RTV gets stuck and then reboots - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 06-13-2012, 05:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
barmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Arlington, MA, USA
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Once or twice a week I'll be watching a recorded program, and my 5504 will get stuck, repeating the same from an a fraction of a second of audio over and over. It will do this for about a minute, and then finally reboot.

 

This sounds like it may be the disk corruption problem mentioned on Mikeyboy's site. But after it reboots, I can play the same show just fine, so I don't think it's a bad spot in that file. I also think it has happened when I was watching a show streaming from a networked RTV.

 

Does this sound like a power supply problem?

barmar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-13-2012, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
adam1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
My guess is the hard disk. Intermittent problems on a failing hard drive are common.
adam1991 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-17-2012, 01:53 PM
Member
 
srfrdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
that happens to me when im watching a recording show. i just watch a recorded show until the recording ones done and alls well. i think it hAS to do with heavy internet traffic screwing with the tiny chip these things have,smile.gif
srfrdan is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 07-26-2012, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
barmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Arlington, MA, USA
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I haven't noticed it happening specifically when watching the show that's being recorded. But I think it's always when I'm watching and recording at the same time. Often the show I'm watching is being streamed from my other unit -- it might even be always, I haven't kept track.

 

But I was on vacation for a week and a half, and it doesn't look like it rebooted in the middle of any of the shows it recorded while I was away -- there are no short recordings during that time.

 

It's been doing it more and more often, so I'm going to get a new disk.

barmar is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-27-2012, 09:33 PM
 
ReplayLurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by barmar View Post

I haven't noticed it happening specifically when watching the show that's being recorded. But I think it's always when I'm watching and recording at the same time. Often the show I'm watching is being streamed from my other unit -- it might even be always, I haven't kept track.

But I was on vacation for a week and a half, and it doesn't look like it rebooted in the middle of any of the shows it recorded while I was away -- there are no short recordings during that time.

It's been doing it more and more often, so I'm going to get a new disk.

This typically happens when you view the Replay Guide of a remote RTV while the local RTV is recording and the remote RTV has more than something like 120 shows stored on it. So, if that's the case, you don't need a new hard drive, just fewer shows stored on your remote RTV.
ReplayLurker is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 07-29-2012, 02:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
barmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Arlington, MA, USA
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

This typically happens when you view the Replay Guide of a remote RTV while the local RTV is recording and the remote RTV has more than something like 120 shows stored on it. So, if that's the case, you don't need a new hard drive, just fewer shows stored on your remote RTV.

 

But that's not when the problem happens. It's always when a show is playing, I'm not even touching the remote. And the remote machine only has about 60 shows stored on it.

 

Anyway, I put the new disk in today, we'll see how it goes.

barmar is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off