Went from 2 Replays to 1 Replay, now DVArchive won't connect "Permission denied: connect" - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-30-2012, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SR94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should probably ask this in the DVArchive forum, but I'm registered here...

I used to have two Replay 5040's (both now with upgraded drives). One was in the family room, and one upstairs. The one in the family room died, so I physically moved the upstairs Replay to the family room. All seems to be working well, except DVArchive won't connect to it. Previously, both Replays came-up in DVArchive just fine. But, now that I have only the one, and I've moved it to the new location, I get the following in the DVArchive log file:

07/30 19:01:18 Notice: UPNP:: DVArchive received new DVR broadcast for 192.168.1.121 but wasn't able to initialize/configure it - ignored
07/30 19:10:18 Notice: UPNP:: Received UPnP packet from previously unknown DVR @ 192.168.1.121 -- looking up DVR info
07/30 19:10:18 ERROR: REPLAY_DEVICE:: Unable to fetch details for DVR -- Permission denied: connect
07/30 19:10:28 ERROR: REPLAY_DEVICE:: Unable to fetch details for DVR -- Permission denied: connect
07/30 19:10:38 ERROR: REPLAY_DEVICE:: Unable to fetch details for DVR -- Permission denied: connect
07/30 19:10:48 ERROR: REPLAY_DEVICE:: Unable to fetch details for DVR -- Permission denied: connect
07/30 19:10:58 ERROR: REPLAY_DEVICE:: Unable to fetch details for DVR -- Permission denied: connect


The Replay is configured with DHCP, and I have reserved the 192.168.1.121 IP address for it in the router. I tested the Replay with the IVS Tester, and it passes the test. I've rebooted the Replay, the PC, and the Router, but no success.


I followed the DVArchive network troubleshooting tips, and I don't see any issues. Even talking to the Reply with a web browser worked

http://192.168.1.121/Device_Descr.xml


- - 1 0 http://192.168.1.121/ - urn:replaytv-com:device:ReplayDevice:1 Upstairs ReplayTV 5000 Digital Video Recorder ReplayTV 5000 5040 530511440 http://www.sonicblue.com SONICblue Incorporated http://www.sonicblue.com ...



Any thoughts?
SR94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-31-2012, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
mlloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: east Texas
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SR94 View Post

I should probably ask this in the DVArchive forum, but I'm registered here...
I used to have two Replay 5040's (both now with upgraded drives). One was in the family room, and one upstairs. The one in the family room died, so I physically moved the upstairs Replay to the family room. All seems to be working well, except DVArchive won't connect to it. Previously, both Replays came-up in DVArchive just fine. But, now that I have only the one, and I've moved it to the new location, I get the following in the DVArchive log file:
07/30 19:01:18 Notice: UPNP:: DVArchive received new DVR broadcast for 192.168.1.121 but wasn't able to initialize/configure it - ignored
07/30 19:10:18 Notice: UPNP:: Received UPnP packet from previously unknown DVR @ 192.168.1.121 -- looking up DVR info
07/30 19:10:18 ERROR: REPLAY_DEVICE:: Unable to fetch details for DVR -- Permission denied: connect
07/30 19:10:28 ERROR: REPLAY_DEVICE:: Unable to fetch details for DVR -- Permission denied: connect
07/30 19:10:38 ERROR: REPLAY_DEVICE:: Unable to fetch details for DVR -- Permission denied: connect
07/30 19:10:48 ERROR: REPLAY_DEVICE:: Unable to fetch details for DVR -- Permission denied: connect
07/30 19:10:58 ERROR: REPLAY_DEVICE:: Unable to fetch details for DVR -- Permission denied: connect
The Replay is configured with DHCP, and I have reserved the 192.168.1.121 IP address for it in the router. I tested the Replay with the IVS Tester, and it passes the test. I've rebooted the Replay, the PC, and the Router, but no success.
I followed the DVArchive network troubleshooting tips, and I don't see any issues. Even talking to the Reply with a web browser worked
http://192.168.1.121/Device_Descr.xml

- - 1 0 http://192.168.1.121/ - urn:replaytv-com:device:ReplayDevice:1 Upstairs ReplayTV 5000 Digital Video Recorder ReplayTV 5000 5040 530511440 http://www.sonicblue.com SONICblue Incorporated http://www.sonicblue.com ...
Any thoughts?

The physical connection appears to be OK. However, is DVA set up to use that IP? Also, DVA may still be looking for the other Replay.
mlloyd is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-31-2012, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SR94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply.
DVA was connecting to this RTV OK, before the 2nd unit died, and I haven't changed any set-up parameters. So, I think it's set-up for the IP.

I've cleared the "Previously Visited DVR" list. When I try to manually open the current RTV at 192.168.1.121 (or apparently when I type any IP address), it very quickly gives an error that it's Unable to Open DVR.
Is there an additional way to make it stop looking for the other unit?
SR94 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-01-2012, 09:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Tirebiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Rocky Point, NY, USA
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One thing that usually works for me is to reset the Replay's network adapter.

Go into the Replay Menu -> Setup -> Network and Input Settings -> Change Network

I have my RTV units on a fixed IP address, so I select Change Manual Settings here.
On the Network Information I go straight to the "Continue" button (UP and LEFT on the remote)
The Checking for network information screen counts down. It usually takes about 20 seconds.

After this, DVArchive finds the Replay.

Another thing you can do is the 243-ZONES screen. Run option 17 (Find other units). Check that the Replay can see DVArchive, and that it is not listed as being offline. If so, there must be a network problem with the unit. While you're in 243-ZONES, run option 18 (Check for new software) and see if the unit can successfully contact the mothership.

Good luck.
Tirebiter is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-02-2012, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SR94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Everyone! Mystery solved.
My firewall in McAfee was turned on. I turned it off, and DVA started working.

The weird thing is I didn't turn it on, and DVA was working before. I wonder if recently McAfee did an upgrade and it went to its default setting.
Either way, I now know where to look, and I know why it wasn't working.

Thanks again!
SR94 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-03-2012, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
mlloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: east Texas
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SR94 View Post

Thanks Everyone! Mystery solved.
My firewall in McAfee was turned on. I turned it off, and DVA started working.
The weird thing is I didn't turn it on, and DVA was working before. I wonder if recently McAfee did an upgrade and it went to its default setting.
Either way, I now know where to look, and I know why it wasn't working.
Thanks again!

I wish I had thought of that. I had a firewall problem the first time I tries to use DVA.
mlloyd is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off