replay tv commerical skip models - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-19-2013, 04:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
duckland23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

I was womdering if the replay tv pvr model 5504 has commercial skip . I read that Only Models 5000 not 5500 models .What would be the different from the other models . also can the 5500 series work with the 5000 series models as in watching video on another box in the house hooked up via Ethernet cable from a router .I also hear that TiVo cant skip commercials as good a replay tv .
duckland23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-19-2013, 09:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
adam1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 25
45xx and 50xx have automatic commercial advance, which means hands off. 55xx still marks the commercials, but you have to press the right arrow to make it go there.

Otherwise, the 50xx and 55xx are compatible with respect to watching the recordings on each other's boxes. In fact, if you watch a 55xx-recorded video on a 50xx, the video will auto skip commercials...

50xx and 55xx can't watch 45xx shows, and vice-versa. Don't mix them in a household.

I don't think Tivo can skip commercials at all.

Just build yourself a Windows Media Center box, and have a modern DVR that skips commercials.
adam1991 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-19-2013, 10:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
duckland23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes but im using windows 8 . Thanks for the info on the boxes . I got a 5060 replay tv from ebay today for 30.00 . Im planning to use it with direct tv , I don't want to spend 20.00 a month on fee's for there box just to record television . Its more for my wife . We would like to back up live tv when we watch it . that's great to do . We had TiVo from direct tv in the past but I remember the fees where high one from direct tv and also from TiVo too . So we didn't have it long too . But now that Time warner cable is stopping analog service in my area Im forced to get satellite . I would of went U=Verse but they wanted a 448.00 deposit that was non refundable too . so I went with direct tv .
duckland23 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-20-2013, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
wtkflhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Metairie, La
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
TIVO's can be set up to jump in 30 sec increments thru programs or commercials. I have a 5040 Replay TV and the commercial skip is not always successful. But it works pretty well most of the time.
wtkflhn is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-23-2013, 11:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Arlington, MA, USA
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckland23 View Post

But now that Time warner cable is stopping analog service in my area Im forced to get satellite 

Isn't TW's digital service an option? I'm still using my ReplayTVs with Comcast digital service. I have one connected to a full digital converter, the other to a DTA.

barmar is offline  
Reply ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off