Pause Ads Are Neat - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 35 Old 11-26-2000, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ken.kipnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Litchfield, NH
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There were a number of new ones this week, but this is the first non-Replay Ad I've seen.

-ken
ken.kipnes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 35 Old 11-27-2000, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Minnesotan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Burn-in is real ... for some TVs. A friend's projection TV was ruined by a burned-in MUTE indicator. Because even ReplayTV's manual advises against keeping an image on the screen too long to avoid burn-in, I'm surprised some of the early ads with a high bloom factor still appear. But I'm also delighted to see the newer ads seem to be designed with less bloom.

I was originally very critical of the ads. Why? Because they were an undesired feature, added to a product I had already purchased and installed in my home. How intrusive that felt! And because the original ads had such high contrast, they almost appeared designed to induce a burn-in risk for TVs that are susceptible.

But I've gotten used to them. In fact, I actually enjoy the classic Coca Cola Santa one (the first "commercial use"). Not that I particularly love Coca Cola or Santa. But, rather, it's a gentle classic - AND something that means actual ad revenue for ReplayTV - a good thing.

Keep the advertising gentle, low-key, and with low contrast, and most owners should have no problem with it. (Even curmudgeony me.)

[This message has been edited by Minnesotan (edited 11-27-2000).]
Minnesotan is offline  
post #33 of 35 Old 11-28-2000, 02:26 PM
Newbie
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's hard to focus on this with the recent announcement, but here goes:

I have an ergonomic gripe with the pause ads. We pause a lot when we try to get the kids to do something (set the table already!) and then we get right back to it. Now I have to hit exit and then play (or pause again). The extra key stroke is a pain, especially since exit is one of those buttons I still have to go searching for. If I could hit play right from the ad screen, I'd be perfectly happy.

As for the recent announcement, I am happy enough with what I have to go with the flow for some time. As is, this has got to be one of the best toys I've gotten in a long time. http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
Alan
Alan is offline  
post #34 of 35 Old 11-28-2000, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
uncleblaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Waite Park, MN
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just hit pause. It resumes playback at the initial point of pause. No need for the exit first.


00004-54832-08168
00004-54831-82835
uncleblaine is offline  
post #35 of 35 Old 11-28-2000, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ken.kipnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Litchfield, NH
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes, any of the normal "action" keys will work without hitting exit. Pause or Play will do what you want. 7-second repeat if you forgot what the last 3 words were.

-ken
ken.kipnes is offline  
Closed Thread ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off