STB *OR* CECB OTA for *EVERY* TV.
      .
    9. Finally, you won't record *ANYTHING* via your ReplayTV RF connection. Composite or Composite w/S-Video out of your DirecTV DVR, STB or CECB are your *ONLY* options, besides OTA via CECBs.
Read for a few days and then come back with more questions. I'm *GLAD* to to help a Newbie, but *ADVERSE* to repeating what has already been 'Asked-and-Answered'.

"Much to learn you still have...my young padawan." ... "This is just the beginning!"

TTYL...

Low Post Count <> Low Knowledge ergo High Post Count <> High Knowledge

ClearToLand's Picks For Best Answers to Common ReplayTV Questions

Remember, it's only TV...
ClearToLand is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-16-2012, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
gring40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bukzin View Post

OK, just went through the activation process and the system said I was activated.

Do I need to do the 'MyReplayTV Registration' process next?

Makes sense.
Quote:


It is connected to my OTA signal (without a digital convertor box). ...... I also have basic channels on cable with Comcast, are these analog?

OTA would need a box, but Comcast may carry analog and work fine depending on your area; try that. All the advice you've had sounds good.
gring40 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-16-2012, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
adam1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
To utilize ATSC/DIGITAL OTA signals with a ReplayTV, you'll need a CECB

To clarify: CECB means "coupon enabled converter box," and is a relic of a term from back when people were scrambling to get free gummint handouts of converter boxes.

There technically is no such thing as a "CECB"; what one needs is a converter box, period, to convert ATSC to NTSC or something else the Replay can ingest.
adam1991 is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off