ReplayTV with Dishnet UHF Remotes - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-01-2000, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kbright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: kbright1@austin.rr.com
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just bought the Panasonic PV-HS2000 and I am afraid I will have to return it. I have 2 of the high end JVC HM-DSR100U DishNetwork receivers with integrated MPEG2 D-VHS VCR.

As with the other top of the line Receiver Only units from Dishnetwork, the remote control communicates with the receiver via UHF which is great when using the remote from other rooms.

However it does not seem to be able to receive IR signals at all. It also does not have a serial interface.

Does anyone have any ideas that would let get by this problem. Is there another Panasonic model coming that might address this? Or a black box approach?
kbright is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-01-2000, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Franklinton, NC, USA
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do your homework!


LOL

This has been addressed several times...

Do a subject search on Dishnet, UHF, and/or remotes -- and the relevant threads shouldn't be hard.

If I recall correctly, there is an IR/UHF adaptor you can buy, and a hardware fix if you want to open up the receiver.

Ciao

Joe


[This message has been edited by DrJoe (edited 12-01-2000).]

Home Page (click to enter)
RCA Television Service Information (DTV306/7 and ITC222)
DrJoe is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-01-2000, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PRMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Yorba Linda, CA, USA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a solution listed in the FAQ, although I'm told it's not trivial.

------------------
PRMan
PRMan is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-01-2000, 04:55 PM
Member
 
Zelda Nation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Dallas TX USA
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by DrJoe:
Do your homework!
LOL
This has been addressed several times...
]
Lighten up, Doc. If you looked at the number of posts he's made, you'll see this was FIRST time he's proposed a question. Perhaps (and most likely) he didn't know he could [b]do[b/] a search here on the site or what he should do a search for.

Let's not run off the new people.

Not quite so new,
Zelda Nation

-Zelda Nation
"You've got your Opinion in my chocolate"
Zelda Nation is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-04-2000, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Franklinton, NC, USA
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Zelda Nation:
Lighten up, Doc.
Zelda Nation
Perhaps you don't know what the expression "LOL" means...

I was trying to facetious!

"LOL" means "laughing out loud"...

Relax

Joe

Home Page (click to enter)
RCA Television Service Information (DTV306/7 and ITC222)
DrJoe is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-04-2000, 11:30 AM
Member
 
hastypete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a quick hack fix. Just run a wire from the IR-blaster output on the replay box directly to the UHF antenna. This works since the strong DC signals overwhelm the UHF circuitry.

DISCLAIMER: I have read about this as a fix, but have not tried it. There is a chance that the dish box or the replay box could be damaged.
I'm only offering this info for the very brave. The IR upgrade is cheap and easy if you know how to solder. a little harder if you don't.

------------------
- hastypete
support your local laserist, go see a laser show.

- hastypete
support your local laserist, go see a laser show.
hastypete is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-04-2000, 01:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kbright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: kbright1@austin.rr.com
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Doc.

Mike thanks for the additional advice.

Question for all:

Do I have to leave the Dish receiver on all the time. I did a test delayed recording and turned everything off and only got blank screens nicely packaged in my replay guide to watch anytime I want.

I assume there is nothing we can do about this, since a "Power On" is probably the same as "Power Off" for the receiver.

Keith

PS: Anybody have any luck with the new Philips universal remote in this type of environment?
kbright is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-04-2000, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kbright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: kbright1@austin.rr.com
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was thinking of the Philips TSU2000 Pronto. I have a lot of X-10 stuff also and heard it can control that stuff as well. I friend of mine showed me on his laptop the software that lets you program the Pronto and it looks very flexible.

Keith
kbright is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-04-2000, 09:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kbright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: kbright1@austin.rr.com
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks everyone,

I think this forum is great, and I did eventually find the link to the site that describes a hardware modification to my JVC receiver. It worked great and was very easy. The URL is http://www.carltonbale.com/dish/

Just having people give direct answers or links to answers already given is helpful. Not everybody has time to spend learning how to search when they can just ask.

Thanks again
Keith
kbright is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-05-2000, 02:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ADent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ReplayMike:

Your much simpler choice might be to invest the $99 for one of Dish's low-end "second room" Dish receivers, solely for use with the ReplayTV.
I think Target has the Phillips version of the 2700/2800 on sale for $50 again.

ADent is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 12-05-2000, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
The Robman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chicago, IL (from London, UK)
Posts: 3,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by kbright:
I was thinking of the Philips TSU2000 Pronto. I have a lot of X-10 stuff also and heard it can control that stuff as well. I friend of mine showed me on his laptop the software that lets you program the Pronto and it looks very flexible.

Keith
The Pronto is very flexible, for ALOT more info on it, visit http://www.remotecentral.com Also, you can get it for only $265 from http://www.etronixs.com (it's MSRP is $400!).

Regarding X10, you will need to get an IR to X10 converter (IR543 or 4040) to be able to control X10 with an infrared remote. You can also control X10 with most One For All and Radio Shack remotes.

------------------
Later,
Rob.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/

Later, Rob

Select a link for questions on: Remotes, JP1, JP1 Forums
I prefer emails to PMs, my email is rob1 (at) rockabilly (dot) net
The Robman is offline  
Closed Thread ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off