BIG price drops for 55xx replays - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tluxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by BeefStu
...Where's Lyndon?
I hope not, but he may have been one of the victims in the big layoff that happened around Nov 19.

Activation has always been by serial number, so I don't see how they can know which units were bought at which prices unless they know the serial number of every box and can tie it to a point of sale.

The last thing I need is another Replay, but it seems worth a run down to CC at lunch in case this is a real crossover deal and I can benefit someone else here.

Tim
tluxon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jones07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phila Pa.
Posts: 4,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know how you feel. I had four when I really only needed two for my home use. Lucky for me the ebay price craziness came about. Great deal but I'm done with DVR's until I can buy or rent a HDTV DVR.

WeÂre doomed. It will never work
jones07 is offline  
post #93 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tluxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by rad
Ah, I see what you see. All I can say is the 5504's in the CC store had the green lable that said service included torn off (you could still see some of it) and the price card said that additional service fee was required. I guess I'll see what happens this afternoon when I get home and try to activate it.
Service activation has always been on the basis of the serial number, not on whether the box it came in had a sticker on it or not. Knowing how CC guys run things I'm guessing this is just a gut reaction to all the hubbub over the pricing changes. Doubtful that they can tell which serial numbers are in the boxes and know the cutoff point. I don't even know how DNNA could tell the cutoff point!
tluxon is offline  
post #94 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chain777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Metro Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Somebody over at FW confirmed that his 5504 came with 3 years of service...so maybe X-Mas will come early this year.:D

(confirmed through activating the unit over the phone with CS)

--Andy--
chain777 is offline  
post #95 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 10:50 AM
Member
 
Crrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One guy over at FatWallet has activated his and got the 3 year service.
I'm hopeful :)

edit: hehe, beat to the punch!
Crrink is offline  
post #96 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 10:52 AM
Member
 
dcolemanca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just scored a 5040 from radio Shack for $150, online it says includes 3 year service but on the box it has the sticker saying it needs activation for $250 for lifetime.

Anyway anyone had success getting Radio Shack to honor the online terms? I am guessing they cannot becasue as far as I understood there was never an option for 3 year subscription model for the 5040 but maybe they will succumb to consumer pressure and provide the lifetime.
dcolemanca is offline  
post #97 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
bakerzdosen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just noticed that RadioShack changed their site for the 5040 (not 5080). It no longer says 3 years activation for free. I have the page printed out (which will only help if I have to return it), but the proof will be in the pudding I suppose. I will try mine tonight (forget not "damaging" DNNA as I mentioned in my last post) and see what happens.

However, if someone else has had success, I'd like to know.
bakerzdosen is offline  
post #98 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tluxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
On the interop trade-in program, we were required to provide receipt(s) showing that we bought the 5XXX(s) by a certain cutoff date. When the word gets around DNNA about this snafu, I'm guessing they'll take a similar path, and the only ones who will really get the 3 years are the ones who get/got activated before they passed the word around to the activation people.

Tim
tluxon is offline  
post #99 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
scottamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The big question on my mind is how long will this price last. Since they are cleaned out, if I come back in a week when they might have some will the same price be there? Anyone know if CC does rainchecks?

Indecision is the key to flexibility.
scottamus is offline  
post #100 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
tarfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered on online from CC for in-store pickup. Like others have mentioned it would HAVE to be the 3-year activation units until a new shipment arrives. The logistics of getting all of the serial numbers collected, let along input into a database to remove activation would be monumental. Christmas came a bit early for me this year.:D
tarfin is offline  
post #101 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
tarfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dumb question of the day. Any issues using these with DV Archive?
tarfin is offline  
post #102 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Roto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by scottamus
The big question on my mind is how long will this price last. Since they are cleaned out, if I come back in a week when they might have some will the same price be there? Anyone know if CC does rainchecks?
If you order for in-store pickup you have 14 days before you have to pick it up.

-Rob
Roto is offline  
post #103 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
joesc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by tarfin
Dumb question of the day. Any issues using these with DV Archive?
No issues.
joesc1 is offline  
post #104 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
BeefStu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Commonwealth of Virginia (Vuh-jen-ya)
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by tarfin
The logistics of getting all of the serial numbers collected, let along input into a database to remove activation would be monumental.
If I were ReplayTV and faced the prospect of eating a $299 charge because my retailers screwed up, you'd better believe I would pay some folks in Bombay to do a little data entry and purchase date validation :eek:

The thing I love most about deadlines is the wonderful WHOOSHing sound they make as they go past.
BeefStu is offline  
post #105 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
scottamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
forget CC. This will probably cause you all to jump straight to Goodguys and clear their inventory in a matter of minutes:

point 1: At the replay official site they clearly state that
"All 5500 models include a 3-year subscription to the ReplayTV service and can be extended for only $.99 per month"
link
So there is no question.

point 2: goodguys.com is still in stock and if you buy more than 1 you get 10% off the whole order!
That's $135 per replay! You will not have problems selling these.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for shopping at GoodGuys.com! We hope to see you again soon.
A copy of this receipt has been sent to your email address.

Order Number: xxxxxxxxx

Item Description Unit Price Total Price

2 Replay TV - RTV5504
40 Hour Digital Video Recorder
Usually leaves our warehouse in 2-3 BUSINESS DAYS $ 149.99 $ 299.98

SubTotal: $ 299.98
UPS GROUND - Shipping Total: FREE!
You've received a COUPON DISCOUNT of: $ 29.99
Order Total: $ 269.99

Indecision is the key to flexibility.
scottamus is offline  
post #106 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
dyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't believe they didn't bump the model number for this change.

Circuit City by me has a ton in stock.

This space for rent.
dyker is offline  
post #107 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:42 AM
Member
 
steverap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Jose
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Called the Good Guys and Circuit City in San Mateo, and both of them stated that activation is NOT included in the $149 price. The guy at Good Guys said they got a notice about the activation change on Sunday, and then changed the prices on Monday.

Steve
steverap is offline  
post #108 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:44 AM
Member
 
Flashram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got home from CC with mine. It is already activated. Sweet. :)
Flashram is offline  
post #109 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:47 AM
Senior Member
 
scottamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by steverap
Called the Good Guys and Circuit City in San Mateo, and both of them stated that activation is NOT included in the $149 price. The guy at Good Guys said they got a notice about the activation change on Sunday, and then changed the prices on Monday.
I guess I'll keep my fingers crossed.

Indecision is the key to flexibility.
scottamus is offline  
post #110 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:47 AM
Member
 
mikestanley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Flashram
Just got home from CC with mine. It is already activated. Sweet. :)
Sorry for a dumb question, but I've got one on hold for me at CC (the last one) and I wanted to ask before I take off work to go get it.

These units can get their guide data over my broadband connection (I have 2 free ports on the switch in that part of the house) - right? Cuz I have no phone line.
mikestanley is offline  
post #111 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
dyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mike, I don't have a phone line either. That is one reason why I use Replay over Tivo.

This space for rent.
dyker is offline  
post #112 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
RamblinWreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by mikestanley
Sorry for a dumb question, but I've got one on hold for me at CC (the last one) and I wanted to ask before I take off work to go get it.

These units can get their guide data over my broadband connection (I have 2 free ports on the switch in that part of the house) - right? Cuz I have no phone line.
You are "good to go" with Broadband. There should be no problems with using broadband for the nightly updates.

RW
And a Helluva an Engineer !
RamblinWreck is offline  
post #113 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 11:54 AM
Member
 
beatwerx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: bakersfield ca
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just hooked up my $149.99 5040 from radio shack and it says "activated--one time fee paid"
beatwerx is offline  
post #114 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 12:03 PM
Member
 
edjrwinnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Ridgeville
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got the last 5040 at the rat shack in my area. I also got one of the last 5504's at Circuit City in my area. One of these is for me and one is for a gift for my future mother-in-law. Which one should I keep?

"70 percent of the cost in health care is from chronic disease, & chronic diseases come from really 3 big things-from obesity, lack of exercise & smoking."
Toby Cosgrove CEO - Cleveland Clinic
edjrwinnt is offline  
post #115 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by beatwerx
just hooked up my $149.99 5040 from radio shack and it says "activated--one time fee paid"
Wow, really?! That'd be some kind of a deal and still have CA and Internet Sharing. Good luck!

I'll be happy enough if my 5540s work tonight. I think Show|Nav will be good enough for me even though I've been using a 4000 series since they came out.

-Rob
Roto is offline  
post #116 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
bakerzdosen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, beatwerx if that happens with mine tonight when I activate, I'm a REALLY happy camper. Thanks for the update.

Oh, I'd keep the 5040 if it were me. I really like commercial advance.
bakerzdosen is offline  
post #117 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 12:16 PM
Member
 
jobber99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, got one from CC w/ the green "3 years free" sticker
some folks over @ fatwallet have said that their CC has a disclaimer saying that the 3 years free is no longer valid

i can't activate 'til later tonight, anybody know of anything valid?
where's REplayLydon?
jobber99 is offline  
post #118 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
RamblinWreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by mikestanley
Sorry for a dumb question, but I've got one on hold for me at CC (the last one) and I wanted to ask before I take off work to go get it.

These units can get their guide data over my broadband connection (I have 2 free ports on the switch in that part of the house) - right? Cuz I have no phone line.
You are "good to go" with Broadband. There should be no problems with using broadband for the nightly updates.

RW
And a Helluva an Engineer !
RamblinWreck is offline  
post #119 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tluxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If this is there new business strategy, it's certainly one way to saturate homes with Replays :).
tluxon is offline  
post #120 of 443 Old 12-17-2003, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Pete Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Hudson Vally, NY
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any and all C.C. green sticker 55xx's are 3 year service. End of story. It is what it is. New stock will not apply. look for new stock after 12-22-03. Old stock being sold before new is put up for sale.
Pete Rod is offline  
Closed Thread ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off