How do I enter IR Blaster codes? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-01-2012, 09:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sporked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I am this dumb. I went through all the menus and I don't see any option for telling it which IR blaster codes to use. Couldn't find it in the user's manual or searching this site either. I did see a fair bit of stuff about how to add new codes to the box, but nothing on simply entering an existing code.

Also, any hint on what codes to use for the new Comcast digital service - or how to find out? I sort of figured the DTA (digital converter box) docs might give me the correct code - but not so much.

Thanks in advance.
sporked is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-01-2012, 11:09 PM
 
ReplayLurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When you select some type of external input box, then it will ask you to select an IR Blaster code. So, if you select Digital Cable Box, Analog Cable Box, Satellite, etc., then it will ask you to select an IR Blaster code. Pretty much the only time it doesn't ask you to select an IR Blaster code is if you select using the Ant/Cable input for either Antenna or Cable...

The hint about the code for the Comcast DTA is to read any one of the very recent threads about getting the RTV to operate with a Comcast DTA...
ReplayLurker is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-01-2012, 11:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sporked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks very much! I'm in a "chat" with Comcast right now. They suggested code 991. I'll look for those threads.
sporked is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-01-2012, 11:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sporked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking through the threads I see that this topic is easily found. I managed to do a really lousy search apparently. Thanks again.
sporked is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-02-2012, 02:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sporked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again. I was able to follow the excellent instructions to download the custom IR blaster code (1982) and get my networked unit working. Tomorrow I will update my dialup unit. Figuring this out on my own would have taken longer than I have left on this earth.
sporked is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off