Is ReplayTV still in business? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 06-26-2012, 06:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NewDVDRecorder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello!

You guys helped me get my ReplayTV working in 2010, but all I've had is a digital signal coming in through an antenna, and I never felt like going to the trouble of adapting the ReplayTV to work with a converter box.

Now, I've given it to a friend who has cable TV, but I just want to ask, is ReplayTV still in business? If the box is still functional, should it work for him?

Thank you!
Steve.
NewDVDRecorder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 06-26-2012, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NewDVDRecorder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, a little research shows that the ReplayTV service is dead, but boxes can still be used with WiRNS and a $20/year subscription to a TV listings service. So a couple questions:

1) Does this work well? Is it worth it? Is this how everybody's doing it these days?

2) Does WiRNS display the TV schedule through the box or instead on your computer screen?

3) How silly am I for not selling the box when the lifetime activation meant something? :-)

Thanks.
Steve
NewDVDRecorder is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 06-26-2012, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
mlloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: east Texas
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewDVDRecorder View Post

Ok, a little research shows that the ReplayTV service is dead, but boxes can still be used with WiRNS and a $20/year subscription to a TV listings service. So a couple questions:
1) Does this work well? Is it worth it? Is this how everybody's doing it these days?
2) Does WiRNS display the TV schedule through the box or instead on your computer screen?
3) How silly am I for not selling the box when the lifetime activation meant something? :-)
Thanks.
Steve

I have 8 ReplayTV units. All but one are 5xxx connected to WiRNS. That other one is a 2020 still using that nonexistent service. Please don't tell it.

Mark Lloyd

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mlloyd is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 06-26-2012, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Reden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cedar Hill, TX
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewDVDRecorder View Post

Ok, a little research shows that the ReplayTV service is dead, but boxes can still be used with WiRNS and a $20/year subscription to a TV listings service. So a couple questions:
1) Does this work well? Is it worth it? Is this how everybody's doing it these days?
2) Does WiRNS display the TV schedule through the box or instead on your computer screen?
3) How silly am I for not selling the box when the lifetime activation meant something? :-)
Thanks.
Steve

Your research is faulty. DNNA was going to shut down the ReplayTV service, but they changed their mind.

DNNA is still providing the guide service, now at no charge. Plug the Replay in, connect normally, there's a good chance it will work. (even non-lifetime units now get guide data for free!)

Should DNNA choose to shut down, the community is ready with alternatives. (WiRNS and PERC/Laho)

Robert

---
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing in PERL!
Reden is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 06-26-2012, 04:08 PM
 
farmrancher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ReplayTV not working in Duncanville. Screen says please wait.
farmrancher is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 06-26-2012, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
wtkflhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Metairie, La
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
You're going to have to give us more info than that. What is not working? These are analog units. Do you have an analog source that is telling you that? Are you talking about getting the program guide? What?

Don H
wtkflhn is online now  
post #7 of 9 Old 06-26-2012, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NewDVDRecorder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, thank you, Reden!

I got my information from the WiRNS web site. The specific link to what I read is here:

http://wirns.com/faq.htm#term_1

Maybe they need to update there FAQ.

Anyhow, thank you so much!

Steve.
NewDVDRecorder is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 06-26-2012, 09:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Reden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cedar Hill, TX
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmrancher View Post

ReplayTV not working in Duncanville. Screen says please wait.
I'm in Cedar Hill. IIRC I'm calling the Irving number.

Butt the blue "please wait" screen is normally a disk problem, not a guide issue.

Robert

---
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing in PERL!
Reden is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-27-2012, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
wtkflhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Metairie, La
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmrancher View Post

ReplayTV not working in Duncanville. Screen says please wa
it.

If you do have bad hard drive, companies like Weaknees can supply you a larger HD than the unit originally had. They also supply the pictured, easy to follow instructions to help you change it out. The drives come formatted with the correct software on it for your particular DVR. So, be sure you give them the correct model number. If you can pickup a screwdriver, you CAN change the hard drive out. Weaknees will give you tech support on the phone, if you need it.

Don H
wtkflhn is online now  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off