Announcing the general release of ReplayTV software 5.1 for RTV5000s and 5500s - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 03:12 PM
Member
 
equium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: El Dorado County, CA
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
now that you guys have some free time, how but an update for 4xxx's.
c'mon, throw us a bone :)
equium is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 03:13 PM
Member
 
el borak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ntode
It's nice enough that they don't try to sue the maker of dvarchive for some reason (whether justified or not).
Somehow I doubt DNNA (or at least the ex-SB portion of it) would be likely to sue over something like that. In fact, of all companies, they should be about the least likely to sue!
el borak is offline  
post #93 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 04:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
leesweet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern Virginia (South Riding), USA
Posts: 4,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by equium
now that you guys have some free time, how but an update for 4xxx's.
c'mon, throw us a bone :)
I think it's pretty certain (99.9999%? :) ) that the 4xxxs are not getting updates. That's part of the reason for the upgrade/tradein program, ISTR. One reason for getting 5000s was that they *would* be getting upgrades (5.1, etc.), and 4xxxs would not.

-Lee (See my profile for equipment.)
leesweet is offline  
post #94 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tluxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Be assured that Replay knows 3rd party software like DVArchive has helped people make buying decisions. If they wanted to close the door, I'm sure it wouldn't be all that difficult, but I'm certain the only reason they'd even consider it would be for legal concerns. On the other hand, they obviously have no obligation and probably little desire to bend over backwards to support 3rd party software, either.

On the subject of SN showing how much it skipped, I'd like to see a simple +X or -X (X for minutes) next to the SN symbol that appears in the bottom right of the screen. Since sometimes it skips into never-never land, they really need to add an "UNDO" or "BACK" function to return to the previous location in the program. It is very frustrating trying to get back to where I was prior to a severely errant skip.
tluxon is offline  
post #95 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 04:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
leesweet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern Virginia (South Riding), USA
Posts: 4,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think a lot of that sort of thing is on the 'possible' list for the future... note that as some have mentioned the number one item for 5.1 was not RR's mom's features, it was trying to get the )($%()( thing to be stable! All elsed is gravy, as one good post had it! :)

And, 5.1/19 is the first of what (I'll bet) are more 5.1 releases with other features and UI improvement to come.

(Note that all this is just MHO, and I am not privy to DNNA's develoipment schedule (worse the luck! :) ).)

-Lee (See my profile for equipment.)
leesweet is offline  
post #96 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 04:57 PM
Newbie
 
SteveShannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of my 5080s downloaded the 5.1 today using a transparent proxy so I could peek at the changes. Most of it was pretty booring from an enduser point of view but one thing looked interesting. There is a command that will send a screenshot of the Replay to your computer as a .bmp file.

h t t p : / / (your replay's ip)/screenshot.bmp?sync=2

Sense this is my first post they won't let me add a url so you'll need to remove the spaces.

It doesn't seem to matter what number you use for sync= as long as its not a zero. Just though this might be a cool feature to add to the next version of Dvarchive so you can see what your Replays are doing without turning on the TV. Basically it just sends out whatever menu you left it on, if it's off I just get a black picture. It doesn't show the TV show if it's playing back a show, just the title information at the top of the screen.

I crashed my 5080 once getting screenshots off of it so I guess I should add that you should be careful playing around with this.
SteveShannon is offline  
post #97 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
icecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 7,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awhh.. Noone's talking about edging out DVArchive. Lets keep it that way.

cow
icecow is offline  
post #98 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
icecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 7,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes! This is a spontanious post. I just looked up and it was pausing long on the 'Checking for software updates..' (paraphrased). And it just started downloading!

I have entered the raindeer games.

cow
icecow is offline  
post #99 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 05:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
icecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 7,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
98%....
icecow is offline  
post #100 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 05:38 PM
Member
 
rimanek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since we're on the subject of future features, I'd really really really like to hear from someone like ReplayLyndon about plans for the USB port.
rimanek is offline  
post #101 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
icecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 7,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
98%... <beads of sweat>
icecow is offline  
post #102 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Creech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by rimanek
Since we're on the subject of future features, I'd really really really like to hear from someone like ReplayLyndon about plans for the USB port.
If the USB port is ever activated, they only have wireless networking planned for it.

Imagespace--Arts and Web 2.0
Musings of a Canadian Living in the United States

My Video Shorts
A Collection of Video Shorts
Creech is offline  
post #103 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 05:42 PM
Member
 
rimanek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And that is exactly why I want it and why I'm asking about it - I want to get rid of the ethernet cord.
rimanek is offline  
post #104 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 05:45 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
leesweet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern Virginia (South Riding), USA
Posts: 4,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cow, it always 'sticks' at the end... just like it does at '1%'... chill! :)

-Lee (See my profile for equipment.)
leesweet is offline  
post #105 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Creech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by rimanek
And that is exactly why I want it and why I'm asking about it - I want to get rid of the ethernet cord.
The bottleneck on USB 1.1 is such that if you have more than one unit, streaming would probably be an issue. If you don't have more than one unit, get a wireless bridge and get rid of the wires now.

Imagespace--Arts and Web 2.0
Musings of a Canadian Living in the United States

My Video Shorts
A Collection of Video Shorts
Creech is offline  
post #106 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
icecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 7,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
got it
icecow is offline  
post #107 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I must say as a 4xxx owner I feel better that the new features in 5.1 are not absolute "killer must have". I don't feel so left out of the party now.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
post #108 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 06:16 PM
Member
 
el borak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by rimanek
And that is exactly why I want it and why I'm asking about it - I want to get rid of the ethernet cord.
I'm confused. How is a USB cable going to a wireless adapter better than a cat5 cable going to a wireless bridge? Other than being a lot slower, that is.
el borak is offline  
post #109 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sfhub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 9,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by Creech
The bottleneck on USB 1.1
The newer 5040s have USB2.0 port, not that they'll ever get enabled.
sfhub is offline  
post #110 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 06:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
moeronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm... a few net connects attempts (and a few beads of sweat like icecow had on the 98% hang) seems to work. 5.1 on both units. I was surprised that there was no message discussing the new features - though I haven't had great success with S|N and have never used Standard. Still had a little bit of stuttering on some playback :(
moeronn is offline  
post #111 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
rickster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NorCal
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ntode
After all if their equipment doesn't work dvarchive is worthless.
That's not entirely true. DVArchive can have many uses even absent a ReplayTV.

But it certainly is true to say "After all if their equipment doesn't work dvarchive is worth less."

Of course the converse is also true, "After all if dvarchive doesn't work their equipment is worth less." A lot less...
rickster is offline  
post #112 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 06:23 PM
Senior Member
 
HNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read the word "trickle" in the first post.
Is the total roll-out schedule weeks or months?
Thanks. HNick
HNick is offline  
post #113 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 06:32 PM
Member
 
rimanek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Creech
The bottleneck on USB 1.1 is such that if you have more than one unit, streaming would probably be an issue. If you don't have more than one unit, get a wireless bridge and get rid of the wires now.
Good suggestion. But: 1) some 5000s supposedly have USB 2.0 (not sure about mine and I have only one unit anyway), and 2) wireless bridges are twice the price of USB WiFi.

I think the answer still is to get USB activated ASAP! :)
rimanek is offline  
post #114 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 06:57 PM
Member
 
ophus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got it during regular connect about 8:00 PM eastern standard time. Rollout must be moving fairly quickly.
ophus is offline  
post #115 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 07:22 PM
Member
 
digitize's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that nobody was even interested in testing or commenting on the VBR Standard quality in this new release. I read this as... Medium quality that I am using today is equal to the new VBR Standard. If this is true then I should be able to get more programs recorded on my RTV hard drive with the same quality as before the upgrade. I have not recieved the upgrade yet so I cannot verify. Has anybody tried the new VBR Standard quality to see if it is acceptable or equal to the 5.0 Medium quality? Also since I use DVA can you check via DVA that the file size is about 1 Gig/Hour still with VBR Standard
digitize is offline  
post #116 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 07:23 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
leesweet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern Virginia (South Riding), USA
Posts: 4,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Richard said they would not throttle up until they were sure that were there were no showstoppers [pun not intended.... can't believe they called the box that which means, POS, can't ship it... it's like the Chevy No Va story] to bury the support folks. I believe that the reason you don't get it one time, and do the next is that the servers are also limited to x downloads at one time, so several tries may get it if the daily quota hasn't been reached.

2. We keep talking about USB... and I've not heard a real good reason for it. For networking, Ethernet is a lot better, and for disk space you can use DVA or swap the drive. I'd rather they spend time on other issues and not what they'd need to support USB. Why is this such a hot item for people? (Flame suit on...)

-Lee (See my profile for equipment.)
leesweet is offline  
post #117 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Creech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by leesweet
1. Richard said they would not throttle up until they were sure that were there were no showstoppers [pun not intended.... can't believe they called the box that which means, POS, can't ship it... it's like the Chevy No Va story] to bury the support folks. I believe that the reason you don't get it one time, and do the next is that the servers are also limited to x downloads at one time, so several tries may get it if the daily quota hasn't been reached.

2. We keep talking about USB... and I've not heard a real good reason for it. For networking, Ethernet is a lot better, and for disk space you can use DVA or swap the drive. I'd rather they spend time on other issues and not what they'd need to support USB. Why is this such a hot item for people? (Flame suit on...)
I agree with you 100% on USB. I've never thought it was that good an idea. It would be interesting if you could use it for a BlueTooth keyboard tho...

The networking shtick never did it for me.

Imagespace--Arts and Web 2.0
Musings of a Canadian Living in the United States

My Video Shorts
A Collection of Video Shorts
Creech is offline  
post #118 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jeff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: One step ahead of you
Posts: 8,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally posted by leesweet
2. We keep talking about USB... and I've not heard a real good reason for it. For networking, Ethernet is a lot better, and for disk space you can use DVA or swap the drive. I'd rather they spend time on other issues and not what they'd need to support USB. Why is this such a hot item for people? (Flame suit on...)
USB for what?!?!?!

Three words....



scan yer butt.

or connect a printer and print them scanned images of yer butt.

or connect a keyboard and enter text to rename the scan yer butt image.

Or enter text for find, you could find "butt" in seconds flat!
Jeff D is offline  
post #119 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
moeronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeff... scan your butt all you want, but please - for the sake of all those who may visit your house - do not use said image as your pause screen photo or screen saver :D
moeronn is offline  
post #120 of 250 Old 10-07-2003, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How about USB for direct digital (TV) input to ReplayTV?

The Dreamer.

You may be a dreamer, but I'm The Dreamer, the definite article you might say!
TheDreamer is offline  
Closed Thread ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off