Incorrect Password Problem? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-01-2000, 09:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chatie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A couple days ago, I started getting this message:

"Your ReplayTV was unable to contact the ReplayTV Service because the password in the unit was incorrect."

So, the automatic daily connect is not working. Net Connect is also running into the same problem. I am not getting TV guide updates. I have tried different phone numbers to other nearby cities, which result in the same problem. My modem does work, because I am able to download a new listing of phone numbers to other cities.

The ReplayTV support person said that he doesn't know about this problem and said that if it continues 2-3 days more to call back. Well, it's been three days so far, but I will give it over the weekend before calling support again. I was wondering if anybody knows about this problem.
chatie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-01-2000, 10:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jleavens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 2,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try a different dial-in number.... That will usually fix the problem.

------------------
Remember, it's just television...

Remember, it's just television...
Planet Replay: http://www.planetreplay.com
Do you VUDU? http://www.planetvudu.com
jleavens is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-02-2000, 01:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chatie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've tried 3 different dial-in numbers each located in a different city (but all within my state). I've also tried unplugging the box but got the same problem. I'm using 3.0 software.
chatie is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-02-2000, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
karog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some ReplayGuy remarked on this a few months ago when many were seeing this problem. He said that it was a problem of communication with their authentication server and not a problem with the ReplayTV.

Whether that is causing your problem now I could not say.
karog is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-05-2000, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chatie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys for your replies. I was kinda depressed about the problem and was quietly going through suggestions. Good news is that it updated last night with only a couple days of guide left. The ReplayTV support people were really trying to help me out... kudos on their efforts. In the end, the problem went away by itself. No explanation was given on the password problem from them. They did mention that their servers are very busy with people downloading 3.0.
chatie is offline  
Closed Thread ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off