RTV Support Added to Xbox Media Center!! - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 209 Old 02-10-2004, 10:07 AM
Member
 
robroy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri - GO BLUES!!!
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got it installed on my Xbox, made the advised edits to the .xml file, and then gave it a spin...

Unfortunately, all I could get it to do was "see" my two Replay units on my LAN. If I selected one of the Replays, I could hear the drive thrashing, but it would never enumerate any of the shows stored on either of the Replays.

I wish I could just get it to playback a file... I could live with the crashes and random glitches...

Thanks for your efforts, rtvguy!

Rob

----------------

"I'd rather die while I am living than live when I'm dead"
robroy90 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 209 Old 02-10-2004, 01:00 PM
Member
 
SniperKilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dont use the "auto search" method, add it with the ip and video folder, like this

rtv://192.168.1.100/Video

that works fine for me
SniperKilla is offline  
post #93 of 209 Old 02-11-2004, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dozens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have software modded my xbox and installed Xebian on it. What steps do I need to do to be able to boot XBMC ? Is there a readme or howto ?

dozens is offline  
post #94 of 209 Old 02-11-2004, 01:02 PM
Member
 
robroy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri - GO BLUES!!!
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sniper:

Thanks for the idea on the modification to the .xml file - I tried that, but it still didn't work. I hard-coded the known IP of my Replay into it, and it did the same thing as before:

When I try to get it to display a list of the shows, the Xbox HD just churns and churns, but never produces anything...

I am stumped...

Thanks again, and any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Rob

PS - I am the guy you chatted with the other night on mIRC - thanks for your help there also.

----------------

"I'd rather die while I am living than live when I'm dead"
robroy90 is offline  
post #95 of 209 Old 02-11-2004, 02:11 PM
Member
 
Erazerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
robroy90, I was able to get it working using the modification to the .xml file posted above by SniperKilla. Here's the entire change I made to my .xml file:

<bookmark>
<name>ReplayTV</name>
<path>rtv://192.168.123.143/Video</path>
</bookmark>

Do you have any problems seeing your Replays through DVArchive? Do you have a port open in your router?
Erazerhead is offline  
post #96 of 209 Old 02-12-2004, 06:24 PM
Member
 
shawndang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, California
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok the 2-12-2004 xbmc is released and its at the usual places. I got that and replay is working fine with xbmc. its able to get the show and play em.

But no info about the show at all. Hey its better then nothing. awesome work....
shawndang is offline  
post #97 of 209 Old 02-12-2004, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gai-jin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Moline, IL USA
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Erazerhead
[B
<bookmark>
<name>ReplayTV</name>
<path>rtv://192.168.123.143/Video</path>
</bookmark>

Do you have any problems seeing your Replays through DVArchive? Do you have a port open in your router? [/b]
I set mine up this way using the 2-12 build and can't seem to see anything. When I select 'replaytv'from 'my videos' it just freezes up.

Any suggestions?

Gai-jin
Gai-jin is offline  
post #98 of 209 Old 02-14-2004, 09:27 AM
Member
 
dmk11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Woohoo!

Got this to work.
But for some reason, I can only see the .mpg from the first rtv I listed

<path>rtv://192.168.100.200/Video</path>
<path>rtv://192.168.100.201/Video</path>
<path>rtv://192.168.100.202/Video</path>

if I left it as the original
<path>rtv://*/</path>

It can see all 3 of my replays (even knows the name).
but freezes.
dmk11 is offline  
post #99 of 209 Old 02-14-2004, 10:22 AM
Member
 
jovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does it see DVArchive as well or just replaytv boxes?
jovie is offline  
post #100 of 209 Old 02-14-2004, 02:49 PM
Member
 
jsm174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello.. I just got my XBMC working with our two
Replay 5040s.

Instead of grouping them all in the same block,
try:

<bookmark>
<name>ReplayTV 1</name>
<path>rtv://192.168.100.200/Video</path>
</bookmark>

<bookmark>
<name>ReplayTV 2</name>
<path>rtv://192.168.100.201/Video</path>
</bookmark>

<bookmark>
<name>ReplayTV 3</name>
<path>rtv://192.168.100.202/Video</path>
</bookmark>

If I try to use

<bookmark>
<name>ReplayTV</name>
<path>rtv://*/</path>
</bookmark>

it finds both replays fine, but selecting them
shows no mpgs. And right now, I just get the
mpgs without the show name, etc.

I wonder if someday, support will be added to
process the *.evt files and a 30 sec QS/15 second
RW will be added to remote. Its like we have a
3rd Replay now!!!! WAHOO!!

BTW, this XBMC mod is absolutely awesome.
Thanks to whoever programmed it!!!!

-- Jason
jsm174 is offline  
post #101 of 209 Old 02-14-2004, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Snoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I just got the new version of XBMC installed, and it can access the Replay's MPEGs just fine. Now I can put the XBox in the bedroom and use it as a super thin ReplayTV client. :)

Has anyone else noticed that there is an order to the MPEG list? All the files are numbered, but they seem to be numbered in increasing order, from oldest recording to newest recording. Using XBMC's filename ordering, depending on how you have XBMC set up, you can have your newest recordings at the top or bottom of the list. I realize that it isn't as nice as having the names of the shows displayed, but at least it isn't a totally random list.

One other thing I noticed that I really like. As I was messing around with XBMC's "Replay connectivity", my Replay started recording. Knowing that I already had 30 MPEG files in the list, I updated XBMC's list, and whaddya know, there were 31 files! I went to the bottom of the list (newest file) and played it without a problem. Now if I want to watch a "live" TV show in the bedroom, all I have to do is have the Replay record it, and I can immediately watch it from the XBox.

Snoo
Snoo is offline  
post #102 of 209 Old 02-14-2004, 09:40 PM
Member
 
dmk11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jsm174
Hello.. I just got my XBMC working with our two
Replay 5040s.

Instead of grouping them all in the same block,
<snip>
I wonder if someday, support will be added to
process the *.evt files and a 30 sec QS/15 second
RW will be added to remote. Its like we have a
3rd Replay now!!!! WAHOO!!

BTW, this XBMC mod is absolutely awesome.
Thanks to whoever programmed it!!!!

-- Jason
Thanks, that worked for me too.

As for skipping, I noticed that if I pretty the right and left pad button, it'll skip about a min forward or backward.
dmk11 is offline  
post #103 of 209 Old 02-14-2004, 10:50 PM
Newbie
 
rtvguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Snoo
Has anyone else noticed that there is an order to the MPEG list? All the files are numbered, but they seem to be numbered in increasing order, from oldest recording to newest recording. Using XBMC's filename ordering, depending on how you have XBMC set up, you can have your newest recordings at the top or bottom of the list. I realize that it isn't as nice as having the names of the shows displayed, but at least it isn't a totally random list.
Yes, the ReplayTV filenames are not random. Rather, they are named based on their Unix date/time. This is why they sort in order that they were recorded.

Again, the original patch I wrote DID include show name etc. However, later builds of XBMC introduced problems with this that have proven very difficult to track down. I am still working on this as time permits and hope to have solution soon. I would never had released this patch with the problems it has now. It worked perfectly at the time I originally wrote it. I aplologize for the inconvenience.
rtvguy is offline  
post #104 of 209 Old 02-15-2004, 07:45 AM
Member
 
Snoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To tell you the truth, I really didn't think of this patch as having problems. I'm tickled pink that it works as smoothly as it does now. :) I've been jumping from recording to recording on this thing, and I have yet to see the Replay lock up or reboot on me, which is a first for me when it comes to streaming from it. Thank you for the effort you've put into this.

Snoo
Snoo is offline  
post #105 of 209 Old 02-15-2004, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Erazerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by rtvguy
I would never had released this patch with the problems it has now. It worked perfectly at the time I originally wrote it. I aplologize for the inconvenience.
LOL. I won't accept your apology - I think a lot of us Xbox/ReplayTV owners are too happy seeing this thing work at all to complain about its current limitations. Without your work on this, there wouldn't be any Xbox-ReplayTV streaming. And I'd much rather have a limited implemenation than no streaming at all. So, thanks very very much for your efforts on this.
Erazerhead is offline  
post #106 of 209 Old 02-15-2004, 05:50 PM
Member
 
dmk11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by rtvguy
Again, the original patch I wrote DID include show name etc. However, later builds of XBMC introduced problems with this that have proven very difficult to track down. I am still working on this as time permits and hope to have solution soon. I would never had released this patch with the problems it has now. It worked perfectly at the time I originally wrote it. I aplologize for the inconvenience.
Beleive me, I don't think anyone would mind the inconvenience. We know it's a work in progress and we appreciate your work on it. Good job!
dmk11 is offline  
post #107 of 209 Old 02-15-2004, 06:57 PM
Member
 
ashkan21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just installed the 2-12 CVS and I had ReplayTV streaming to the xbox in a couple of minutes. Just one line in the xml file and none of the headaches of Relax, smb, etc.... Wonderful job on this feature!!!
ashkan21 is offline  
post #108 of 209 Old 02-15-2004, 09:30 PM
Member
 
SWiTCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm.. my Replay doesnt show up on either Xbox. Even adding the IP to the config file doesnt get me in.. I guess it finds it but none of the shows show up. Anyone got any ideas?
SWiTCH is offline  
post #109 of 209 Old 02-15-2004, 09:42 PM
Member
 
Snoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you pointing to the Replay's video directory, like this?

<bookmark>
<name>ReplayTV</name>
<path>rtv://192.168.1.100/Video</path>
</bookmark>

Since you can see the replay but no videos, this might be the case.

Snoo
Snoo is offline  
post #110 of 209 Old 02-16-2004, 10:35 AM
Member
 
SWiTCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ive tried it that way also. Doing that opens up a blank page in Xbox Media Center with several blank lines and about 5 lines down, there is the .. line for returning to the previous menu.
SWiTCH is offline  
post #111 of 209 Old 02-16-2004, 01:23 PM
Member
 
robroy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri - GO BLUES!!!
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having the same problem the previous poster mentions. I just downloaded and installed build 02/12/04.

XBMC on my Xbox will "find" both of my Replay units (4xxx & 5xxx) by proper name, but when I try to get it to list the recordings by selecting either Replay, the Xbox drive really starts chugging away, but it never produces anything...

Any ideas? I am stumped.

Thanks,

Rob

----------------

"I'd rather die while I am living than live when I'm dead"
robroy90 is offline  
post #112 of 209 Old 02-24-2004, 01:50 AM
Member
 
littlebeancurd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: California
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'VE GOT IT!

So I'm sure all of you have played with DVArchive in the past and know the ReplayTV little quirks.

ReplayTV does NOT connect and stream to other machines that are not within 40 seconds of its clock. DVArchive has some sort of thing in its preference menus for this also.

So, make sure in XBMC, or your launcher, that you turn on the Network Time Server thing to have an up to date clock.

This, I think, might solve a lot of peoples problems with it.

Although, my streaming seems a little shoddy. What can I do about that?
littlebeancurd is offline  
post #113 of 209 Old 02-26-2004, 09:40 AM
Member
 
frogster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a guide somewhere to compiling this?
frogster is offline  
post #114 of 209 Old 02-26-2004, 10:52 AM
Member
 
littlebeancurd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: California
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're goign to have to look it up yourself on the web. Compiling software for the XBOX on your own, for the most part, is not allowed.

Although, I might suggest you look up info and tutorials about all these things at xbox-scene.com. They seem to offer a plethora of information about running software on your box including Linux and other homebrew software.
littlebeancurd is offline  
post #115 of 209 Old 02-26-2004, 11:08 AM
Member
 
frogster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I'll check out that site.
frogster is offline  
post #116 of 209 Old 02-26-2004, 11:16 AM
Member
 
littlebeancurd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: California
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey RTVGUY

I'm wondering what kind of progress has come along. I'm the newb who thinks he figured out why some people couldn't connect to their Replay's because of the clock errors.

I don't know how it worked in previous iterations, but has it always shown a filez size of 0.1? To my understanding, what you've done is implement some sort of network share of the ReplayTV and access the hard drive directly - that's why it's just a list of oddly named MPEG files. Do you plan on accessing the Replay much like another Replay would, like DVArchive? Coding the pulling and parsing the show guide information just seems like such a task though. It seems almost as though someone would have to write a whole new xbe for such a function.
littlebeancurd is offline  
post #117 of 209 Old 02-27-2004, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
duckman360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From the thread on the XBMC forums, he is still trying to figure out why somethings are not working.

Slowly but surely things are coming around... I actually have a copy that shows the filename rather then "oddly named MPEG files".

Those "oddly named MPEG files" as you put it were explained a couple posts up from yours...


Quote:
the ReplayTV filenames are not random. Rather, they are named based on their Unix date/time. This is why they sort in order that they were recorded.
He is trying ot figure out some of the issues, and is working on it when he has time.

Feel free to shoot me a private message if you anyone needs help getting it setup.

CP
duckman360 is offline  
post #118 of 209 Old 03-08-2004, 09:19 PM
Member
 
frogster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got xbmc installed. The replaytv support is impressive! I'm also impressed by the whole xbox media center. I now have a networkable DVD player, divx player, replaytv client, photo viewer, mp3 player, weather viewer, ... BTW, I heard you can play games with these things too.

Thanks to all involved!
frogster is offline  
post #119 of 209 Old 03-09-2004, 07:54 AM
Senior Member
 
dwalton22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speaking of games on xbox, I think I use mine more for playing old Nintendo and Super Nintendo games than I do xbox games :)
dwalton22 is offline  
post #120 of 209 Old 03-09-2004, 09:50 AM
Member
 
jovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can you watched ripped movies (.ifo/.vob files, not iso) with XBMC? how?
jovie is offline  
Closed Thread ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off