Record Cable in Letterbox? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 08-19-2012, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
gring40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've found that my SS will record DVD/BluRay playback from my BluRay player (LG BD390) using the composite input. The recording I get is "squashed" 4:3, such that if I change the aspect to 16:9 on the TV, I get a normal letterbox picture of decent (though not HD) quality, without side bars (nice if I want to mail the disk back before I'm done viewing it).

I've read here that some cable boxes work that way as well (Pace?), but my Motorola (Comcast) does not (no 'aspect' button), and I don't subscribe to HD now. Is there another way/device that will let me record "squashed" letterbox cable broadcasts on my RTV?
gring40 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 08-19-2012, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
mlloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: east Texas
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gring40 View Post

I've found that my SS will record DVD/BluRay playback from my BluRay player (LG BD390) using the composite input. The recording I get is "squashed" 4:3, such that if I change the aspect to 16:9 on the TV, I get a normal letterbox picture of decent (though not HD) quality, without side bars (nice if I want to mail the disk back before I'm done viewing it).
I've read here that some cable boxes work that way as well (Pace?), but my Motorola (Comcast) does not (no 'aspect' button), and I don't subscribe to HD now. Is there another way/device that will let me record "squashed" letterbox cable broadcasts on my RTV?

Both of my cable boxes have the "aspect" button, but:

1. It's a toggle, requiring seeing the output to get it right.

2. It's very forgetful, frequently reverting to the WRONG state for this. Since this is on a DVR, it could be days or more before I notice and a couple of dozen (or more) recordings wrong.

One of the cable boxes would work with a component (YUV) to composite converter. The other would not (YUV output still had letterbox). This is the newer box that supports 1080p.

For the other box, I tried a HDMI to composite converter (apparently the DRM would just mean 480i, wich you want anyway). It works with the HDMI output of the box limited to the proper resolution. 480i / 480p have letterboxing, 720p has SERIOUS overscan (cutting off peoples eyes not just hair). 1080i seems to be working OK.

BTW, to access the HDMI setting on the Pace box press 'menu' with the box "off" (more evidence that "off" is not off).
mlloyd is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off