Rediscovering ReplayTV due to the DNNA shut down - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes

post #1 of 54 Old 09-22-2015, 12:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Cool Rediscovering ReplayTV due to the DNNA shut down

I've been using ReplayTV since December 1999 and totally love it, and even though I was involved in the hacking in the sense that I helped develop new IR codes that could be loaded, and of course, I have swapped all my hard drives for larger ones, I never took the time to get into WiRNS or even IVS.

I was very active on these forums too, back in those early days, but then like many of the regulars, I kinda drifted away as there wasn't much new to talk about in ReplayTV-land.

But now that DNNA has shut down, I was forced to either go with LaHo or use WiRNS with Schedules Direct, and I went down the latter path. So now I'm learning what WiRNS can do, and as I had to learn how to properly set up my router, I even got IVS working.

So, if there is anyone else that is still sitting on the fence, trying to decide whether to cart your old RTV5040 units off to the thrift store or to take the plunge, take the plunge, I can help.

Later, Rob

Select a link for questions on: Remotes, JP1, JP1 Forums
I prefer emails to PMs, my email is rob1 (at) rockabilly (dot) net

Last edited by The Robman; 10-06-2015 at 05:52 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 54 Old 09-22-2015, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 65
LaHa!.. Funny. (LaHo == Last Hope)

Yea, we've been at this a long time... I still use Cinema 7s programmed with JP1.. nothing I've used comes close. I recently added a U-Verse cable box to the C7. The later work you guys have done on the JP1 tools are really impressive.. no more editing spreadsheets!

Robert

---
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing in PERL!