Help! New 3030 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 11-30-2000, 07:02 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
lido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As a recent acquirer of a Replay 3030 from Mercata, I must say that I am in limbo as to what to do... should I get an RMA or keep it and risk having spent this $ on a box that will not function as I had hoped it would. I agree with many here, the technology is promising, but without updates, it does not derve much of a purpose for me. I still have about 4 weeks to decide, and based on how the thread here goes, it will determine what I do.
Regardless, I have a question I'm hoping someone can answer. I took the unit out of the box - got the channel guide - all fine - however I forced a reconnect and it's been cycling for well over 2 hours getting "zone information" - does it normally take this long? It gets up to 100% and then says "getting new zone information" and restarts again at 0% - I was wondering-- is EACH zone its own separate download, because if this is the case, then PERHAPS this explains why it is taking so long.

Also, I don't think I've retrieved the 3.0 software... how do I tell what version of the software I have?

Thank you - and thank you to everyone for keeping us "newbies" up to date...

Mike
lido is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 11-30-2000, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
TimSH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Cleveland, OH, USA
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, as far as the zone information goes, this is normal on the first download of zones and when MAJOR revisions are made to the zone info as happened at the launch of 3.0. Yes, the percentages you see are for each zone individually. (3.0 displays a more informative message during zone downloads)

You will not get 3.0 on this call (probably) but should get it within the next few connections. If you press 411 <Zones> on your remote, it will come up with an information screen that displays the version of the software that you have.

As for keeping the box... I bought a 2020 back in March or so, and just got a 3060 from Mercata about 2 weeks ago. I fully intend to keep it! I don't believe the service will die any time in the forseeable future.

I've been agonizing over the recent announcements by Replay and I have to say that I think this will turn out to be a positive thing in the long run.
Truth be told, I'm glad I got in on a real Replay branded box while I still could, given the way Panasonic has handled the Macrovision issue.

Long live Replay!

------------------
"The two most abundant substances in the universe are Hydrogen and Stupidity. Not necessarily in that order"

"The two most abundant substances in the universe are Hydrogen and Stupidity. Not necessarily in that order"
TimSH is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-02-2000, 04:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Space's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just some info on returning your ReplayTV to Mercata.

Note that when I purchased my ReplayTV from Mercata, the page stated
that the return period for this item was 7 days instead of the normal
30 days for most other items.

So if you are thinking about returning your ReplayTV, it might be a good
idea to get an RMA going within 7 days of the day you received the unit
(note that the web page said 7 days from day of shipment, but I asked
Mercata and they said it was 7 days from the day you received shipment).

The RMA is good for 30 days, so what I have done is called Mercata and
got an RMA within the 7 day return period. Now I have 30 days to
decide if I really want to return my unit. If I decide to keep it,
I'll just cancel the RMA.

Note that I have not yet removed the label from the box to send in for my
rebate, I should be able to do this after the 30 day period has elapsed
if I decide to keep it (assuming the ReplayTV support person I spoke
with was correct in stating that the rebates were still being honored.)
According to the rebate instructions, the rebate request must be
postmarked by 1/22/2001.

If during this 30 day period, I find out the rebates are void or the
service is being terminated, etc. I will return the unit. Until then
I'm going to use my unit to see if I like it. I'm still not hooked
on it, but maybe it just takes some time (I haven't even had the chance to
read the manual yet!)

Space

Space - AB8NdtJzDULjgKvuDX3eJxHpXx88Xy9H
Space is offline  
Closed Thread ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off