Need a couple of IR Blasters - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-29-2012, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Space's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My cable company is going all-digital in 20 days (thanks for the sufficient warning Cablevision ).

They are handing out free digital boxes for a year, so I am getting them to hook to my Replays that are currently using analog.

I have two ReplayTVs that I don't have an IR Blaster for, so I was wondering if anyone knew where I could get them.

I see some on eBay but they are not specifically for the ReplayTV, so I don't know if they are compatible (do they all use the same standard?), and I really don't want to spend more than a few bucks per cable.

Will this one work?:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=150802992565

I figure there are tons out there laying unused, so if anyone has any to sell, let me know.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Space - AB8NdtJzDULjgKvuDX3eJxHpXx88Xy9H
Space is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-30-2012, 06:47 AM
Member
 
rlichtefeld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can look to see if I have any extras. I have few "spare machines" sitting in the basement. Mostly they are old machines that either the ethernet took a hit, or the power supply. I may have some IR blasters in the boxes.

However, searching eBay for "dual IR blaster" the ones that came up are closer to what shipped with the ReplayTV.

Rob

Quote:
Originally Posted by Space View Post

My cable company is going all-digital in 20 days (thanks for the sufficient warning Cablevision ).

They are handing out free digital boxes for a year, so I am getting them to hook to my Replays that are currently using analog.

I have two ReplayTVs that I don't have an IR Blaster for, so I was wondering if anyone knew where I could get them.

I see some on eBay but they are not specifically for the ReplayTV, so I don't know if they are compatible (do they all use the same standard?), and I really don't want to spend more than a few bucks per cable.

Will this one work?:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=150802992565

I figure there are tons out there laying unused, so if anyone has any to sell, let me know.

Thanks for any help you can offer.


Thanks: ijprest, waynethedvrguy, Remmer99, hdonzis, gduprey, LeeThompson, j.m., archdog99, FlipFlop, The Dreamer, chriv and all the other Replay Hackers out there.
rlichtefeld is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-30-2012, 11:49 AM
Member
 
srfrdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
any blaster may work if even from tvs and vcrs. im using rca ones and one from an hp desktop mc. just needs the right plug size.===d
srfrdan is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 05-30-2012, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Space's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I've found some time to do a little research and it looks like they may be standardized, so I just need to get ones that have a 3.5mm plug on it.

I actually have one from an old Hauppauge TV tuner card, but it is 2.5mm, so will not fit (plus it also has a IR receiver on it too, so not sure if it would work anyway).

Looks like the $3.00 ones on eBay should be fine.

Please let me know if anyone has had trouble with using generic IR Blasters on the Replay.

Thanks!

Space - AB8NdtJzDULjgKvuDX3eJxHpXx88Xy9H
Space is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-30-2012, 10:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ClearToLand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Central NJ, USA
Posts: 1,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
[THINKING OUT LOUD MODE]

I always thought that if "Push-Comes-to-Shove", there are *TWO* IR Blasters on each original ReplayTV cable and I've never used more than *ONE*. So, noting polarity, why couldn't one cut off the second IR Blaster and attach it to a 3.5mm plug?

[/THINKING OUT LOUD MODE]

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
*EVERYBODY* has a few 3.5mm plugs in their 'JunkBox', right?

Low Post Count <> Low Knowledge ergo High Post Count <> High Knowledge


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Remember, it's only TV...
ClearToLand is online now  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off