Paterson USB TV Translator to use the serial port on Replay TV to the USB port on the DirecTV receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 09-18-2012, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
replaytv fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use my Replay TV with DirecTV ...


DirecTV told me my 1996 model RCA DirecTV receiver was going to become obsolete and they would swap me a new one for no charge & no contract


I received the new receiver and ... none of the Replay TV IR blaster codes work with the DirecTV D-12 -100 receiver ...


I tried to google a solution and ran across a Paterson USB TV Translator to use the serial port on Replay TV to the USB port on the DirecTV receiver


http://www.patersontech.com/products/


When I tried to order it - it's been discontinued: http://www.patersontech.com/ ...


Has anyone run into this previously? ... Anyone know where I might find a used Paterson USB TV Translator? ... or, alternate TV translator?
replaytv fan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 09-19-2012, 11:30 PM
Newbie
 
NewYankee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palo Alto, California
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I moved on to SageTV, but faced the same problem with DirecTV. The solution is to get a standard USB to serial connector cable available for about $15 most places, AND THEN get a "null modem" serial adapter to connect between the replay and serial cable. The null modem just reverses the in/out orientation of the serial connection.

The software developers contributing to ReplayTV support and enhancement represent world class creativity, productivity and professional quality.
NewYankee is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 09-20-2012, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
replaytv fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey!

thank you very much for your expertise and the quick response ... I searched for your

solution and came up with this ... do you think it will work?

http://www.walmart.com/ip/StarTech-ICUSB232FTN-Startech-1-Port-USB-to-Null-Modem-RS232-DB9-Serial-DCE-Adapter-Cable-with-FTDI/21097418

are the operating systemn requirements of the cable compatible with the Directv D-12 receiver / Replay TV HS 2000 connection scenario?
replaytv fan is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 09-20-2012, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Reden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cedar Hill, TX
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The USB port on the ReplayTV is inactive.

I beleive all ReplayTV units *do* have a db-9 serial port that can control a set top box. Not sure if it can talk to the DirectTV box though.

Robert

---
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing in PERL!
Reden is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 09-20-2012, 11:00 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
replaytv fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the response ...

the Replay TV has a 9 pin serial port ... the DirecTV receiver has a USB port ...

they must be able to commubicate because Paterson sold 5,000 of the USB TV Translators ...
replaytv fan is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 09-20-2012, 11:10 PM
Newbie
 
NewYankee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palo Alto, California
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would suspect that the Walmart adapter may work, but have never used that item.

I got my info here:
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?p=355536&highlight=serial+control#post355536

the link includes tested adapters from monoprice.com

I'm controlling a DirecTV D12 from my computer's serial port (like replay) with this setup, and note, no drivers required.

The software developers contributing to ReplayTV support and enhancement represent world class creativity, productivity and professional quality.
NewYankee is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 09-26-2012, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
replaytv fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi New Yankee -

just received the parts from monoprice ...

USB-to-serial adapter (1 @ $6.34 ea)
db9 F/F Null Modem (1 @ $1.19 ea)

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?p=355536&highlight=serial+control#post355536


hooked my Replay TV DVR and DirecTV D-12 receiver together ...

nothing ...

do you think something evil is going on at DirecTV?



thank you again for sharing your knowledge and responding ...
replaytv fan is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 09-26-2012, 08:10 PM
Member
 
cajon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego Ca.
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you check your settings to make sure you are communicating with the serial port and not IR? Just a guess!
cajon is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 09-26-2012, 10:25 PM
 
ReplayLurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by replaytv fan View Post

hooked my Replay TV DVR and DirecTV D-12 receiver together ...

nothing ...

Did you upgrade your RTV IR Blaster codes to add the D-12 capability? There were replies to you on PlanetReplay from srfrdan and hdonzis detailing getting the RTV to work with the serial to USB cable, did you read them?
ReplayLurker is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 09-27-2012, 01:25 AM
Member
 
srfrdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
without the translater u have to install the codes and they work for the d-12. im using a translater on the d-12 cause i could get one. i also just hooked up a r-15 using the replay updated to the ir codes because its old tuner broke and u cant get the translate nowr. i also have an h20-3h21s and the d12 all have the same remote. want to buy a remote ----biggrin.gif--d
srfrdan is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 09-27-2012, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
replaytv fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes ... I changed the Repaly TV setup to serial before I installed the null moden and adapter
replaytv fan is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 09-27-2012, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
replaytv fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no I did not ... thank you for the direction
replaytv fan is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 09-28-2012, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
replaytv fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReplayLurker View Post

Did you upgrade your RTV IR Blaster codes to add the D-12 capability? There were replies to you on PlanetReplay from srfrdan and hdonzis detailing getting the RTV to work with the serial to USB cable, did you read them?

no I did not ... thank you for the direction
replaytv fan is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 09-28-2012, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
replaytv fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cajon View Post

Did you check your settings to make sure you are communicating with the serial port and not IR? Just a guess!

yes ... I changed the Repaly TV setup to serial before I installed the null moden and adapter
replaytv fan is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 12-15-2012, 07:35 AM
Newbie
 
vorlon-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too am interested in purchasing more of these. I ordered one some time back, and should have ordered more... mad.gif
vorlon-1 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 05-08-2013, 04:14 PM
Member
 
ecicci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Peachtree City, GA, USA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone finds a source for the serial-to-USB translator, please advise. I would also like to purchase at least one of them.
ecicci is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 11-27-2013, 07:22 AM
Newbie
 
billman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A null modem cable will not work.

You will have to make a custom serial cable as replay does not use standard serial pinouts http://www.wirns.com/twiki/PtvioShell
I have made this cable before and it works with terminal (although I was not able to send commands to the replaytv but I was able to receive.)
I am unable to test this at the moment.
billman1 is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off